Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Save to My Library
Look up keyword or section
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
KIT January 1998, Vol X #1 New 1-11-98

KIT January 1998, Vol X #1 New 1-11-98

Ratings: (0)|Views: 15 |Likes:
Published by KITexBruderhofCCI
Wishing all KITfolk and friends a Very Happy 1998! May it bring a tidal wave of understanding -- and a lessening of paranoia -- across the entire planet! Also, many many thanks for all the contributions and subscriptions -- please keep them coming in!
Wishing all KITfolk and friends a Very Happy 1998! May it bring a tidal wave of understanding -- and a lessening of paranoia -- across the entire planet! Also, many many thanks for all the contributions and subscriptions -- please keep them coming in!

More info:

Published by: KITexBruderhofCCI on Nov 03, 2012
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

11/03/2012

pdf

text

original

 
 
The KIT Newsletter, an Activity of the KIT Information Service, a Project of ThePeregrine Foundation
 · P.O. Box 460141 · San Francisco, CA 94146-0141 · telephone: (415) 821-2090 ·FAX (415) 282-2369 · http://www.matisse.net/~peregrin/KIT Staff U.S.: Ramón Sender, Charles Lamar, Vince Lagano, Dave Ostrom, Brother Witless (in an advisory capacity)EuroKIT: Joy Johnson MacDonald, Susan Johnson Suleski, Carol Beels Beck,Elizabeth Bohlken-Zumpe, Ben Cavanna, Leonard Pavitt, Joan Pavitt Taylor 
The KIT Newsletter is an open forum for fact and opinion. It encourages the expression of all views, both from inside and from outside the Bruderhof. We reserve the right to edit submissions accordingto guidelines discussed at numerous KIT conferences. Obviously, it's seldom easy to know exactlyhow best to carry out KIT's mission of allowing many voices and various points of view to be heard.We do not, and cannot, vouch for the validity of any opinion or assertion appearing in the KIT Newsletter. The opinions expressed in the letters that we publish must remain those of thecorrespondents and do not necessarily reflect those of KIT editors or staff.Yearly subscription rates (11 issues): $25 USA; $30 Canada; $35 International mailed f/ USA; £20mailed f/ EuroKIT to UK & Europe
 
KEEP IN TOUCH
 Wishing all KITfolk and friends a Very Happy 1998! May it bring a tidal wave of understanding -- and a lessening of paranoia -- across the entire planet! Also, manymany thanks for all the contributions and subscriptions -- please keep them coming in!
The Whole Kit And CaboodleToll-Free Phone for former Bruderhofers in need of advice and referrals: 1 888 6KINDER -------- Table of Contents --------Stanley Vowles to J. Christoph ArnoldRamon SenderJohann Christoph Arnold to KITErna and Werner FriedemannMelchior Fros to J. Christoph ArnoldName WithheldGlen Greenwood
 
Page 1 of 42former Bruderhof members/residents KIT Newsletter January 1998 Volume X #127/10/2007http://www.perefound.org/KIT1_98.html
 
Melchior Fros (posted on the Hummer)Hilarion BraunHilarion Braun (to Woodcrest)Hilarion Braun (Mexico Trip)Looking Back Name Withheld
The Daily Mail 
ITEM: Letter to
The Hartford Courant 
Name WithheldBarnabas JohnsonBlair PurcellPaulo AllainHannah Goodwin Johnson - 'Psyche'Melchior Fros - 'Maria'Ruth Baer Lambach - 'Pomona'Josh MaendelRenatus Kluver, 11/30/97Renatus Kluver, 12/5/97
-
Renatus Kluver, 12/23/97
-
Name Withheld - 'A Jaguar Story'Chris Zimmerman - Book ReviewMonika and Balz Trumpi
celebrated their 60th Wedding Anniversary on the 31st of December! Congratulations! You are setting quite a pace for the rest of the marriedfolks! Now let's aim for the 70th
ITEM:
The EuroKIT as previously planned will not be able to go ahead due toRookwood School's unavailability.
Erratum:
In the November issue's letter from Stanley Vowles (see p. 8.) his sentencestarting in paragraph 2, line 3, should read: "While I do not agree with all that I read inKIT -- how could it be otherwise? -- there is enough confirmation in it from diversesources as to there being a considerable modicum of trouble truth contained therein..."
Hans-Joerg Meier
has written to say how very moved he is by all the love andsupport shown to him by so many. He has started chemotherapy. Contact KIT if youcan contribute to the medical costs. Lucrezia reports that he is happy with all the mailand messages from old friends from the past.
click here to return to Table of Contents
 
Stanley Vowles,
to Johann Christoph Arnold, 11/25/97: Dear Johann Christoph, itwould appear you have expressed some sort of forgiveness for Ramon Sender andmaybe others. Now what does this consist of? Are these empty words? Or some actionthat goes right to the heart of the matter? For example, the withdrawal unconditionallyof the suit brought against him. I can think for you this will be very difficult, implyingas it does a measure of humility of which, on the present showing and historically, you
 
Page 2 of 42former Bruderhof members/residents KIT Newsletter January 1998 Volume X #127/10/2007http://www.perefound.org/KIT1_98.html
 
do not appear to have a very great measure. Now, this is no sort of accusation but, as we are admonished to do, to speak words of reproval to your brother in love and compassion, in the hope that he will hear and actaccordingly. You have quite an opportunity and responsibility to give a lead to thosewho seem to think that they are doing no wrong in bringing lawsuits and restrictionson those who only wish and long for the best for the Church.What can courts of law know about the practice of love? Very little, if anything. If they show evidence of it, that is incidental and almost accidental, seeing how courtsare constituted, based on law, on 'yes' and 'no,' and restrictions of one sort and another,with confrontational and controversial attitudes at their center.This may be more or less alright for those merely wanting to score points and 'win'debates. It is no good for those who claim their lives and activities are based on love,on that overworked, marginalized and denigrated quality which is only partiallyunderstood by so many, yet by its very emphasis, showing how everyone recognisessome of its aspects.This begs the question: "Well, do I understand all of its implications?" Of course not. No one individual can. Yet I comprehend enough to know, see and have experiencedthat to prevent, threaten or otherwise debar those who would seriously wish and longto sit down with you, and maybe others, and discuss outstanding questions in anatmosphere of sharing, is an aspect of love which, up until now, has not been affordedto those who long to avail themselves of it.So who am I to comment on these things? Ah, no one, yet I did spend fifteen years inthe communities and I can modestly claim to have some understanding of how loveworks. Certainly not along the lines that you and others, up to now, practice. This ison the evidence.Alright, so Ramon and others, according to you, may not have acted rightly on someissues. Do you not see the possibility for this could well arise from exasperation,restriction as to what they wish in all honesty and rightness to do, or from an inherenthuman weakness that we are all subject to? However, for the strong it is incumbentupon them to help and uplift the weak. We are all so constituted that we have strengthsand weaknesses. As it was claimed at times, "We all sit on the same bench." Is it notsaid there is joy in heaven for every sinner that repents? That he who is without sincast the first stone? What happened? All the accusers quietly dispersed. So are we notall in the same boat? I look forward to hearing the good news that all who can, areable and want to, resolve the present and past divisions and difficulties in a mutuallyforgiving, practical atmosphere.
click here to return to Table of Contents
 
Ramon Sender,
12/19/97: Judy and I went to New York on Dec 17 for the depositionthat I was scheduled to give on the Bruderhof's copyright lawsuit. Stephen J. Obie
 
Page 3 of 42former Bruderhof members/residents KIT Newsletter January 1998 Volume X #127/10/2007http://www.perefound.org/KIT1_98.html

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->