Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
LSC Memo R4448!1!129 on in Person Early Voting in Other States - 08-01-12

LSC Memo R4448!1!129 on in Person Early Voting in Other States - 08-01-12

Ratings: (0)|Views: 1,693 |Likes:
Published by Chris Geidner

More info:

Published by: Chris Geidner on Aug 07, 2012
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





Ohio Legislative Service Commission
William G. Batchelder, Chairman Thomas E. Niehaus, Vice-ChairmanMark FlandersDirector
Ron AmstutzLouis W. Blessing, Jr. Armond BudishJay P. GoyalCheryl L. GrossmanMatt HuffmanKeith Faber Shannon JonesEric KearneyGayle L. ManningThomas F. PattonTom Sawyer 
Vern Riffe Center
77 South High Street, Ninth Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215-6136
Telephone (614) 466-3615www.lsc.state.oh.us
Sarah Cherry, Legal CounselMinority CaucusOhio House of Representatives
Emily E. Wendel, Staff Attorney
August 1, 2012
Early voting deadlines
You asked whether any states have different deadlines for in-person early orabsent voting for voters covered by the federal Uniformed and Overseas CitizensAbsentee Voting Act (UOCAVA) and for voters not covered by UOCAVA. TheNational Conference of State Legislatures reports that 32 states, plus the District ofColumbia, permit in-person early or absent voting.
For each of those states and theDistrict of Columbia, except for Ohio, I examined the relevant statutes and called theoffice of the chief elections official. It appears that under certain circumstances, Indianaand North Carolina each enforce a different in-person early or absent voting deadlinefor UOCAVA and non-UOCAVA voters.I confirmed with the offices of the chief elections officials of the District ofColumbia and the following states that the same in-person early or absent votingdeadline is enforced for UOCAVA and non-UOCAVA voters: Alaska, Arizona,Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana,Maine, Maryland, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota,Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, West Virginia, Wisconsin, andWyoming.Representatives of the Indiana Secretary of State and the North Carolina StateBoard of Elections informed me that under certain circumstances, a UOCAVA voterwould be permitted to vote in-person absentee in those states after the deadline fornon-UOCAVA voters to do so.
The National Conference of State Legislatures, "Absentee and Early Voting," available atncsl.org/legislatures-elections/elections/absentee-and-early-voting.aspx, accessed July 23, 2012.

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->