Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Kane Marceaux Civil Service Complaint - August 13th, 2012

Kane Marceaux Civil Service Complaint - August 13th, 2012

Ratings: (0)|Views: 195|Likes:
Published by Busted In Acadiana

More info:

Published by: Busted In Acadiana on Aug 15, 2012
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

08/15/2012

pdf

text

original

 
August 13, 2012
Lafayette Fire and Police Civil Service BoardPetitioner: Kane Marceaux900 East University, Lafayette, Louisiana 70503Cpl/Agent, Criminal Investigation Division/ Metro Narcotics
Petitioner is filing a formal complaint on
Chief Jim Craft, Major RandyVincent, Lt. Dwayne Prejean, and Sgt. Mark Francis.
On April 18, 2012, I Cpl Kane Marceaux appeared before this board andrequested that the board investigate Major Jackie Alfed for a transferthat was conducted in violation of Lafayette City Police General Orders(the board is granted this authority under L.A.R.S 33:2477 section 4paragraph 4). I advised the board that I did not feel that I would obtaina fair and unbiased investigation. This statement offended Chief JimCraft, who stated that he challenged any employee of the Lafayette CityPolice to produce any information which would have indicated thatChief Craft or the internal affairs unit swept any internal investigationunder the rug. The board refused to take my complaint, and deferredthe investigation back to the Lafayette City Police Department.Weeks following the initial complaint I filed, I was advised by emailfrom Chief Jim Craft that he had violated the general order pertainingto my transfer. Chief Craft advised in writing that he would have Lt.Dwayne Prejean of the LPD Internal Affairs Unit issue Chief Jim Craft a
 
letter of caution for not following the order. I have never obtained inwriting the outcome of the investigation from Lt. Prejean, other than
Chief Craft’s own statement
. The following is an email I received fromChief Craft in regards to the complaint that I initially filed on April 18,2012,
“From: Jim Craft 
 Sent: Thursday, April 26, 2012 5:05 PMTo: Kane Marceaux Cc: Ted Vincent; Jackie Alfred Subject: Meeting Follow-upRegarding our meeting, the following actions have been taken:1. There does appear to be a violation of General Order 101.2 as it pertainsto putting your temporary light duty assignment in writing. Quite frankly, Ido not see what difference this makes since both positions fall under the CIDumbrella and you were informed of your assignment. In any event, it is aviolation by me, and I have instructed Internal Affairs to prepare a performance inspection report on myself for not following the General Order. If you feel this violation is more severe, I will have to consult with theCAO to determine what level of discipline (if any) is warranted. If you still want the assignment in writing, please notify me.I have not been able to find a violation of 201.2
” 
.
 It was obvious to me
from Chief Craft’s email
, that Chief Craft has littleregard for the GENERAL ORDERS that govern the Lafayette City PoliceDepartment. I consider the email he sent me to be quitecondescending. I was under the impression that the only person whocould issue discipline to Chief Craft would be the CAO Dee Stanley.
 
Following the public comment made by Chief Craft on April 18, 2012(investigations Swept under the Rug), the following information is whatI discovered as a 15 year veteran with the Lafayette City PoliceDepartment and not as a PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR. Here are only threeexamples which are listed as follows:1.
 
Captain Angelo Iorio Investigation- former Captain Iorio wasacused of compromising the identity of a narcotics confidentialinformant to an alleged drug dealer. Former Captain Iorio alsoprovided the same alleged drug dealer with knowledge of apending drug investigation which allowed the suspect to thwartthe actions of L.M.N.T.F. These actions were confirmed during arecent Lafayette Police Union meeting in which the investigatorassigned to the case admitted the allegations were sustained andIorio was suspended. The allegations complained of were of acriminal nature, yet no charges or criminal investigation was everordered. Witnesses, Cpl. Scott Poiencott, Cpl. Robinson Olivero,Sgt Blair Dore , Captain John Babin, Cpl. Cory Clause, Cpl. U.J.Prevost, Sgt. Guy Lebreton and Captain Ted Vincent.2.
 
Major Glenn Dartez Investigation, witnesses Sgt. David Leblanc,Sgt Lance Leblanc, Major Randy Vincent, Captain Mac Gallien, Lt.Greg Cormier and Sgt Mark Francis.(Reference is made to KLFYWebsite see attached public article. In short Sgt. Francis explainsa cover up. My question, If Chief craft did not know of the
Major’s involvement
of being on the scene of a MURDER, thenMajor Randy Vincent who was a Captain of CID at the time shouldhave been terminated. If the Chief did know that Major Dartezwas on the scene of a HOMOCIDE, homicide then he Chief Craft

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->