Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Centennial Review Jan 2013

Centennial Review Jan 2013

Ratings: (0)|Views: 659|Likes:
Centennial Review Jan 2013
Centennial Review Jan 2013

More info:

Published by: Colorado Christian University on Dec 19, 2012
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

12/19/2012

pdf

text

original

 
 TIME TO UNLOCK THEGATES AT UNCLE SAM’SPLANTATION
By Star Parker
 As a young woman, I was on welfare. But aftera Christian conversion,I completed collegeand started a business. After the 1992 Los Angeles riots, I worked on welfarereform until 1996. I then founded the Center for UrbanRenewal and Education.CURE is a public policy think tank thatpromotes market-based solutions to
ght poverty. It grew from my rsthand
knowledge of how the political promisesof entitlements within our minority communities causedgenerations to become pathologically dependent oncentralized planning and government programs.
CURE ghts in Washington, D.C., to restore our founding 
principles of traditional values, limited government, freemarkets, and national allegiance.
Traditional values:
Because choice loses meaning whenit doesn’t matter what you choose.
Limited government:
Because the role of governmentis to protect private property and personal pursuits, notexploit them or plunder them.
Free markets:
Because prot is not only moral andgood, but without prot there is no capital to invest in
economic growth and create jobs.
National allegiance and a strong defense:
Becausemy life story embodies American exceptionalism—theidea that here, anyone from any ethnicity or backgroundcan set a course to excel and realize their dream.Unfortunately, it took an economic collapse to get MainStreet America to focus on the state of affairs in ourcountry. I cheered when a Tea Party movement arose inour country in 2009 to talk about socialism, because I had
Editor, John AndrewsPrincipled Ideas from the Centennial Institute
Volume 5, Number 1 • January 2013
Publisher, William L. Armstrong
Jay W. Richards
is a fellow at the Discovery Institute.
James Robison
is host ofthe
Life Today 
television program and president of Life Outreach International.
They are the co-authors of
Indivisible: Restoring Faith, Family, and Freedom Before It’s Too Late 
. This essay is adapted from their presentation at the WesternConservative Summit in Denver on June 30, 2012.
Star Parker,
founder and president of CURE, is one of the leading black
conservative voices in America today. This essay is adapted from her speech atthe Western Conservative Summit in Denver on July 1, 2012.
Centennial Institute
sponsors research, events, and publications to enhancepublic understanding of the most important issues facing our state and nation.
By proclaiming Truth, we aim to foster faith, family, and freedom, teach citizen-
ship, and renew the spirit of 1776.
Remember ourfounding principles.
 WHY THE SOCIAL ANDECONOMIC ISSUES ARE INDIVISIBLE
By Jay W. Richards and James Robison
Remember when we were told that thelast year’s presidentialrace would be beabout economic issuesalone? Yet moral andsocial issues becameas much a part of thecontest as unemployment and tax rates. The Health and Human Services mandate that religiousorganizations fund insurance forcontraceptives, sterilization, and abortion-inducing drugs raised both the abortionissue and religious freedom. And PresidentObama himself ignited the debate over marriage.In our book,
Indivisible 
, we had predicted as much. But socialconservatives don’t always make arguments that appeal tothose who may disagree with their theological views.So rather than giving secular libertarians the stiff-arm, wethink faith-based social conservatives ought to do moreto persuade libertarians that
their own convictions 
should leadthem to embrace the pro-life and pro-marriage views.It’s simplistic to assume that economic issues aren’t moral
issues. No one really believes that. What economic policy allows the most wealth to be created? What policies best
help the poor? Should the federal government spend more
Continued on Page 2 Continued on Page 3
 
Centennial Review, January 2013 ▪ 2
Socialism gripsour inner cities.
 The Abandoned Blueprint
Underlying America’s economic crisis is the fact that weare no longer putting up the building according to itsblueprints. Our nation was designed to be a free nationunder God, but we have lost our way.
 We have been increasingly worshipping Washington, D.C.,
rather than our Creator, and we now are paying the price. Those parts of American life that have remained relatively untouched by government are doing great. The problem lies in where we have let government takeover our lives. The federal government now takes 25percent of the American economy. The combination of control, debt, enslavement to government, and brokenfamilies is no formula for a great country.Conservative reforms are needed by blacksand Hispanics more than anyone. They need to get their children out of the brokenpublic schools where they are trapped. They need to build wealth by funding a private retirement account insteadof paying payroll taxes. And they need the higher-quality,lower-cost health care that can only be provided throughmarkets.But right now they only hear from liberals. Their childrenare indoctrinated with left-wing lies in government-controlled schools, and the adults get their news fromliberal-controlled media outlets. Conservatives who careabout the future of this great nation that we are losing need to start making the investments it will take to getthe truth about freedom into these minority communities where it’s needed most.
Scan this code with your smartphone to read this and previous issues online.
CENTENNIAL REVIEW
is published monthly by the Centennial Institute at Colorado Christian University. The authors’ views are not necessarily
those of CCU. Designer, Danielle Hull. Illustrator, Benjamin Hummel. Subscriptions free upon request. Write to: Centennial Institute, 8787 W.
Alameda Ave., Lakewood, CO 80226. Call 800.44.FAITH. Or visit us online at www.CentennialCCU.org.
Please join the Centennial Institute today.
As a Centennial donor, you can help us restore America’s moral core and preparetomorrow’s leaders. Your gift is tax-deductible. Please use the envelope provided. Thank you for your support.- John Andrews, Director
talked about American socialism years ago in my book,
Uncle Sam’s Plantation 
. The book tells the story of what I saw while living insidethe welfare state and my transformation out of it. It pointsout that socialism is a reality in every inner city of America,and has been since the Great Society experiment of the1960s. It describes the vast sea of government programsthat falsely promised to lift blacks out of poverty. Tragically, instead of solving the economic problemsof blacks created by a history of slavery and Jim Crow,government programs created monstrous moral problems. The legacy of American socialism is our blighted innercities, dysfunctional government-run schools, and brokenblack families.
Parties Change, Washington Doesn’t
 After the success of welfare reform in 1996,I thought we were on the road to movesocialism out of our poor black communities and replaceit with wealth-producing American capitalism. So I beganpromoting school choice and personal retirement accountsto help break the cycle of generational poverty.But incredibly, by 2001, we began going in the oppositedirection. Even after power switched political parties,
control stayed in Washington. Government expanded in
many areas, but the biggest affront to me was the so-calledfaith-based initiative. I regard this as nothing more than agovernment spending plan to put America’s churches on welfare.Parties then switched again—and by 2009, instead of poor America on socialism becoming more like rich America oncapitalism, rich America on capitalism became more likepoor America on socialism. Major industries were eitherbeing bailed out or gobbled up by government.
 Today, many Americans are nally realizing that thepolitical elite in Washington has contributed greatly to the
social and economic chaos in our country. Uncle Sam’splantation didn’t work for blacks, and it won’t work for ourmiddle class. In just 50 years, blacks went from 70 percentof children being raised by married parents to 70 percentof children being raised by a single parent today. In just30 years, the United States as a whole has gone from 18percent of births occurring outside of marriage to out-of-marriage births standing at 40 percent today.
 Parker 
 
Uncle Sam’s Plantation 
 
Continued 
 
Centennial Review, January 2013 ▪ 3
Edmund Burke,meet Ayn Rand.
than it takes in? How much should the government takein taxes? Should we redistribute income from richer topoorer Americans? These and a thousand other questionsare profoundly moral. The supposedly sharp distinction between social
conservatives and scal conservatives or libertarians isarticial. Though intellectuals and the media set it up as a
straw man, politicians and the public recognize substantialoverlap between the two viewpoints. There is a common-sense awareness that the libertarian
or scal-conservative commitment to free markets and
limited government is best preserved withina broader social-conservative context that values life, marriage, and religious liberty.In
Indivisible 
, we spell out 10 basic principlesthat ground this practical conservativefusionism (as the late Frank Meyer called it). And we explain why these principles ought to appeal to the “everymanlibertarian” who values limited government, individualrights, and free markets but is not otherwise committed todoctrinaire libertarianism.For a brief illustration of these principles, let’s apply them
to the two issues that stir the most conict between secular
libertarians and faith-based conservatives: abortion and
the denition of marriage.
Love Freedom? Then Defend Life
Pro-choice libertarians argue that limited governmentshouldn’t legislate what happens in the uterus of a woman.
 While this sounds supercially plausible, they are striking 
at the foundation of their own beliefs, since the case foreconomic freedom is also a moral one.“Free trade,” wrote Edmund Burke, “is not based on
utility but on justice.” While you might expect Burke, as
a Christian, to say something like that, consider also thepro-choice atheist Ayn Rand. “Man—every man—is anend in himself,” she insisted, “not the means to the endsof others.” The moral case for economic freedom is invariably rootedin the idea that every human being, whatever his or herrace, age, or social status, has inherent dignity. Even at theRandian extreme, the notion persists, though hanging inmid-air, that a human being is valuable and should be freebecause of what he or she is apart from whether he or sheis useful to anyone else. (Rand maintained her own pro-choice stance only by denying, implausibly, the humanity of the unborn.) The intrinsic value of the individual is the foundation of the pro-life position, too. It is why pro-lifers argue thatthe government should protect the life of the unborn,
Richards and Robison 
 
Social and Economic Issues Indivisible 
 
Continued 
the elderly, and the inrm, and should prohibit scientic
procedures that destroy human embryos. “Human lifecannot be measured,” said Pennsylvania Gov. Robert
Casey in a 1995 speech at Notre Dame. “It is the measure
itself. The value of everything else is weighed against it.Most libertarians support a
limited 
government, not anabsence of government. The central role of governmentis to maintain the conditions in which individual initiative,personal freedoms, and private property are protectedunder the rule of law. This necessarily excludes “freedom”of some to violate the basic rights of others.Protecting innocent, pre-born, human life,then, is not only consistent with economicfreedom; as Congressman Ron Paul hasinsisted, it is one of the prerequisites of freedom. That is why libertarians committedto freedom should be pro-life.
Love Limited Government? Then Defend Marriage
It’s less obvious, however, why those who believe in limitedgovernment should also believe that the governmentshould favor conjugal marriage. Shouldn’t the state get outof the marriage business altogether and just treat us all asindividuals? If two men want to get “married,” we’re told, where does Big Brother get off telling them they can’t? The problem with this line of reasoning is that it ignores what marriage
is 
. Marriage is a public institution with
public consequences. We’re having this debate because
marriage is about public recognition and approval, notprivate feelings and vows. “Including homosexuals withinmarriage,” observes Andrew Sullivan, a supporter of same-sex marriage, “would be a means of conferring thehighest form of social approval imaginable.”
Politics Can’t Repeal Reality
Ironically, however, redening marriage would strike at the
foundation of individual rights. As individuals, we get ourrights from God. Our government doesn’t bestow them onus. A just and limited state simply acknowledges and protectsthe rights that already exist. A government attempting to
redene reality itself, as the Orwellian governments of the
20
th
century did, would become virtually unlimited and, assuch, not a protector of individuals but a threat to them.Marriage, like the individual, is a
 pre-political reality 
. Ittranscends every political system. Even cultures thathave taken homosexual acts in stride, such as the ancientGreeks, still knew that marriage was for a man and woman. The question is not what people would like to do, but whatmarriage is. Because only a man and woman can mate,marriage always has a special relationship to bearing andraising children.

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->