Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Deadly s 2012 Winner Profiles

Deadly s 2012 Winner Profiles

Ratings: (0)|Views: 17,722 |Likes:
Published by ABC News Online

More info:

Categories:Topics, Art & Design
Published by: ABC News Online on Sep 25, 2012
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





dia r
There were no surprises that NRL Bulldogs ullbackBen Barba who won the 2012 Dally M Medal scoredthe Deadly or NRL Player o the Year, or thatSydney Swans goal master Lewis Jetta won the AFLPlayer o the Year in ront o a capacity crowd atthe 18th Deadlys tonight at the Opera House.In a night o honouring the achievers across music,sport, the arts, entertainment and the community,the Deadlys® show was must see, with plentyo high notes and some special tributes.League legend, the late Arthur (Artie) Beetson wasposthumously awarded The Ella Award or LietimeAchievement in Aboriginal and Torres Strait IslanderSport, while the original Sapphires, Beverly Briggs,Naomi Mayers, Lois Peeler, Laurel Robinson and TonyBriggs, who wrote the Sapphires play on which thehit lm o the same name was based, were honouredthrough the Jimmy Little Award or Lietime Achievementin Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander music.In the music categories, the talent and currentwave o popularity o Jess Mauboy and GeofreyGurrumul Yunupingu ensured they took homeDeadlys® or Single o the Year (Galaxy), FemaleArtist o the Year and Male Artist o the Year.The boxer who donned an Aboriginal T-shirt in theLondon Olympic ring, Damien Duncan Hooper wasawarded Most Promising New Talent in Sport, whileinternational basketball star and Olympian Patrick Mills,not surprisingly, took home Male Sportsperson o the Year.The Arts’ categories acknowledged the important issuesthat have marked contemporary Indigenous history, withthe Film o the Year going to ABC’s Mabo and both JimiBani who played Eddie Koiki Mabo in that lm winningMale Actor o the Year. Deborah Mailman who playedhis wie Bonita was awarded Female Actor o the Year.A high point o the night was the announcement o the inaugural Marcia Langton Award or LietimeAchievement in Leadership – presented by ProessorLangton hersel – which recognised the work o  Yarrabah and Palm Island activist Percy Neal.The Lietime Contribution Award or Healing the StolenGenerations went to Marumali Healing ounder andmember o the Stolen Generations, Aunty Lorraine DarcyPeeters who works with Aboriginal and Torres StraitIslander inmates, health workers and members o theStolen Generations to heal the terrible legacies o the past.The community awards acknowledged thegrassroots eforts o those across Australia workingin Education, Health, Employment, IndigenousBroadcasting and Cultural Advancement.The Tjanpi Desert Weavers travelled all the wayrom central Australia to be at the Deadlys® andwere honoured with the Outstanding Achievementin Cultural Advancement. Tjanpi (meaning grass)supports the production and marketing o baskets,sculptures and seed jewellery made by over 400 womenrom 28 women, across three states, NT, WA, SA.
Embargoed 7.30pm 25.9.2012
dia r
The Deadlys® show had all the thrills and spills o a majoraward night and Executive Producer and ounder Gavin Jones said the 18th Deadlys® ullled its vision in 2012.“The Deadlys® has always had a vision to recognise,celebrate and showcase the contribution o Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders to ourcommunity and to Australian society,” he said.“Over the years, the Deadlys® has played a role insupporting and advancing Aboriginal and Torres StraitIslander music, sport, the arts and entertainment,community and leadership – that is why theDeadlys® is such an important event on the nationalcalendar or everyone – the Aboriginal and TorresStrait Islander community, and wider Australia.”Mr Jones acknowledged the support o theAustralian Government through the Department o Health and Ageing, who had been supporting theDeadlys® since the rst awards’ night in 1995.
The Deadlys® will be broadcast on SBS One SBS1on Sunday, 30 September 2012 and repeatedon Thursday, 4 October 4 at 9.30pm on SBS Twoand Wednesday, 3 October at 9.30pm on NITV.
Vibe Australia produces the Deadlys®, Vibe Alive,Vibe 3on3®, InVibe, Deadly Vibe®, Deadly Sounds andDeadly TV. For more inormation about products:www.vibe.com.au or nd us on acebook vibeaustralia and ollow us on twitter @vibeaus
For media enquiries, contact Maryann Westonon 02 4822 8230 or maryann@gjcvibe.com.au
The Deadlys® pays particular tribute to the AustralianGovernment and the Department o Health and Ageing(DOHA), the Australian Government - Closing the Gap,Healing Foundation, Department o Families, Housingand Community Services (FaHCSIA), the Department o Broadband Communications and the Digital Economy,Vibe Australia, the Department Education, Employmentand Workplace Relations (DEEWR), Attorney-General’sDepartment, QANTAS, Sydney Opera House, NITV,and Gavin Jones Communications. The Deadlys® alsocelebrates 10 years o broadcasting with SBS.
Most PromisingNew Talent in Music*
Marcus Corowa
Male Artist of the Year
Georey Gurrumul Yunupingu
Female Artist of the Year
Jessica Mauboy
Hip Hop Artist of the Year
Yung Warriors
Single of the Year
Jessica Mauboy - Galaxy
Album of the Year
Troy Cassar-Daley - Home
Band of the Year
The Last Kinection
Male Actor of the Year
Jimi Bani - Mabo
Female Actor of the Year
Deborah Mailman - Mabo
Dancer of the Year*
Janet Munyarryun
Visual Artist of the Year*
Vernon Ah Kee
Film of the Year
Television Show of the Year
The Straits (ABC)
Outstanding Achievementin Literature*
Ali Cobby Eckermann - Ruby Moonlight
Most PromisingNew Talent in Sport*
Damien Duncan Hooper - Boxing
Male Sportsperson of the Year
Patrick Mills - Basketball
Female Sportspersonof the Year
Bo de la Cruz - Rugby
Aboriginal or Torres StraitIslander AFL Player of the Year
Lewis Jetta - Sydney
Aboriginal or Torres StraitIslander NRL Player of the Year
Ben Barba - Canterbury
Aboriginal or Torres Strait IslanderHealth Worker of the Year
John Corowa
Outstanding Achievementin Aboriginal and TorresStrait Islander Health*
Boodjari Yorgas Family Care Program
Outstanding Achievementin Aboriginal and TorresStrait Islander Education*
Napranum Parents and Learning Group (PAL)
Outstanding Achievementin Aboriginal and TorresStrait Islander Employment*
Gavin Lester – Boomerang Constructions
Community Broadcasterof the Year*
Natalie Ahmat - NITV News
Outstanding Achievementin Cultural Advancement*
Tjanpi Desert Weavers – NPY Women’s Council
Outstanding Contribution to theStolen Generations*
AbSec - NSW
Hal of Fae 
The Lifetime Contribution Awardfor Healing the Stolen Generations
Aunty Lorraine Darcy Peeters
The Marcia Langton Awardfor Lifetime Achievement inLeadership
Percy Neal
The Ella Award for LifetimeAchievement in Aboriginal andTorres Strait Islander Sport
Arthur Beetson
The Jimmy Little Award forLifetime Achievement toAboriginal and Torres StraitIslander Music
Tony Briggs and the Original Sapphires- Beverly Briggs, Naomi Mayers,Lois Peeler, Laurel Robinson
Embargoed until 7.30pm, 25.9.2012
*These awards are judged by theDeadly Executive Academy 

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->