Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
issue 88 february 2009 part 4

issue 88 february 2009 part 4

Ratings: (0)|Views: 94|Likes:
Published by Storm Gerome

More info:

Published by: Storm Gerome on Jan 30, 2009
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





Page 31 Maungaturoto Matters
Page 32 Maungaturoto Matters
CONTACT: Terry Phone Bus: 431 8545 After Hours: 431 8547
Page 33 Maungaturoto Matters
I hope every body has had a good Christmas and we look forward to a great New Year. The weekend of the 22
 November was the Centre Junior Pairs with three teams from the club taking part. Naira and Helen in the women’s section acquitted themselves very well only missing qualifying for the sec-ond day by one game. Only two teams actually qualified. In the men’s section Rex and Irwin had one win but it was over the eventual winners who beat our other team of Terry McMahon and Kevin Flower. Early December saw the completion of the women’s handicap pairs and championship pairs events. The handicap pairs were won by Margaret Powell and Pauline McMurchy and the championship event was won on the final bowl by Naira and Pauline from Margaret and Helen. On the same day that the women finished their pairs the three first- year men did battle with Irwin Van Pelt com-ing out the winner with two lives from Kevin Brljevich. Thursday 18
 December the McCallum Xmas 4s and second leg of the Big Double were played with 34 teams from 15 clubs taking part. Winners of the McCallum 4s: Alan and Carol Stebben, Willie Wintle and Shirley DeVries, 2
 Ken Westlake, Warren Seque, Dave Stevens and Rae Peters, 3
 Ian McMurchy, Jim Taylor, Artie Marsh and Bruce Clarkson. Winners of the Big Double of the Heatley Memorial and McCallum 4s and recipients of the $1200 worth of House of Travel travel vouchers were John Dunn, Bruce Horscroft, Bill Burgess and Roger Kerr-Davis who were the only winners of eight games over the two tournaments Saturday the 20
 the Men’s Junior pairs were completed with Irwin Van Pelt and Ray Hynes prevailing over John Saunders and John Hammond. Also during the weekend 20
 Kevin Robinson, Ron McCallum, Ken Westlake and Paul Yovich played in the Whangarei Classic coming second to John Dunns team. The same weekend Rex Road-ley, Naira Vaney and Helen Nevill won the Maungatapere 1-5 year tournament for the second year in a row. The other Maunga-turoto team of Terry McMahon, Kevin and Marylin Flower were second. The first two weeks of January saw the Na-tional Championships played in Auckland. Kevin Robinson and Ron McCallum played in the pairs and singles events and Ken Westlake in the pairs. Kevin qualified for post section play in the singles.
Congratulations go to Sue Wightman from Mangawhai who won the women’s singles.
Back to Maungaturoto club, the men’s sin-gles title was decided on the weekend 10
 January. Three players were left af-ter the first day. Dave Orford one life, Kevin Robinson and Terry McMahon two lives. It took four games to sort it out with Kevin prevailing over Terry in the final. The next weekend at the Northland centre singles Kevin was beaten in the semi final by Wayne Wrack by one shot 21-20. The FUN BOWLS day held on Sat 17
 was a great success with 40 odd people taking part, nearly half of whom had never tried the game before, all enjoying themselves and vowing to try again. Thanks to our sponsors Greanlea Meats, Elders (Alan Swindlehurst), Kaipara Plumbing, Maungaturoto Auto Paint-ers, Robin Dickens, BNZ, RD1, PGG Wright-sons, BJs Bakery & Café, Garnetts Tyres. Twilight bowls will be on every Friday eve-ning through February & March till the end of daylight saving. Come along as a team of three or individually and we will make you welcome and fit you in.

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->