Welcome to Scribd. Sign in or start your free trial to enjoy unlimited e-books, audiobooks & documents.Find out more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword or section
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Major Thermal Power Plants

Major Thermal Power Plants

Ratings: (0)|Views: 179|Likes:
Published by Mayuresh Mudbakhe

More info:

Published by: Mayuresh Mudbakhe on Jul 17, 2012
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as DOCX, PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





Major Thermal Power Plants
Major Thermal Power Plants
The Map showing Major Thermal Power Plants in India
All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However CompareInfobase Limited and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authencityof the same.A thermal power plant is generally a steam driven power plant. The force that spins the turbinesin the plant is steam that is either used to drive an electric generator or any other work thatrequires power.However there are variations in the functioning of different types of thermal power plants whichmostly depends of the kind of fuel used. The most frequently used fuel for thermal power plantsin India is coal.About 70% of the electricity consumed in India is generated through thermal power plants. Indiais home to numerous thermal power plants which are renowned all over the world.Below is a list of the Major Thermal Power Plants in India
Anpara thermal power station- Uttar Pradesh
 Located on the banks of rihand reservoir in the district of sonebhadra in Uttar Pradesh theAnpara thermal power station is a coal fired thermal power plant. Situated at a distance of 200km from Varanasi on pipri-singrauli road this powe station is well connected by air/rail and roadroute from other major cities. This thermal power plant has 5 operational units with a totalinstalled capacity of 500 MW.
Bakreswar Thermal Power Project - West Bengal
 The Bakreswar Thermal Power Project is one of the most prominent thermal power projects inIndia. It is situated at a distance of just 260 Km away from Kolkata. The project has clear railtrack access via Chinpai on the Andal-Sinthia Line of Eastern Railways. The Bakreswar ThermalPower Project is running with five operational units having total installed capacity of 1050 MW.Expansion of another 600 MW unit (sixth unit) has been envisaged for implementation duringthe Eleventh-Five-year Plan period.
Panipat Thermal Power Station II
 A coal based Thermal Power Plants in India the Panipat Thermal Power Station II is located inPanipat in Haryana. Developed under four stages this thermal power plant has 8 units in totalwith an installed capacity of 250 MW.
Deenbandhu Chhotu Ram Thermal Power Station
 A coal based power plant of HPGCL the Deenbandhu Chhotu Ram Thermal Power Plant islocated at Yamunagar in Haryana. Commissioned in April 2008 with its first unit today thispower plant has two units with a total installed capacity of 600 MW.
Rajiv Gandhi Thermal Power Station
 The Rajiv Gandhi Thermal Power Station is situated in Kedar in the Hisar district of Haryana.One of the lowest costing power projects in India so far this power plant is a coal based powerplants of HPGCL. This thermal power plant has 2 units with a total installed capacity of 600MW.
Kota Super Thermal Power Plant
 Situated on the bank of River Chambal near Kota in Rajasthan this thermal power station is thestate's first major coal fired power plant. Known as one of the most efficient and prestigiousthermal power plants in India the Kota Super Thermal Power Plant has received many awards forproductivity during 1984,1987, 1989, 1981 and every year since 1992 on wards. This thermalpower plant has 28 units with an installed capacity of 1240 MW.
Last Updated on 12 October 2010
Major Thermal Power Plants in India
Major Thermal Power Plants in India
 Amarkantak TPS ChachaiMadhyaPradeshAnpara TPS Anpara Uttar PradeshAnta Thermal Power Station Anta RajasthanArasmeta CPP (private) Janjgir ChattisgarhAuraiya Thermal Power Station Dibiyapur Uttar PradeshBadarpur TPP Badarpur NCT DelhiBakreswar TPS Suri West BengalBarauni TPP Barauni BiharBarsingsar LignitPower Plant e Barsingsar RajasthanBellary TPP Kudatini KarnatakaBhusawal TPS Deepnagar MaharastraBokarao Thermal Power Station 'B' Bokaro JharkhandChandrapur STPS Chandrapur MaharastraChandrapura Thermal PowerStationChandrapura JharkhandChhabra STPP Mothipura RajasthanDeenbandhu Chhotu Ram TPP Yamunanagar HaryanaDr Narla Tatarao TPS IbrahimpatnamAndhraPradeshDr Shyama Prakash MukharjeeTPPChattisgarhDurgapur Thermal Power Station Durgapur West BengalDurgapur TPP Durgapur West BengalEnnore TPS Ennore TamilnaduFarakka STPS Nagarun West Bengal

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->