Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
List of ALEC Membership in Texas

List of ALEC Membership in Texas

Ratings: (0)|Views: 2,384 |Likes:
Published by ProgressTX

More info:

Categories:Types, Research
Published by: ProgressTX on Aug 15, 2012
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





Communicating Progressive Values in Texas
Correction: 9 Texas Republicans, Final 3 Texas Democrats Have Left ALEC
Majority of Texas Legislature No Longer a Part of Corporate Bill Factory 
Our original release stated that Sen. Deuell was no longer a member of ALEC.
Following our press release, Sen. Deuell’s office contacted us to inform us that he
was never a
member of ALEC. Our records show a $750 contribution Sen. Deuell’s campaign made to
ALEC in2007 for conference registration
an amount that far exceeds the $100registration/membership fee other legislators often pay to ALEC.Our organization contacted Sen. Deuell and his office by letter in April, by e-mail in April and inMay, and by letter again in June. We did not receive a response until we contacted his office by 
 phone in June to ask about his membership in ALEC. Today, following yesterday’s press release,Sen. Deuell’s staff contacted us to say that while the $750 contribution w 
as made from the
Senator’s campaign account, it was his staff person – 
and not the Senator 
that attended theconference and that the Senator has never been a part of ALEC. We have updated this releaseand we are currently updating our records to reflect this change. The original press release isreprinted below in its corrected form
We appreciate that Senator Deuell has always rejected participating in ALEC,
and we’re pleased he
is part of the two-thirds majority of Texas Senators
 Republicans and Democrats alike
who are not in this corporate bill factory.
9 Texas Republicans, Final 3 Texas Democrats Have Left ALEC
Majority of Texas Legislature No Longer a Part of Corporate Bill Factory 
Progress Texas is pleased to announce that an additional 12 Texas Legislators
9Republicans and 3 Democrats
have announced they have left and will no longer be a part of the American Legislative Exchange Council (ALEC). These 12 Legislators join 12 members of theLegislature who announced they were leaving in April of 2012, bringing the total number of Texas legislators who have left ALEC to 24 this year alone.
“These legislators have shown the courage of their convictions by standing up to a
corporate bill factory and declaring their support for the people of Texas above all 
said Matt Glazer, Executive Director of Progress Texas.
The American Legislative Exchange Council (ALEC) is a corporate bill factory for model laws. Theorganization arranges for corporate lobbyists and conservative legislators to hold joint secretmeetings to craft cookie-cutter bills that increase the profits of private companies at the
public’s expense
. Following public pressure from Progress Texas and its membership, a majorityof the Texas Legislature
96 of 181 members
is now no longer a part of ALEC.
Communicating Progressive Values in Texas
Below is the list of the 12 Texas legislators who recently announced they are leaving ALEC:1.
Sen. Glenn Hegar
Sen. Eddie Lucio
Sen. Carlos Uresti
Sen. John Whitmire
Rep. Leo Berman
Rep. Myra Crownover
Rep. Jim Keffer
Rep. Dee Margo
Rep. Jim Murphy
Rep. Diane Patrick
Rep. Debbie Riddle
Rep. James White
R After the departure of Senators Whitmire, Uresti, and Lucio, no Democrat in Texas remains inALEC. Nationwide, almost 70 legislators have left ALEC; the 24 that have left from Texas is themost of any state. Additionally, 32 corporations across the country have cut ties with ALEC. Afull list of those corporations and legislators can be found here:http://alecexposed.org/wiki/ALEC_Exposed. Attached is a list of all Texas legislators in ALEC,those not in ALEC, and those who have refusedto answer repeated requests of that information from
Progress Texas
. To learn more about ourwork on ALEC in Texas, visit our website at 
Communicating Progressive Values in Texassssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
Sen. Brian Birdwell Sen. Mario Gallegos Sen. Jose RodriguezSen. John Carona
Sen. Glenn Hegar Sen. Carlos Urest
Sen. Wendy Davis Sen.
Juan “Chuy”
Hinojosa Sen. Leticia Van de PutteSen. Robert F. Deuell
Sen. Eddie Lucio
Sen. Kirk WatsonSen. Robert Duncan Sen. Robert Nichols Sen. Royce WestSen. Rodney Ellis Sen. Steve Ogden
Sen. John Whitmire
Sen. Kevin Eltife Sen. Dan Patrick Sen. Judith Zaffirini
Rep. Alma Allen
Rep. Naomi Gonzalez Rep. Sergio Munoz Jr.Rep. Roberto Alonzo Rep. Lance Gooden
Rep. Jim Murph
Rep. Carol Alvarado
Rep. Ryan Guillen
Rep. Elliott NaishtatRep. Rafael Anchia Rep. Roland Gutierrez Rep. Rene OliveiraRep. Rodney Anderson Rep. Will Hartnett Rep. Tan ParkerRep. Marva Beck Rep. Ana Hernandez-Luna
Rep. Diane PatricRep. Leo Berman
Rep. Scott Hochberg Rep. Joe PickettRep. Lon Burnam Rep. Donna Howard
Rep. Chente Quintanilla
Rep. Angie Chen Button Rep. Dan Huberty Rep. Richard Pena RaymondRep. Joaquin Castro
Rep. Eric Johnson
Rep. Ron ReynoldsRep. Garnet Coleman
Rep. Jim Keffer Rep. Debbie RiddleRep. Myra Crownover Rep. Tracy King
Rep. Allan RitterRep. Drew Darby Rep. Tim Kleinschmidt
Rep. Eddie Rodriguez
Rep. Yvonne Davis Rep. Lyle Larson Rep. Charles SchwertnerRep. Joe Deshotel Rep. Ken Legler Rep. Kenneth Sheets
Rep. Dawnna Dukes
Rep. Tyron Lewis Rep. David Simpson
Rep. Harold Dutton Jr.
Rep. Eddie Lucio III Rep. Mark StramaRep. Craig Eiland Rep. Barbara Mallory Callaway Rep. Van TaylorRep. Joe Farias
Rep. Dee Margo
Rep. Senfronia ThompsonRep. Jessica Farrar Rep. Marisa Marquez Rep. Sylvester TurnerRep. Pete Gallego
Rep. Armando Martinez
Rep. Marc VeaseyRep. John Garza Rep. Trey Martinez Fischer Rep. Mike VillarealRep. Helen Giddings
Rep. Ruth Jones McClendon Rep. Hubert Vo
Rep. Veronica Gonzales
Rep. Jose Menendez
Rep. Armando WalleRep. Larry Gonzales Rep. Borris L. Miles
Rep. James White
75 Texas Representatives Not in ALEC - 48 Democrats, 27 Republicans. Those who dropped in 2012 are bold & italicized.21 Texas Senators Not in ALEC - 12 Democrats, 9 Republicans. Those who dropped in 2012 are bold & italicized.

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->