Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Save to My Library
Look up keyword
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Pioneer Review, October 18, 2012

Pioneer Review, October 18, 2012

Ratings: (0)|Views: 92 |Likes:
Published by surfnewmedia

More info:

Published by: surfnewmedia on Oct 17, 2012
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

07/10/2013

pdf

text

original

 
P
ioneer 
eview 
$
1
00
Includes Tax
A Publication of Ravellette Publications, Inc., Philip, South Dakota 57567. The Official Newspaper of Haakon County, South Dakota. Copyright 1981.
Number 8Volume 107October 18, 2012
Market Report
Winter Wheat, 12 Pro...........$8.15Any Pro.............................$7.35Spring Wheat, 14 Pro...........$8.46Milo.......................................$6.67Corn.......................................$6.82Millet...................................$30.00Sunflower Seeds................$22.50
Crosscountry:eight tostate
11
X-rayupgrade
2
FridgeDoor
3
“Dig Pink”volleyballand FCCLA
9
 
Two candidates are running forthe position of Haakon Countysheriff. They are Fred Koester andWilliam Morrison.
Fd KostFamy:
I have been married tomy wife, Missy, for 20 years. We arein the final stage of raising the lastof seven children; hers, mine andours. Our daughter, Libbi, is thelast child we have at home and sheis a freshman here at Philip HighSchool. We have six grandchildrenthat are truly a gift from God. Imay add that if our future is in thehands of these children, Lord havemercy. We love them all. 
How ong n aa?
I moved toPhilip in March of this year. Mywife and daughter moved here inMay. I grew up in Murdo and weraised our children there beforemoving to Philip. 
 Why a you th bst cand-dat?
I am a certified law enforce-ment officer within the state of South Dakota. I have approxi-mately 12 years law enforcementexperience –over seven years asChief of Police in Murdo, and fourand a half years as county sheriff.This experience has allowed me togain insight, patience, good judge-ment and understanding as it isapplied to my daily duties.
What a you top stngthsfo ths poston?
Law enforce-ment is a career that you learn asyou go. Many of the tools that areapplied to this profession arelearned by what you have encoun-tered in the past. With experienceyour priorities change and youquickly realize that your job isworking withand forthe people inyour community, not against them. You learn that respect and dignitygo a long way, even with the localswho you must sometimes arrest. Itruly believe that common sensewhen using officer discretion is oneof our greatest tools. I believe thatI am fair and listen to both sides of every story. I then look at each sit-uation as a whole and try to makean educated decision before I react.I understand the role of the sheriff in regard to law enforcement as itpertains to a smaller communitysuch as Haakon County.
 Wam MosonFamy:
My wife, Marcy, and Ihave three children. TJ is 10 yearsold, Spencer six and Luther is four.Most of our extended family live inand around the Haakon Countyarea. 
How ong n aa?
I grew upnorth of Philip. I went to countryschool from kindergarten througheighth grade and graduated fromPhilip High School in 1993. I wentto South Dakota State Universityfor 1-1/2 years. I came back andworked for a couple of ranchers. In April of 1997, I moved to the RapidCity area. I have been in the con-struction industry since that time. 
 Why a you th bst cand-dat?
I am very interested in thesafety of the public. I intend tohave yearly meetings with highschool students and talk to themabout drinking and driving andother things that may be of con-cern. I want to make sure that noone is afraid to come to our countyand have a good time as long asthey have a safe way home. I willtry to be a phone call away if youdon’t. 
 What a you top stngths?
I strive to be one of the best ateverything I do. I have done a lot of public speaking and dealing withpeople one on one. I will do my verybest at taking care of the wholecounty and my door will always beopen. I am not afraid of questionsand will find the answers.
Haakon County sheriff candidates
Fred Koester.William Morrison
 
Two candidates are running forthe position of Haakon Countystate’s attorney. They are GayTollefson and Chip Kemnitz.On October 15, Secretary of State Jason Gant made the follow-ing statement, “We are 10 daysaway from the voter registrationdeadline of October 22, and 25 daysaway from election day on Novem-ber 6. As of today, 17,369 SouthDakotans have cast an absenteeballot and there is still plenty of time to make your voice heard.”Registration may be done at theHaakon County auditor’s office, themunicipal finance office, secretaryof state’s office, or any location thatprovides driver’s licenses, militaryrecruitment or assistance to thedisabled as provided by the Depart-ment of Human Services. Voterregistration can also be done at anylocation that provides Supplemen-tal Nutrition Assistance Program,Temporary Assistance for NeedyFamilies, or Special SupplementalNutrition Program for Women, In-fants and Children.
Gay TofsonFamy:
I am the mother of twochildren and I have four grandchil-dren. My daughter, Chris, and herfamily live in Rapid City, and myson, Mike, and his family live inGreen River, Wyo. My mother, JoyKlima, lives near Phoenix and mysisters, Linda Smith and LolaRoseth, live in Haakon County. 
How ong n aa?
I movedback to God’s country 11 years ago.I was born and raised in theBelvidere area. 
 Why a you th bst cand-dat?
I have been privileged toserve as Bennett County state’s at-torney as well as Haakon Countystate’s attorney. In Bennett Countywe have up to 100 open cases at atime. The challenge as a part-timestate’s attorney has taught me howto utilize my time, how to work atsaving the county money and howto prosecute everything from mur-der, rape and assaults, to childabuse, and drug and alcohol abuse.Even though I have chosen not torun for re-election in BennettCounty, I believe that experience isinvaluable to being state’s attorneyin Haakon County.
What a you top stngthsfo ths poston?
Much to theconsternation of a few people, Itreat everyone the same under thesame situations. No favorites. Thissometimes makes a state’s attorneyunpopular. We need to be tough onthe one hand, but yet have commonsense and compassion on the other.I believe that a state’s attorneymust set an example for our youngpeople. I try to attend all homegames, not only because I enjoysports, but also because I want thekids to know that I am not just aperson in the legal system to beafraid of and to dislike. I also try toattend all fundraisers and othercommunity events because I feel itis important to be an interestedmember of the communities.
Chp Kmntz
 
Famy:
I have been married toJulianne for nearly 48 years. Ju-lianne is retired, but formerlyserved as vice-president at FirstNational Bank in Philip. We havethree children, all of whom wereraised and educated in HaakonCounty. All are now highly produc-tive professionals in their ownright. We have been blessed withnine grandchildren to date. 
How ong n aa?
I have livedhere 42 years. Despite some oppor-tunities to leave, I declined, know-ing there isn’t a better place toraise a family, nor better people toserve, nor better friends to befound. 
 Why a you th bst cand-dat?
Thirty-eight years in the po-sition. I have a firm grasp of the re-quirements of the office, whethercivil, criminal or administrative. Iknow the commissioners and theirvalues; I know our officers and of-ficials and highly respect the jobthey do for the taxpayer; I knowhow all their respective duties in-teract with one another. I am wellacquainted with AdministrativeProcedures Act, Open MeetingsLaw and the requirements of dueprocess. As Special Assistant Attor-ney General, I also assist the statein enforcement of child support ob-ligations. My partner serves asdeputy at no additional cost to tax-payers. 
 What a you top stngthsfo th poston?
Experience,leadership and commitment. Asidefrom the state’s attorney office, Ihave chaired the South DakotaRacing Commission, the SouthDakota Lottery Commission andcurrently chair the South DakotaCommission on Gaming. I serve aschair of the Continuing EducationCommittee of the Association of Racing Commissioners Interna-tional. In that capacity, I havemade presentations and partici-pated in panel discussions in sev-eral United States jurisdictions. Ihave served in the military (33years, retired colonel); I have heldthe positions of Inspector General,and Judge Advocate General of theSouth Dakota Army NationalGuard. I was awarded the Legionof Merit, this nation’s highestpeacetime award in the military. In1989, Governor Mickelson honoredme as a Volunteer of the Year. Iserved six years on the SouthDakota State Bar DisciplinaryBoard, my last as chairman, andcurrently serve on the Client Secu-rity Fund. I have been rated an A- V attorney by Martindale Hubblefor more than 32 years, the highestrating in legal ability and ethicalstandards (peer review).
 State’s attorney candidates
Gay TollefsonChip Kemnitz
by D Bats
The Monday, October 15, meet-ing of the Haakon District Board of Education mainly involved a pres-entation over the 2012 fiscal yearaudit.Business Manager Britni Rossstated that the Auditor General inPierre has received the report, andhas offered no recommendationsfor changes.“One hit from the audit, thesame one we always get, is becauseof too small of a staff for checks andbalances,” said Ross. “The impor-tant thing is they gave us a goldstar, and we are off and running forthe next year.”Some details included that “weare in control of only two percent of our revenue, so what do you do?”said Ross. Taxes are set by thecounty and state, and other sourcesof funds are set by interest rates orother reasons.The district seems to have accessto a large percentage of its fund-ings if an emergency or unprece-dented cause for spending shouldarise. Over 28 percent of its operat-ing funds are considered unre-stricted net assets, which is not tosay those funds cannot be reallo-cated without a desperate cause.Two possibly negative pointswere noted. The audit gave a 70percent capital asset condition tothe district. This translated to“stuff getting older and depreciat-ing, and not getting replaced,” saidRoss. Most of this represents build-ings, for which nothing can be doneuntil the need eventually comes fordemolition and rebuilding. Theaudit simply indicated the need toreplace.The district has budgeted in sucha way that some expenses could bepaid out of reserves. This has nothad to happen. Expenses are com-ing out of current or behind in-come, but not out of future income.Ross said that the food service isthe one area where increased ex-penses are obvious. “All the otherschools have had to supplement,but we haven’t,” she said. “Thefruit is running us into the hole.”Board member Doug Thorsonsaid, “We set our budget at the be-ginning of the year, and then foodcosts jump. What can we do aboutit?” Discussion was held on the per-centage of students who qualify forthe government’s reduced or freelunch program. The school year didstart out with the cupboards bareand had to be restocked. A re-arranged lunch line might help dis-tribute the portions more to the in-dividual student’s appetite. Accessto more food is appreciated by stu-dents who exercise more and havea higher metabolism.September’s costs for substitutescame to $2,675.74 for an equivalentof 31.5 days of classroom substitu-tion. Hourly wages came to over$22,446 for 2,022.75 total hours.Board members were paid for theirlast three meetings, at $50 permember per meeting. This totaled$1,050. Other bills payable October15 totaled over $37,906.The recent parent-teacher con-ferences had an 82 percent turn outfor parents with students in gradeseight through twelve, 98 percentfor in town elementary, and 100percent for the Milesville and DeepCreek schools. Milesville hasearned the distinction from thestate level as an “exemplaryschool.” Good comments were madeby Philip parents about the avail-ability of baby sitting and aboutthe building tours in Philip. A vol-unteer survey for parents cameback with a slight disproval withthe lunch system, but includedcomments that nothing practicalcould be done to improve the situa-tion. Parents also wanted commu-nications with them to be im-proved, beyond sending notes homewith students, a daily updatedwebsite, an open door policy andactivities being published in thenewspaper.Open gym for the public has nowbeen expanded to have men in thehigh school gymnasium, mostlybasketball, to women exercising inthe elementary gym, mostly volley-ball. This open time is everyWednesday evening, starting at6:00.The annual social Donuts forDads will be Thursday, October 18,in the cafeteria before school. Theend of the first quarter will be thesame day. Picture retakes will bedone October 31.The next Board of Educationmeeting will be at 6:00 p.m., Mon-day, November 19, in room A-1 of the high school.
 School board reviews audit
Superintendent Keven Morehart and Board of Education President Scott Brechdisplay two of the Lifetouch Photography plastic posters of Philip High School sen-ior athletes that will be displayed on the east wall of the gymnasium for the restof this year. The posters will be given to the students after graduation.
Cocton
The next Haakon County com-missioners’ monthly meeting hasbeen changed from November 6to November 8 so the board of commissioners can also canvassthe general election results.I apologize for my switching of the dates in last weeks newspa-per.Del BartelsMidwest Cooperatives has an-nounced it is expanding its agron-omy service center located inPhilip.In this first of a three-phaseplan, construction will expand thecooperative’s current liquid fertil-izer capabilities, as well as, con-struct a new 6,000-ton dry fertilizerplant, seed warehouse and seed-treatment facility.This expansion should decreasecustomer load times from 45 min-utes to less than 10 minutes. Thecompany is also adding automationthat allows for inducting liquidproducts on to dry fertilizer to in-crease nutrient efficiencies.The new dry fertilizer plant willbe situated on land already ownedby Midwest Cooperatives. There isavailable space for the future ac-commodation of the Canadian-Pa-cific railroad as it increases itstrain sizes in western SouthDakota. The phase one enhance-ment will allow the plant to unload25 cars of fertilizer in six hours.“This change will affect a lot of people in a pretty big area,” saidJay Baxter, Philip location man-ager. “We have like a 600 ton plant,and they are going to make it 10times larger. It’ll be more auto-mated and less laborsome for ouremployees.”Details of subsequent phases arenot final, but phase two plans in-clude grain storage expansion withadditional train loading and truckunloading capacity in phase three.“Our goal is to provide our pa-trons both speed and space at ourfacilities that are unrivaled in thearea. Our board and managementare firmly committed to growingalongside our customers to ensureMidwest Cooperatives is able tomeet their needs now and in the fu-ture,” said Milt Handcock, generalmanager, based out of Pierre.
Expansion of agronomyservice center in Philip
Annually, applications for theEnvironmental Quality IncentivesProgram (EQIP) and the Conserva-tion Stewardship Program (CSP)are batched for funding considera-tion. November 16 is the date bywhich an operator or landownermust sign an application at theirlocal Natural Resources Conserva-tion Service office for fiscal year2013 funding consideration.The EQIP program provides fi-nancial and technical assistance tohelp producers implement volun-tary conservation practices to im-prove their natural resources. Pay-ment is provided for variety of practices to maintain or improveresource concerns such as waterquality, grazing land health andproductivity, soil erosion and soilquality, and wildlife habitat devel-opment.The CSP encourages land stew-ards to improve their conservationperformance by installing andadopting additional activities, andimproving, maintaining, and man-aging existing activities on agricul-tural land and nonindustrial pri-vate forest land.“The ranking period for thesetwo popular conservation programsis quickly approaching,” said Jeff  Vander Wilt, assistant state conser-vationist for programs with theNRCS. Applications for all NRCSconservation programs are contin-uously accepted, however the appli-cation batching date, or call forranking, is November 16 for bothEQIP and CSP. He encourages anyoperator or landowner not to waituntil the last minute to visit theirlocal United States Department of  Agriculture Service Center.For more information aboutEQIP and CSP, contact your localNRCS office. For more informationon technical assistance and conser-vation programs, go to http://www.sd.nrcs.usda.gov.
Program deadlines forEQIP/CSP November 16
 
E-MAIL ADDRESSES:ADS: ads@pioneer-review.comNEWS: newsdesk@pioneer-review.comSUBSCRIPTIONS: subscriptions@pioneer-review.com
Lookin’ Around
by Syd Iwan
Ravellette Publications is happy to receive letters concerning comments on any newsstory or personal feeling on any subject. We do reserve the right to edit any offensive ma-terial and also to edit to fill the allotted space. We also reserve the right to reject any or allletters.Our deadline for insertion in the Thursday issue is the preceding Monday at 5:00 p.m.Letters intended for more than one Ravellette Publications newspaper should be mailedor hand delivered to each individual newspaper office. All letters
must
bear the originalsignature, address and telephone number of the author.
POLITICAL LETTERS TO THE EDITOR:
No political letters are to run the two weeksprior to an election.The “Letters” column is intended to offer readers the opportunity to express their opin-ions. It is not meant to replace advertising as a means of reaching people.This publication’s goal is to protect the first amendment guarantee of free speech. Your comments are welcomed and encouraged.
The Pioneer Review • P.O. Box 788 • Philip, SD 57567-0788(605) 859-2516 • FAX: (605) 859-2410
Ravellette Publications, Inc.
Letters Policy 
Opinion / Community
Thursday, October 18, 2012 • The Pioneer Review •
Page 2
P
ionee 
eview 
Philip, SD U.S.P.S. 433-780
Subscription Rates
: For Haakon, Jackson,and Jones counties, Creighton, Wall, Quinn,Marcus, Howes, Plainview, and Hayes ad-dresses: $36.00 per year (+ Tax); Elsewhere:$42.00 per year.
South Dakota residents are required to pay sales tax.
Periodicals postage paid at Philip, SD.Postmaster, send change of address noticeto:
Pioneer Review,
PO Box 788, Philip, SD57567; or FAX to: 605/859-2410.
Website Subscription Rate:
$36.
E-mail address:
subscriptions@pioneer-review.com
website: www.pioneer-review.comEstablished in 1906.
The Pioneer Review, the official newspaper of Haakon County, the towns of Philip and Mid-land, and Haakon School District 27-1 is pub-lished weekly by Ravellette Publications, Inc.
Pioneer Review 
office is located at 221 E. OakStreet in Philip, South Dakota.
Phone: (605) 859-2516;FAX: (605) 859-2410;e-mail: ads@pioneer-review.comCopyrighted 1981:
Ravellette Publications,Inc. All rights reserved. Nothing may bereprinted, photocopied, or in any way repro-duced from this publication, in whole or in part,without the written consent of the publisher.
DEADLINES:
Display & Classified
Advertising:
Tuesdays at 11:00 a.m. (MT)
Legals:
Fridays at 5:00 p.m. (MT)
Publisher:
Don Ravellette
Gen. Mgr. of Operations/Ad Design:
Kelly Penticoff 
Editor/News Reporter:
Del Bartels
Reporter/Ad Design:
Nancy Haigh
Ad Sales:
Beau Ravellette
SouthDakotaNewspaperAssociation
Thursday:Partly cloudy. Highof 55F. Winds from the NW at35 to 40 mph with gusts to 55mph. Thursday Night:Partlycloudy in the evening, thenclear. Low of 32F. Breezy.Winds from the NW at 10 to 30 mph.
Friday:Partly cloudy in the morning,then clear. High of 64F. Winds fromthe SSW at 5 to 10 mph.Friday Night:Overcast in the evening,then partly cloudy. Low of 34F.Winds from the SSW at 5 to 15mph.
Saturday:Partly cloudy. High of79F. Winds from the West at 5to 10 mph shifting to the Southin the afternoon.Saturday Night:Clear. Low of41F. Winds from the East at 5to 10 mph.Sunday:Partly cloudy.High of 70F. Breezy.Winds from the NW at10 to 20 mph.Sunday Night:Mostlycloudy. Low of 37F.Winds from the NNE at 5 to 15 mph.
Get your complete &up-to-the minutelocal forecast:pioneer-review.com
Monday:
Mostly cloudy witha chance of rain. High of55F. Winds from the NNEat 5 to 15 mph. Chance ofrain 20%.
Monday Night:Partly cloudy. Low of 32F.Winds from the ENE at 5 to 10 mph.
“On Sale” is a relative term.Sometimes it represents consider-able savings and sometimes not somuch. Take cottage cheese andsour cream for instance. Locallythey are usually priced at about$4.09 whereas the sale price oftenis maybe only $3.89. Okay, that’stwenty cents off, but only an actualfive-percent reduction. Not exactlya hot deal. Still, twenty cents istwenty cents so you might as welltake advantage of the slight bar-gain if you actually need the stuff.If your refrigerator is already toofull, you can safely delay the pur-chase for later without sufferingmajor financial consequences.On the other hand, products likepaper towels and toilet paper arebest to buy and stock up on whenthey’re sale priced. Paper towelscan be over $13 for a large multi-ple-roll package whereas on salethey may range from $5 or $8. Inother words, they may be half off.Since we go through a ton of papertowels around here, I always buy agoodly supply when they’re cheap.One brand of paper towelswasn’t a good buy, however, accord-ing to wife Corinne. They were anoff-brand variety at a good pricethat I dragged home a month or soago. Corinne said they were aboutas absorbent as tinfoil and not tobuy any more of them despite theirhaving a pretty design. We haveallocated them to uses that don’trequire a lot of absorbency and puta better brand on the kitchen cup-board. I think we have the badones almost used up now, but it’staken a concerted effort.Coffee is another product that isoften a lot cheaper when on sale. good brand currently goes for over$13 a can at standard priceswhereas it can drop to close to $7or $8 on sale. Luckily, we aren’ttied into just one brand since sev-eral are okay. We can take advan-tage of most of the price cuts.All of this brings to mind theconcept of actual worth. If the reg-ular prices and sale prices arevastly different, this might possi-bly indicate that the product isgenerally overpriced. Conversely,if there isn’t much difference,maybe you’re actually getting aproduct that is worth what you’repaying for it.Unfortunately for my mid-sec-tion, ice cream is frequently offeredat reduced prices. One of my fa-vorite brands tends to go on saleabout once a month and severelytests my somewhat-feeble sales re-sistance. They have a chocolate-al-mond that is to die for. Also excel-lent is their “moose-tracks” involv-ing vanilla ice cream with lots of chocolate strips and peanut buttercups. Even their vanilla bean isquite tasty with fresh peaches ormaybe a banana and a touch of chocolate syrup. When these lus-cious dairy delights are on sale,they offer a form of low-cost weightgain although they aren’t un-healthful in other ways.Some sales techniques are a bitconfusing. It is popular nowadaysto offer ten packages of somethingfor $10. Do you really need tenboxes of Hamburger Helper? Thisis more of a gimmick than any-thing since you can usually buyone or two items instead of ten andstill get the sale price. Anothertrend is for stores to say, “Buy one.Get one free.” This may be okay,but I noticed that deal being of-fered on a cut-up chicken thisweek. The only problem was thatthe one you pay for is around $9which is about twice what achicken is worth in the first place.Generally speaking, if a storecuts something up, it costs more.Similarly, if they cook it or make itinstant, it is higher priced. Whenit comes to bacon, though, I oftenbuy the pre-cooked stuff since wedon’t eat a lot of it. What’s more, itis so simple to microwave fourstrips for fifteen seconds ratherthan spend twenty minutes fryingit and dealing with all that grease.My nephew would find this a sillyidea, however, since many of his fa-vorite dishes include bacon greasefor frying or simply as an addition.He fishes and hunts almost con-stantly, and I suspect that venisonand other wild game might indeedbe improved with lashings of bacongrease.So, as usual, one needs to keeptheir wits about them when buyinganything whether it’s on sale ornot. I have noticed that sourcream is this week actually beingoffered at $2.49 which is a gooddeal on that product. I shouldprobably stock up. I make a formof kolache with that which involvesflattening a bit of bread dough,poking a dent in the middle, andbaking it six minutes. Then youadd the sour cream mixed withsome sugar and cinnamon in thedent and on top and bake it somemore. This is just first-rate, and Iactually crave it from time to time.Got to go now. The sale ends today.Don’t want to miss it.
 A pfct “oops”
... by D Bats 
I know a devilish grin was plastered on my face as I packed the snow-ball and watched my buddy’s car creep along the college drive. The wildidea was impossible, but too tempting. His open window, the upcomingslow turn to the left, his bragged athletic ability pitted against my pureluck. The snowball arched high, with an extra long lead. Hey, it mightbe close enough to get his attention. Hey, it might even hit his car. Hey,it might ... No! It went in through the driver’s window and explosivelysplattered his entire dash and windshield!We’ve all had some such perfection that simply cannot be attributedto skill, no matter how often we retell and garnish the story. It’ll neverhappen again; we’ll never forget it; we’ll never stop laughing about it.We’ve heard of, or maybe been, the hunter who drops the buck, thendiscovers that another buck standing behind the first also dropped.How about when you are teaching your kids to play 21, and you get al-most a dozen blackjacks in a row? So much for teaching them odds.Walking along the gravel road, you and your son are taking turns kick-ing a rock. Your powerful kick sends the rock ricochetting off of another,to bounce back and land exactly where it was to begin with. You pre-pare to do the clean up as your very young children learn to crack eggs,and the first few they do perfectly. Only when you are sure they canhandle it does the perfection disappear and all they can do is shattershells and yokes all over the counter top.Once in my college room, my half full glass was on the edge of thedesk. Four or five friends witnessed as I accidentally hit the glass side-ways. Reflexes to the max, I reached out to catch the glass, grabbing itin mid drop and easing it back up in a graceful curve so not one dropwas spilled. A chorus of voices went, “You’ve got to kidding me! That’llnever happen again!” The dismal reality is they were right.She was beautiful, far beyond my wildest dreams. My buddieswatched as I casually increased the conversational banter to get up thenerve to ask her to dance. My nerdiness, clumsiness and pure fearsomehow did not interfere. I was actually walking her to her dormroom. My friends never did hear the story of how I reached up to caressher hair in preparation to steal a good night kiss. The hug was perfect;my hand gently touched the side of her face; our lips slowly drew closer;and my finger got stuck in her hoop earring. The “perfect” story nevergot told until now, and I never saw the gal again.Though gliding at less than a walking pace, the car is out of controlin the icy parking lot. It slowly drifts into an agonizing spin that putsit heading toward the intended parking spot back bumper first. Myhands are useless on the steering wheel, my ears await that expensivesound of metal against metal. Then, somehow, the car inches exactlyinto the waiting spot. It eases to a stop. I get out, careful not to fall,and act like I did it on purpose. One more perfect “oops.”
The Philip Health Services Inc., x-ray deparment has now upgraded to a filmless,computerized radiography system. Shown, from left, are Lori Seager, Kayla Eymer,Lacey Clements and Mindy Green.
Photo by Del Bartels
by D Bats
Philip Health Services, Inc., hasfinished the process of upgradingits x-ray technology and the train-ing of its x-ray personnel.The new computerized radiogra-phy (CR) allows for three viewingstations in the Philip facility, plusinstant transfer to radiologists atRegional Hospital and Dakota Ra-diology in Rapid City. Medicalproviders at PHSI are able to seeimages instantly, zoom in, and ro-tate the images. Connected radiol-ogists are also able to view the CRimages with almost no time gap ordegradation of the images.Kayla Eymer, PHSI radiologymanager, said, “Basically, we arefilmless.” She explained that the x-ray image is now captured on areusable plate that then goes intoa plate reader. After the computerreads the plate image, the image isaccessible on any securely con-nected viewing station. “Before, wehad to develop the film and digitizeit. We also had to wait for radiologystaff to process and deliver imagesto a radiologist. This way it’s in-stant,” said Eymer.PHSI Physician Assistant TerryHenrie said, “The new CR systemis far superior to film. Not only arethe images clearer, we can seethem instantly. Patients get bettercare because we can make treat-ment decisions sooner, especially inemergency situations.”The darkroom is no longerneeded for the developing of x-rayfilm. Processingand and developingchemicals are not needed. The for-mer darkroom now holds the com-puterized screen plate reader.Through secure computer connec-tions, radiologists in Rapid City seeexactly what the medical providerssee in Philip, which they did before,but the images do not have to gothrough as many steps and areclearer.Before, PHSI medical providerscould either put developed x-raysup on a lighted viewing box, remi-niscent of the old Ben Casey andMarcus Welby, M.D. shows on tele-vision, or they could have the de-veloped film digitized onto the com-puter. Reduced steps, and the im-ages not leaving the digitizedrealm, make the new end productfar clearer than before. Eymer saidthat the difference between filmand CR is visible to the naked eye.Radiologists recommended thatPHSI upgrade to the CR system.PHSI continues to balance ever-in-creasing technological developmentwith operating costs. “Radiologytechnology is constantly being im-proved, and we are keeping up withit,” said Kent Olson, chief executiveofficer for PHSI. “We are delightedto be using today’s technology.”“Everything is electronic nowa-days. Today’s technology is simplyreplacing yesterday’s technology;we are always striving for that,”added Olson. According to Olson,the operating costs for the new x-ray system fit into the general op-eration and upgrading of all serv-ices at PHSI. “The incrementalcosts are really negligible,” saidOlson. He pointed out that thereare no longer costs for film or devel-oping chemicals.
Upgrade of x-ray technology
by D Bats
The Midland Community FireProtection District’s annual meet-ing was held Monday, October 1, atthe Midland Fire Hall.Approval was given for the firedistrict to purchase a 1994 Interna-tional truck to replace unit 5, theOttumwa truck.The annual election of directorswas held. The current directors areRandy Nemec –president, SteveDaly –vice president, Kory Bierle – secretary/treasurer, James VanTassel, Sandy Heaton, Dustin Vollmer and Fred Foland.During the meeting, the Van Tas-sel family presented a check inmemory of Walter “Junior” VanTassel.According to Reuban Vollmer, Jr.,the new board discussed this year’smany fires and the ensuing ex-penses. End of the year items,preparing the new truck, any offi-cial training and always beingready for the next fire will keep thevolunteers busy. “We’re going to belooking for a lot of volunteer hoursto put all this together,” said Vollmer. “I’m sure we are no differ-ent than any other fire departmentin the state. Man power and fund-ing are always an issue.”
Midland Fire Protection District
The Midland Community Fire Protection District board was given a check in mem-ory of Walter Van Tassel. Back row, from left, are Sandy Heaton, Jim Van Tassel,Kory Bierle, Steve Daly and Dustin Vollmer. Front: Randy Nemec and Joann VanTassel.
Courtesy photo
Lincoln Smith - NSU royalty
Northern State University, Ab-erdeen, held its Gypsy Days Home-coming Week, October 1-6.Philip High School graduate Lin-coln Smith was a member of theNSU homecoming royalty. He andhis girlfriend, Ella Campbell, wereboth in the top five in the royaltycourt. Coronation was Thursday,October 4, at the NSU Fine ArtsCenterSmith was a starting player onthe Wolves football team. He hasearned honors in football and is a2011 Academic All-American.Campbell is a member of the NSUvolleyball team.
by D Bats
The Philip Fire Protection Dis-trict’s annual meeting was heldTuesday, October 2, at the PhilipFire Hall.Elections moved Jay Baxter fromlast year’s secretary/treasurer tothis year’s board president. RobertMcDaniel is the current vice presi-dent. Marty Hansen is the new sec-retary/treasurer. The other boardmembers are Greg Arthur, ChuckO’Conner, Doug Hauk and BillGottsleben. Their one-year termbegan as of the meeting, October 2.“We welcome anyone, town orcountry, who would want to get onthe board,” said Hansen. “Wewould welcome any input, too, fromanyone who has any suggestions orcomments.”The fire district board discussedthe financial fitness of the Philip Volunteer Fire Department. Ac-cording to Baxter, the situation hasaltered a bit after the attemptedtax ceiling opt-out of the district.Businesses, landowners and otherpeople had donated more and moreoften to aid the fire department.Costs of fighting a particular firehave been more readily aided bylandowners and by communica-tions with the landowners’ insur-ance companies. “That’s a coolthing,” said Baxter.Further board discussion in-cluded possible fundraisers for thedepartment. Baxter stressed thatthe board wants citizens of the areato keep adequate amounts of fireinsurance for their property.“Thank goodness we didn’t havemore fires this year than we did,”said Baxter.“We are not out of the woods yet just because its been cooler,” saidHansen. “I’ll feel a lot better whenthere’s four inches of nice wet snowon the ground.”One of the long term objectives of the PVFD is to continue saving fora new pumper truck, at an approx-imate cost of $180,000. Theplanned replacement of agingequipment is not only part of con-tinuing business of the depart-ment, but also keeps a good Insur-ance Services Office (ISO) ratingfor the department, which affectsthe PVFD insurance coverage andrates.“We are in good shape, untilsomething breaks down, such asthe pumper,” said Hansen. “Theproblem with the pumper is thereare no parts for it in the UnitedStates any where; we’ve looked. Aslong as the pumper doesn’t breakdown ... but you cannot get by with-out a pumper in a town, it justdoesn’t work.”All members of the board encour-age discussion and suggestionsfrom residents. The official meet-ings, held twice a year, are open toeveryone. “That’s one thing thisboard is all about; transparencyand open communications,” saidBaxter. The next meeting will bethe first Tuesday in March 2013.
Philip Fire Protection District
Dear Editor;I would like to comment on anarticle published on the front pageof the Pioneer Review 10/04/12:City seeking solution on railroadsiding versus flooding concerns.In it, Monna Van Lint suggests“that there is a large, though some-what silent, group that is worriedabout damages from any futureflooding.”First of all, Mrs. Van Lint shouldat least define “large,” otherwise itcould be misconstrued to be a gen-eralized assumption. Secondly, if there are people who are con-cerned, they need to speak up.Even though I don’t live in thearea the article describes and haveno vested interest in this specificissue, I think it’s ludicrous thatthere are people whom it does af-fect that aren’t willing to voicetheir opinion.A democracy operates on thebasis of defining problems and col-lectively working towards a solu-tion. Why would a public meetingto talk specifically about this issuebe necessary when there aremonthly Philip City Council meet-ings with the railroad trestle al-ready on the agenda? And, if thegroup that has concerns is so large,how come I don’t read about the
Letter to the Editor
standing-room-only attendance?I suggest using meeting times al-ready in place for residents to voicetheir concerns and ask their ques-tion. If no one voices concerns orasks questions before this and anyproject begins, they should notcomplain about the results of thisor any project. This can also holdtrue to the upcoming election:make your opinion known when itcounts and make it less knownwhere it doesn’t count.And, Dad, thanks for buildingyour house on a hill.Sincerely,Marcy M. MorrisonRapid City, SD
 
1st Annvsay of th SDSUextnson r-oganzaton
 
We’re closing in on a year sincethe re-organization of the SDSUExtension Service, in which thecounty Extension educator posi-tions were eliminated. Four-H ad-visors took over the youth programat the county level, and eight re-gional Extension centers becamethe home base for Extension fieldspecialists covering a wide varietyof topic areas.This transition has yielded bothprogress and pains. We encourageyou to continue to rely on SDSUExtension for unbiased, research-based information. If we can help,contact the Winner Regional Ex-tension Center at 605-842-1267.Testing for SoybeanCyst NematodeSoybean cyst nematode is themost damaging pest of soybean inNorth America. While not yetfound in all soybean-producingareas, soybean cyst nematodes arehardy and will survive anywheresoybeans are produced in SouthDakota as well as North Dakotaand northern Minnesota. Thisnematode often reduces averageyields by as much as 50 percent ormore.Soybean cyst nematodes havebeen found in at least 20 countiesin eastern South Dakota andthroughout Minnesota and Iowa aswell as many other states. Thenematode is a small, plant-para-site round worm that feeds in theroots of soybeans. Most nematodesare too small to be seen with thenaked eye.The first and most importantstep in management of SCN isidentification. Soil sampling is ameans of determining both thepresence of the nematode as wellas its population levels. Fall sam-pling allows adequate time to em-ploy nematode management tech-niques for the following season,but sampling at any time can beuseful.The SDSU Plant DiagnosticClinic offers soybean cyst nema-tode testing free of charge forSouth Dakota growers, funded bythe South Dakota Soybean Re-search and promotion council. Soilsample information sheets andsample bags can be picked up atthe SDSU Plant Diagnostic Clinic.Copies may be made of the infor-mation sheet, which can be down-loaded from: http://www.sdstate.edu/ps/plant-clinic/upload/SCN-Soil-Sampling-Info-Sheet.pdf.Mailing information can be foundon the information sheet.For more information on SCNyou can go to http://www.planthealth.info for an updated “Soy-bean Cyst Nematode ManagementGuide.” The guide is provided bythe North Central Soybean Re-search Program and the Coopera-tive Extension Service. You canalso access fact sheet 902-A, “Soy-bean Cyst Nematode” at: http://pubstorage.sdstate.edu/AgBio_Publications/articles/FS902A.pdf.Good candidates for testing aresoybean fields that have had de-clining yields, stunted plants,plants that are slow to canopy, be-come yellow in July or August, andshow reduced vigor or mature ear-lier than normal.Sample fields at a depth of zeroto six inches with a soil probe,spade or vehicle mounted probe.Key areas in fields to sample arefence rows where blowing soil maycollect, areas with a history of flooding, field entry points, andlow yielding areas. Sampling cancontinue until freeze up with handequipment, and all winter with hy-draulic probes. Collect 15-20 sam-ples per site, mix thoroughly andsubmit as soon as possible, but donot use heat to dry or grind.
Canda
11/27-28: Ag Horizons Confer-ence, Pierre
ExtensionNews
by Bob FanningField Specialist, WinnerRegional Extension Center
 Jones’ 
 Saddlery, Bottle & Vet Locally owned & operated 859-2482 • Philip 
FLY CONTROL 
 –Dust Bags –Sprays –Pour ons –Golden Malrin Fly Bait
SunbodyStrawHats
Rural Living
Thursday, October 18, 2012 • The Pioneer Review •
Page 3
PHiliP AreA AArP/rTA 
will meet Monday, October 29, at 6:00in the Senior Center with a soup supper, speaker and annual meet-ing. Anyone is invited to attend.
CBC HAllOWeeN PArTY …
Free to the community … Wednes-day, Oct. 24, senior citizen’s center, Philip. Potluck, 6:15 p.m. withdrinks and utensils provided. Prizes for costumes. Please bring twocans of food for food bank and white elephant gift in brown paperbag with no names. Everyone welcome! For more info., call DarleneMatt at 859-2077.
To hav you NON-PrOFiT mtng std h, pas sub-mt thm by cang: 859-2516, o -mang to: ads@pon-vw. com. W w un you vnt notc th twossuspotoyouvntat no chag.
PUBLIC MEETING
DAKOTA MILL & GRAIN EXPANSION /CANADIAN PACIFIC RAILROADCity of Philip, SD
The residents of Philip, SD, are invited to attend a publicmeeting with representatives from Dakota Mill & Grain andCanadian Pacific Railroad on
Tuesday, October 23rd
at5:30 p.m. in the Community Room of the Haakon CountyCourthouse.Dakota Mill & Grain’s expansion plans and the railroadtrestle bridge will be reviewed.
 
Bad River Sportsman’s Club 
West River CoyoteCalling Contest
One Day Event 
 — Saturday — October 27th
Sign-up Deadline:
Friday, Oct. 26, 7:00 p.m. at the73 Bar in Philip; Calcutta to follow
$40 entry fee
per two-person team
Pays 3 Places
on 1-12 teams; 4 places on 13-24 teams;5 places on 25 & over
Saturday Deadline:
7:30 p.m. SHARP! Bring yourcritters to the 73 Bar’s Back Door by 7:30 p.m. onSaturday, October 30th
For more information,
contact Jerry Ellens:605/859-2173
73— SALOON
859-2173 • DOWNTOWN PHILIP
 
First NationalBank in Philip
859-2525 • Philip, SD
Since 1906www.fnbphilip.com
Member FDIC
Tired of high interest rate monthly creditcard bills? SEE US NOW … TODAY!A LOW, LOW rate of interestwith a repayable scheduleCUSTOM DESIGNED for YOUR needs.
Greetings from sunny, beautiful,still dry northeast Haakon County!Yesterday was a perfect fall day,and today is starting out to be gor-geous as well. The leaves on theelm trees have turned to gold, andthe slight breeze is helping themfall to the ground. The weathermansays we can expect very high windsfor the next couple of days, so I ex-pect the leaves will be flying! I hopeyou are enjoying the beautiful col-ors while they last! The burr oaktree in my backyard is absolutelycrimson this year –it seems thatdry years make the colors more in-tense than ever. And, while I'm on the subject of wildlife, I might mention that wenow have antelope in the areaagain. There haven't been any herefor several years, but this summerthere have been three head of an-telope wandering the fields. On myway to the mailbox the other day,there was a group of seven ante-lope! They just stood and stared atme –they weren't scared a bit. Ihope they were just passingthrough. And when I drove into theyard the other night, there was aporcupine heading south across theroad right in front of our house.Plus there have been some geesestarting their annual flight south,as well as several large flocks of blackbirds. It is like wild kingdomaround here!One more bit of good news –it isonly 21 days until the election! Al-though I do get tired of political adsand rhetoric, it is an importantevent. I hope you will all take timeto vote!While this beautiful weather iswonderful, it made it difficult toreach my neighbors for news. Theyare either outside doing fall chores,or possibly they are traveling.Whatever the case, the news is abit short this week. I have threat-ened to start making things up if they don't return my calls, but Ihaven't resorted to that at leastnot yet.Duane and Lola Roseth attendeda fish fry at the home of Boyd andJeanie Waara Saturday night.Duane and a group of his friends gofishing in Canada each fall, andthey share their catch with friendsat an annual fish fry. Duane andLola's grandson, Royce, attendedthe fish fry also with his parents,Thor and Jackie Roseth –Roycewas one of the stars of the show.What a handsome young man!Nels and Dorothy Paulson havebeen busy taking care of fall chores,including digging the potatoes andputting the garden to bed for thewinter. Saturday, a friend fromPierre was out to help Nels fix atractor. The good news is the trac-tor is fixed –the bad news was thatby the time the repair work wasdone, it was too late to attend thethird annual Hayes picnic, darn it.Billy and Arlyne Markwed werein Philip Tuesday to help with thecattle sale. Friday, they went toDeadwood and met Arlyne'sbrother, Ronnie, and wife Emily of Midland, her sister, JoAnn, SiouxFalls, and aunts and uncles fromGillette, Wyo., and Virginia. Thegroup had a great visit.
Deep Creek Church ham and lutefisk supper and bazaar Saturday, October 27th, 5:30 - 7:30 p.m. CT 
Friday night, Billy and Arlynewent to Spearfish and spent thenight with their daughter, Cindy,and her husband, Bruce Bresee.I'm glad to report that Bruce isdoing well following his recenthealth scare. Billy and Arlyne re-turned home Saturday. They at-tended church Sunday, and Sundayevening neighbor and friend, SteveMcDaniel, stopped by for card play-ing and supper.Monday, Lee Briggs was a visitorat the Markwed place. It soundslike the carpenters are makingprogess on the cabin that is beingbuilt in Billy and Arlyne's yard. Itwill be fun to see the finished proj-ect!Bill and Polly Bruce had a visitWednesday from Hazel Rathbunand Mildred (Redden) Clark. Hazeland Mildred both lived in the areawhen they were growing up and at-tended country schools. Accordingto Hazel, her twin sister, Hattie,has good days and bad days, andshe resides in a nursing home inPierre.Thursday, Bill and Polly were inPierre to keep dental appoint-ments, and they came home with anew clothes dryer to replace the oldone. Polly said the new one worksgreat!Friday, Bill and Polly's daughter-in-law, Katie, went to Pierre to staywith her niece, Allison, while Alli-son's parents (Andy and Carla)headed for a weekend in the BlackHills. Bill and Polly attended theHayes community picnic Saturdayevening, then went on to Midlandto attend church. Katie and Vincealso attended the Hayes gathering.Frank and Shirley Halligan werein Philip last week to watch theirgrandsons, J.J. and Jerin, competein the regional cross country meetheld at the Philip golf course. Sun-day, they attended the WillowCreek dinner held at the VarmintHunters building. It was a potluckmeal, and Shirley said there was agood crowd.Max and Joyce Jones spent lastweek Tuesday through Sunday inPierre at Grand Chapter of EasternStar. Joyce said it is always won-derful to see all the friends theyhave made through the years.Monday, Max and Joyce were inPierre to keep doctor's appoint-ments. When they stopped for mid-morning brunch at a local restau-rant, they had the opportunity tohave a good visit with friends Mar-vin and Marj Olson.Kevin and Mary Neuhauser at-tended the football game in PierreFriday evening. Saturday, Kevinwas among the local group of Ma-sons who cleaned ditches west of Ft. Pierre. Both Mary and Kevinreturned to the ranch Saturday.Their daughter, Brianna, spent theweek in Chicago, attending train-ing for her job as an auditor withthe State of South Dakota. Kevintold me that his sister, Nina, hadan accident as she was preparing toleave for their extended visit inItaly. The evening before they left,she had the misfortune of falling,resulting in stitches in her headand a chipped bone in her hand.Luckily, she was able to get it alltaken care of in time to catch theflight for Italy, but it is kind of atough way to start a vacation! Hopethings are healing well for her.Marge Briggs is continuing to geta few late season veggies out of hergarden. There are lots of skunksand coons at their house, compet-ing with the cats for the cat food.Ray Neuhauser spent last weekbusy with his card playing groups,and Nancy was busy with activitiesat the senior center. Sunday, theyattended the Willow Creek gather-ing at the Varmint Hunters. Nancyis now busy entertaining the flu – hope she feels better soon.Lee Briggs has been busy har-vesting crops and planting wheatfor next year's crop. It will be niceto have things buttoned up for theseason.Our week here at the ranch wasa little calmer now that the elkhunting here is done for 2012. ToddMortenson and the young couplethat work for him were lunchguests Thursday. Saturday, Randyand I were among those enjoyingthe fish fry at Boyd and JeanieWaara's home near Philip –greatfood and great people. Sunday, EdBriggs and his friend, Beth,stopped by for a brief visit, as didKevin Neuhauser.This week I am grateful for com-munities. This past weekend, theHayes community had a potluckgathering, and so did the WillowCreek community. And the fish fryat Waara's was also sort of a com-munity event. In our sparsely pop-ulated area, "communities" cantake in lots of square miles, but thefriendship and fellowship can't bebeat! You know that if you needhelp, members of the communityare going to step up and do what-ever needs done, and that is so im-portant. Another upcoming communityevent will be the Deep Creekbazaar scheduled for later thismonth –another opportunity to seefriends and neighbors!Go out and make this a wonder-ful week. Please continue to prayfor rain, and be sure to be safe asyou go about your fall work.
Moenville News
 by Leanne Neuhauser • 567-3325

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->