Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
2Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
ENG 101:018 Fall2012 Schedule

ENG 101:018 Fall2012 Schedule

Ratings: (0)|Views: 1,438|Likes:
Published by Cynthia Bateman

More info:

Published by: Cynthia Bateman on Aug 23, 2012
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

11/01/2012

pdf

text

original

 
Bateman1
ENG 101-018: Critical Reading and Composition
 
MWF 10:10 - 11:00, BA 363Instructor: Cynthia BatemanCourse Schedule
 Note: We will begin most days of class with an in-class writing assignment. Details aboutshort writing assignments will be announced, as they are assigned, on the website.
Week 1
 
Friday, August 24
th
:
Course introduction.
 Week 2
 
Monday, August 27
th
:
Ways of Reading 
(1-23) and
 Elements and Pleasures of  Difficulty
, in-class exercise: How to take reading notes.
 
Wednesday, August 29
th
:
Syllabus Contract
due,
Freire’s “The Banking Concept of Education” in
Ways of Reading 
(318-332)
 
 
Friday, August 31
st
:
Short Writing assignment
due
 by 10:00am
,
in-class exercise:What is close reading?, assign essay one.
Week 3
 
Monday, September 3
rd
: no class
 
Wednesday, September 5
th
:
re-read “The Banking Concept” and take new notes based on the discussions we’ve had in class and your own reflections
 
 
Friday, September 7
th
:
draft of essay one
due
 by 10:00am. Bring two printed copiesof your essay to class for peer review (
in addition to submitting your draft to meelectronically
).
Week 4
 
Monday, September 10
th
:
Introduction to
The Hunger Games
, re-read
 Elements and  Pleasures of Difficulty,
in-class exercise: What do you “know” about
The Hunger Games
?
 
Wednesday, September 12
th
:
The Hunger Games
, in-class exercise: Freire and
The Hunger Games
 
 
Friday, September 14
th
:
Short Writing Assignment
due
by 10:00am, come to classhaving finished your first reading of 
The Hunger Games
 Week 5
 
Monday, September 17
th
:
Foucault’s “Panopticism” in
Ways of Reading 
(282-309),in-class exercise: Who is watching you?
 
Wednesday, September 19
th
:
Short Writing assignment
due
 by 10:00am, in-classexercise: Foucault and
The Hunger Games
 
 
Friday, September 21
st
:
In-class exercise: What is a topic proposal?, assign writinggroups, assign essay two
 
 
Bateman2
Week 6
 
Monday, September 24
th
:
 begin re-reading
The Hunger Games,
in-class exercise:What is a workshop?
 
 
Wednesday, September 26
th
:
Workshop proposal ideas with your writing groups(this means you must come to class with a proposal idea, more on this on the website)
 
 
Friday, September 28
th
:
“How Do You Focus and Organize a Writing Project?” and“How Do You Revise, Edit, and Proofread” (chapters 3 and 5 from
The Scott  Foresman Handbook 
), Topic Proposal
due
 by 10:00am
 — 
 bring two printed copies of your proposal to class for peer review (
in addition to submitting your proposal tome electronically
).
Week 7
 
Monday, October 1
st
:
re-read 
Foucault’s “Panopticism” and have finished your re-reading of 
The Hunger Games,
in-class exercise: How do I turn this proposal into a paper?
 
 
Wednesday, October 3
rd
:
close reading exercise with writing groups
 
 
Friday, October 5
th
:
Continue working on essay 2 claims in writing groups.
Week 8
 
Monday, October 8
th
:
In-class exercise: workshop claims
 
Wednesday, October 10
th
:
Bring
one
printed copy of your draft of essay two to classfor take home peer review (
do not submit this draft to me electronically
).
 
Friday, October 12
th
:
Take home peer review due.
 
Bring
one
printed copy of your draft of essay two to class for in-class peer review (
do not submit this draft to meelectronically
)
,
choose conference times, in-class exercise: How do I prepare for aconference with my instructor?
Your draft of essay two will be due in conferencenext week. Bring one printed copy of your draft of essay two to your scheduledconference.Week 9
 
Monday, October 15
th
: no class, student conferences
 
Wednesday, October 17
th
: no class, student conferences
 
Friday, October 19
th
: no class, fall break!Week 10
 
Monday, October 22
nd
:
John Berger’s
 
“Ways of Seeing”; “Representation and ItsComplications.”
 
Wednesday, October 24
th
:
In-class exercise: demonstrate visual analysis, performvisual analysis in writing groups (images provided), assign essay three
 
 
Friday, October 26
th
:
Short Writing Assignment
due in class
, work in writinggroups to develop short writing assignment, “How Do Written and Visual ArgumentsWork?” (Ch 9 from
The Scott Foresman Handbook 
)
 
 
Bateman3
 Week 11
 
Monday, October 29
th
:
Workshop essay three proposals in writing groups (thismeans you must come to class with a proposal idea), in-class exercise: How can Iexpand upon this proposal?
 
Wednesday, October 31
st
:
Bring two printed copies of your proposal for essay threeto class for peer review (
do not submit this draft to me electronically
)
 
 
Friday, November 2
nd
:
Bring one printed copy of your proposal for essay three(including your image) to class for peer review (
do not submit this draft to meelectronically
)
 Week 12
 
Monday, November 5
th
:
“Bartleby the Scrivener,” quiz over “Bartleby”
 
 
Wednesday, November 7
th
:
Bring two printed copies of your draft of essay three(including two copies of your image) to class for take home peer review. (
do notsubmit this draft to me electronically
). Discuss Bartleby’s connections to previousassigned readings.
 
Friday, November 9
th
:
Take home peer reviews due. In-class exercise: What is athought web?
Week 13
 
Monday, November 12
th
:
Essay three
due
 by 10:00am,
re-read 
“Bartleby theScrivener”, assign essay four 
 
 
Wednesday, November 14
th
:
Short writing assignment (thought web)
due
by10:00am (turn in hard copy only in class), Workshop thought webs in writing groups.In-class exercise: How can I move from this web to a paper?
 
Friday, November 16
th
:
Review final portfolio instructions, Bring one printed copyof your proposal for essay four to class for peer review (
do not submit this draft tome electronically
)
 Week 14
 
Monday, November 19
th
: no class
 
Wednesday, November 21
st
: no class
 
Friday, November 23
rd
: no classWeek 15
 
Monday, November 26
th
:
Bring
two
printed copies of your draft of essay four toclass for take home peer review (
do not submit this draft to me electronically
).
 
 
Wednesday, November 28
th
:
Take home peer review due. In-class exercise: revision planning
 
 
Friday, November 30
th
:
Essay four 
due
 by 10:00am, assign Letter of Reflection, in-class exercise: Course critique
 

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->