Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
3:09-cv-02292 #843

3:09-cv-02292 #843

Ratings: (0)|Views: 49 |Likes:
Published by Equality Case Files
Doc #843 - Judgment and Amended Order Closing Case
Doc #843 - Judgment and Amended Order Closing Case

More info:

Published by: Equality Case Files on Aug 29, 2012
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

08/29/2012

pdf

text

original

 
   U  n   i   t  e   d   S   t  a   t  e  s   D   i  s   t  r   i  c   t   C  o  u  r   t
   F  o  r   t   h  e   N  o  r   t   h  e  r  n   D   i  s   t  r   i  c   t  o   f   C  a   l   i   f  o  r  n   i  a
12345678910111213141516171819202122232425262728
1
See Fed. R. Civ. P. 58(a) (stating that, with certain exceptions, “[e]very judgment andamended judgment must be set out in a separate document”).
   U  n   i   t  e   d   S   t  a   t  e  s   D   i  s   t  r   i  c   t   C  o  u  r   t
   F  o  r   t   h  e   N  o  r   t   h  e  r  n   D   i  s   t  r   i  c   t  o   f   C  a   l   i   f  o  r  n   i  a
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURTFOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIASAN FRANCISCO DIVISIONKristin M. Perry, et al.,Plaintiffs,v.Arnold Schwarzenegger, et al.,Defendants.NO. C 09-02292 JW
JUDGMENT AND AMENDED ORDERCLOSING CASE
On August 4, 2010, the Court issued an order in this case in which it directed the Clerk toenter judgment in favor of Plaintiffs and Plaintiff-Intervenors and against Defendants andDefendant-Intervenors. (hereafter, “August 4 Order,” Docket Item No. 708 at 136.) On August 12,2010, the Court issued a further order in which it declined to stay the August 4 Order and directedthe Clerk to “enter judgment forthwith.” (See Docket Item No. 727 at 10-11.) The same day,pursuant to the Court’s order, a permanent injunction was entered whereby it was “ordered,adjudged and decreed” that Defendants were permanently enjoined from applying or enforcingArticle I, § 7.5 of the California Constitution. (See Docket Item No. 728 at 2.) However, noseparate Judgment was issued.
1
 On August 4, 2010, Defendant-Intervenors appealed the Court’s August 4 Order, along withprior interlocutory orders of the Court. (Docket Item No. 713.) On April 25, 2011, while theirappeal was pending, Defendant-Intervenors filed a motion before this Court seeking to vacate the“final judgment . . . and all orders entered by this Court” pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 62.1. (See
Case3:09-cv-02292-JW Document843 Filed08/29/12 Page1 of 4
 
   U  n   i   t  e   d   S   t  a   t  e  s   D   i  s   t  r   i  c   t   C  o  u  r   t
   F  o  r   t   h  e   N  o  r   t   h  e  r  n   D   i  s   t  r   i  c   t  o   f   C  a   l   i   f  o  r  n   i  a
123456789101112131415161718192021222324252627282Docket Item No. 768 at 1.) On June 14, 2011, the Court issued an order denying that motion tovacate judgment. (See Docket Item No. 797.)Recently, upon review of the docket, the Court observed that because a separate Judgmentwas never issued, the case has not been closed. Thus, on August 27, 2012, the Court issued anOrder Closing Case. (See Docket Item No. 842.) Subsequently, the parties informed the Court thatthe August 27 Order requires modification because it incorrectly names certain parties.Accordingly, in light of the procedural history and orders discussed above, judgment ishereby entered in favor of: (1) Plaintiffs Kristin M. Perry; Sandra B. Stier; Paul T. Katami; andJeffrey J. Zarrillo; and (2) Plaintiff-Intervenor City and County of San Francisco and against: (1)Defendants Arnold Schwarzenegger; Edmund G. Brown, Jr.; Mark B. Horton; Linette Scott; Patrick O’Connell; Dean C. Logan; Kamala D. Harris; and Howard Backer; and (2) Defendant-IntervenorsDennis Hollingsworth; Gail J. Knight; Martin F. Gutierrez; Hak-Shing William Tam; Mark A.Jansson; and ProtectMarriage.com.This Judgment is entered
nunc pro tunc
to August 12, 2010, the date on which the Courtdirected that judgment be entered “forthwith.”The Clerk shall close this file.Dated: August 29, 2012JAMES WAREUnited States District Chief Judge
Case3:09-cv-02292-JW Document843 Filed08/29/12 Page2 of 4
 
   U  n   i   t  e   d   S   t  a   t  e  s   D   i  s   t  r   i  c   t   C  o  u  r   t
   F  o  r   t   h  e   N  o  r   t   h  e  r  n   D   i  s   t  r   i  c   t  o   f   C  a   l   i   f  o  r  n   i  a
123456789101112131415161718192021222324252627283
THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT COPIES OF THIS ORDER HAVE BEEN DELIVERED TO:
Alan Lawrence Schlosser aschlosser@aclunc.orgAmir Cameron Tayrani Atayrani@gibsondunn.comAndrew Perry Pugno andrew@pugnolaw.comAndrew Walter Stroud stroud@mgslaw.comAngela Christine Thompson angelathompsonesq@gmail.comAustin R. Nimocks animocks@telladf.orgBrian Ricardo Chavez-Ochoa chavezochoa@yahoo.comBrian W Raum braum@telladf.orgCharles J. Cooper ccooper@cooperkirk.comCharles Salvatore LiMandri cslimandri@limandri.comChristine Van Aken christine.van.aken@sfgov.orgChristopher Dean Dusseault cdusseault@gibsondunn.comChristopher Francis Stoll cstoll@nclrights.orgChristopher James Schweickert cjs@wcjuris.comClaude Franklin Kolm claude.kolm@acgov.orgDaniel J. Powell Daniel.Powell@doj.ca.govDanny Yeh Chou danny.chou@sfgov.orgDavid Boies dboies@bsfllp.comDavid E. Bunim Dbunim@haasnaja.comDavid H. Thompson dthompson@cooperkirk.comDavid L. Llewellyn Dllewellyn@LS4law.comDiana E Richmond drichmond@sideman.comElizabeth O. Gill egill@aclunc.orgEnrique Antonio Monagas emonagas@gibsondunn.comEphraim Margolin ephraim_margolin@yahoo.comEric Grant grant@hicks-thomas.comEric Alan Isaacson erici@rgrdlaw.comErin Brianna Bernstein Erin.Bernstein@sfgov.orgEthan D. Dettmer edettmer@gibsondunn.comGordon Bruce Burns Gordon.Burns@doj.ca.govHerma Hill Kay hkay@law.berkeley.eduHolly L Carmichael holly.l.carmichael@gmail.comHoward C. Nielson hnielson@cooperkirk.comIlona Margaret Turner iturner@nclrights.orgJames Bopp jboppjr@bopplaw.comJames A Campbell jcampbell@telladf.orgJames C. Harrison jharrison@rjp.comJames Dixon Esseks jesseks@aclu.orgJames J. Brosnahan jbrosnahan@mofo.comJennifer Carol Pizer jpizer@lambdalegal.orgJennifer Lynn Monk jmonk@faith-freedom.comJennifer Lynn Monk jmonk@faith-freedom.comJeremy Michael Goldman jgoldman@bsfllp.comJerome Cary Roth Jerome.Roth@mto.comJesse Michael Panuccio jpanuccio@cooperkirk.comJohn Douglas Freed jfreed@cov.comJon Warren Davidson jdavidson@lambdalegal.orgJordan W. Lorence jlorence@telladf.orgJose Hector Moreno jhmoreno@jhmlaw.comJosh Schiller jischiller@bsfllp.comJosh Schiller jischiller@bsfllp.com
Case3:09-cv-02292-JW Document843 Filed08/29/12 Page3 of 4

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->