Welcome to Scribd. Sign in or start your free trial to enjoy unlimited e-books, audiobooks & documents.Find out more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Pioneer Review, December 27, 2012

Pioneer Review, December 27, 2012

Ratings: (0)|Views: 79|Likes:
Published by surfnewmedia

More info:

Published by: surfnewmedia on Dec 27, 2012
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

02/07/2013

pdf

text

original

 
P
ioneer 
eview 
$
1
00
Includes Tax
A Publication of Ravellette Publications, Inc., Philip, South Dakota 57567. The Official Newspaper of Haakon County, South Dakota. Copyright 1981.
Number 18Volume 107December 27, 2012
Market Report
Winter Wheat, 12 Pro...........$7.86Any Pro.............................$7.06Spring Wheat, 14 Pro...........$8.02Corn.......................................$6.62Sunflower Seeds................$21.50
Christmasaround thecommunities
 throughout this issue
Sports
9
Financeclasses
10

 
  
 
  
  
 
 
 

by Del Bartels
“I’m going to miss this, too, I’msure,” said Lester “Les” Pearsonabout his retirement from beingthe site manager at Dakota Milland Grain, Philip, after 42 years.Pearson is retiring now because,“I’m spry and healthy. There’sthings I want to do while I’mhealthy; hoping I got the time to dowhat I can.” His time will be filledwith his nine grandchildren, hunt-ing, riding horse, and “that kind of stuff.”Pearson first started at what wasthen Tri-State Milling “just to helpthem out. The guys wanted to takeoff some for Christmas vacation,”said Pearson. Those guys weremanager Ed Hansen and mill-worker Barney Pfeifer. After fourmonths on the job, Pearson wasdrafted into the United States Army, where he spent the next twoyears doing special services. Uponreturning to Philip, he continuedhis job, but now it was with Hub-bard Mill and Grain. Pfeifer movedto Wall to be the manager at thatsite, and, about three years afterPearson’s return, Hansen retiredand Pearson took over as managerof the Philip site.“It was a lot more than I thoughtit was, when I first took it. I’velearned a lot over the years,” saidPearson.“Lester’s impossible to replace:we’re looking for someone to fill therole,” said Brian Hammerbeck,area supervisor for Dakota Milland Grain. “I don’t pick on him, allI can do is praise.”“It’s been good. The people arethe best part of the job. I have somefamilies I’m working with the thirdgeneration. You can’t beat people,”said Pearson.Pearson’s wife is in favor of hisretirement. “She all for it, actually.I think she’s going to stay downthere (at the drug store) so she canget away from me once in a while,”said Pearson.
Lester Pearson retires after 42 years
Lester Pearson, right, after 42 years of employment there, has retired as thesite manager of Philip’s Dakota Milland Grain.
Photo by Del Bartels
During a special luncheon, Tues-day, December 18, Matt Donnelly,was honored by the Philip chapterof Modern Woodmen of America asa hometown hero because of hiscountless hours of service to thecommunity and school.Donnelly, a Philip High Schoolinstructor and coach, had previ-ously been chosen as the 2012Teacher of the Year by the SouthDakota Association for Health,Physical Education, Recreationand Dance.In recognition of his efforts,members of the Modern Woodmenchapter presented Donnelly with acertificate and awarded a $100grant to the Community Better-ment Committee, the charitable or-ganization of his choice.The event had some attendeesspeak their thoughts, some with se-rious praise and some with friendlyroasting. Superintendent KevenMorehart said of Donnelly, “A stand up guy; a guy who teacheskids responsibility. There’s nobodybetter than Matt.” Kathy Peterson,PHS secondary secretary, saidabout Mrs. Donnelly, “We shouldtake our hats off to Linette, too.”“Improving the quality of life forour members, their families andtheir communities is ModernWoodmen’s mission,” said DonHaynes, local Modern Woodmenactivities coordinator. “The home-town heroes program helps us ac-knowledge and thank volunteersacross the country for doing justthat.”Coordinated by local ModernWoodmen members. chapters pro-vide opportunities to connectthrough social activities and volun-teer projects.As a tax-exempt fraternal benefitsociety, Modern Woodmen sells lifeinsurance, annuity and investmentproducts, not to benefit stockhold-ers, but to improve the quality of life of its stakeholders members,their families and their communi-ties. This is accomplished throughsocial, charitable and volunteer ac-tivities. Annually, Modern Wood-men and its members provide morethan $23 million and nearly onemillion volunteer hours for commu-nity projects nationwide.
Matt Donnelly honored as hometown hero
Matt Donnelly, left, accepted the honors of being chosen as a hometown hero for his countless hours of service to the com-munity and school. Presenting the certificate and a $100 donation in Donnelly’s name to the Community Betterment Com-mittee was Don Haynes, activities director for the Philip chapter of Modern Woodmen of America.
Photo by Del Bartels
 
On Thursday, December 6, at the32nd annual Ag Appreciation Ban-quet hosted by the Ag and NaturalResources Committee of the RapidCity Area Chamber of Commerce,Grady and Bernice Crew, Philip,were honored with the Aggie of the Year Award.The chamber’s Ag and NaturalResources Committee establishedthis special award in 1981, theaward was created to honor indi-viduals who provide leadershipthat has benefited the local areaagriculture community over an ex-tended period of time.The Crews were honored fortheir lifetime of service in agricul-ture through the operation of theirsuccessful agri-businesses includ-ing the Crew Crop Insurance Agency, the Badlands Trading Postand now the Prairie Homestead.Grady is the fourth generationoperator of Crew Ranch, Crew Cat-tle Company, where he and Ber-nice now raise Angus cows andCharolais calves and grow wheatand corn. The Crews have beenmarried since 1978 and have twochildren. Their son Caleb is athome and helps run the ranch withthem and their daughter Jamieworks as communications officerfor the South Dakota Departmentof Agriculture.Grady and Bernice have bothplayed important roles in theircommunity. Grady has served assecretary of Cenex Harvest State,president of the White River Graz-ing District, director on the SouthDakota Wheat Board, he was onthe Jackson County Soil Conserva-tion District Board and president of the Kadoka School Board. Berniceis currently a director on the Bad-lands Natural History Association.More than 600 people were pres-ent at the appreciation banquet,where South Dakota Secretary of  Agriculture Walt Bones gave thekeynote address.
Crew couple –Aggie of the Year
Members of the Philip chapter of Family, Career and Community Leaders of America worked after school Wednesday, De-cember 19, collecting, sorting and distributing the donated gifts left under the community Maggie Grace Angel Tree. Thisis Philip FCCLA’s 15th year sponsoring the project. The angel tree is dedicated in Maggie Mehlhaff’s memory in the hopethat needy children in the area will be shown the spirit and love of Christmas. Since the set up of the tree in the HaakonCounty Courthouse, November 26, gifts have been piling up. The Philip FCCLA chapter, inconjunction with the local churchesand Haakon County Community Health office, have or will distribute the donations to children in need in the Philip area.Gifts beyond our community need will be distributed by the Jackson County Community Health office and the BennettCounty foster child program. Brigitte Brucklacher, Philip FCCLA advisor, believes that the amount donated this year is equalto, or even more, than the amount donated last year, which was over 300 gifts. Pictured are, from lower left, FCCLA Chair-person Kelsie Kroetch, Samantha Huston, Afton Burns. Tara Cantrell and Brucklacher.
Photo by Del Bartels
FCCLA Angel Tree successful
The Deep Creek School held their Christmas program December 19 at the DeepCreek School, with numerous family members and friends. The students enter-tained the audience with several skits and songs. During the song, “We Wish Youa Merry Christmas,” Santa Claus surprised the students with a visit and a treatbag. The younger preschool students were awestruck when Santa called theirnames and gave them each a bag of treats. Shown singing, from left, are KoriEndres –second grade, Zakry Sinkey –third grade, Bobbie Jarvi –third grade,Noah Johnson –fourth grade, and Dylan Endres –fourth grade.
Courtesy photo
Deep Creek School program
 
E-MAIL ADDRESSES:ADS: ads@pioneer-review.comNEWS: newsdesk@pioneer-review.comSUBSCRIPTIONS: subscriptions@pioneer-review.com
Ravellette Publications is happy to receive letters concerning comments on any newsstory or personal feeling on any subject. We do reserve the right to edit any offensive ma-terial and also to edit to fill the allotted space. We also reserve the right to reject any or allletters.Our deadline for insertion in the Thursday issue is the preceding Monday at 5:00 p.m.Letters intended for more than one Ravellette Publications newspaper should be mailedor hand delivered to each individual newspaper office. All letters
must
bear the originalsignature, address and telephone number of the author.
POLITICAL LETTERS TO THE EDITOR:
No political letters are to run the two weeksprior to an election.The “Letters” column is intended to offer readers the opportunity to express their opin-ions. It is not meant to replace advertising as a means of reaching people.This publication’s goal is to protect the first amendment guarantee of free speech. Your comments are welcomed and encouraged.
The Pioneer Review • P.O. Box 788 • Philip, SD 57567-0788(605) 859-2516 • FAX: (605) 859-2410
Ravellette Publications, Inc.
Letters Policy 
Opinion / Community
Thursday, December 27, 2012 • The Pioneer Review •
Page 2
P
ionee 
eview 
Philip, SD U.S.P.S. 433-780
Subscription Rates
: For Haakon, Jackson,and Jones counties, Creighton, Wall, Quinn,Marcus, Howes, Plainview, and Hayes ad-dresses: $36.00 per year (+ Tax); Elsewhere:$42.00 per year.
South Dakota residents are required to pay sales tax.
Periodicals postage paid at Philip, SD.Postmaster, send change of address noticeto:
Pioneer Review,
PO Box 788, Philip, SD57567; or FAX to: 605/859-2410.
Website Subscription Rate:
$36.
E-mail address:
subscriptions@pioneer-review.com
website: www.pioneer-review.comEstablished in 1906.
The Pioneer Review, the official newspaper of Haakon County, the towns of Philip and Mid-land, and Haakon School District 27-1 is pub-lished weekly by Ravellette Publications, Inc.
Pioneer Review 
office is located at 221 E. OakStreet in Philip, South Dakota.
Phone: (605) 859-2516;FAX: (605) 859-2410;e-mail: ads@pioneer-review.comCopyrighted 1981:
Ravellette Publications,Inc. All rights reserved. Nothing may bereprinted, photocopied, or in any way repro-duced from this publication, in whole or in part,without the written consent of the publisher.
DEADLINES:
Display & Classified
Advertising:
Tuesdays at 11:00 a.m. (MT)
Legals:
Fridays at 5:00 p.m. (MT)
Publisher:
Don Ravellette
Gen. Mgr. of Operations/Ad Design:
Kelly Penticoff 
Editor/News Reporter:
Del Bartels
Reporter/Ad Design:
Nancy Haigh
Ad Sales:
Beau Ravellette
SouthDakotaNewspaperAssociation
Friday:Overcast in the morning,then partly cloudy. High of 18Fwith a windchill as low as 0F.Winds from the WNW at 5 to10 mph.Friday Night:Partly cloudy. Fog overnight.Low of 3F with a windchill as low as -6F.Winds from the West at 5 to 10 mph.Saturday:Partly cloudy. Fogearly. High of 30F. Windsfrom the WSW at 5 to 15mph. Saturday Night:Partly cloudy. Fog overnight.Low of 9F with a windchill aslow as -4F. Winds from the SSW at 5 to15 mph.
Monday:Clear. High of27F. Winds from the NW at5 to 10 mph.Monday Night:Partlycloudy. Fog overnight.Low of 7F. Winds from the West at 5to 10 mph.
Sunday:Partly cloudy. Fog early.High of 28F with a windchill aslow as -8F. Breezy. Winds fromthe WNW at 15 to 20 mph.Sunday Night:Partly cloudy. Fogovernight. Low of 7F with a wind-chill as low as -8F. Winds from the NW at 10to 15 mph.
Get your complete& up-to-theminutelocal forecast:pioneer-review.comTuesday:Clear. High of 39F with awindchill as low as 3F. Breezy. Windsfrom the WNW at 15 to 20 mph.Tuesday Night:Partly cloudy. Fogovernight. Low of 5F with a wind-chill as low as -11F. Breezy. Winds from the NWat 10 to 20 mph.
Lookin’ Around
by Syd Iwan
Beginnings are often better thanendings. Take the moon in itscycle, for instance. It starts out asa tiny crescent in the west justafter sunset and is really niftythen. When I first notice it hangingthere, I often say something like,“Welcome back, Moon. Nice to seeyou again.” The moon doesn’treply, of course, but I say it any-way.From that thin crescent, then,this second-brightest light in theheavens keeps on growing fromnight to night until it blossoms intoa big and pretty full moon. It staysbig for a few nights although littlechunks start disappearing from it.Then by the fourth week of thecycle, I seldom notice it much sinceit comes up so late –just beforesunrise. Finally, it disappears alto-gether for a night before beingreincarnated as a thin fellow againin the west. To me, the beginningof the moon’s cycle is great, andthings stay interesting all the wayto the halfway point. From thereon it’s all downhill, as they say.The life cycle of animals can besimilar. There is nothing muchcuter than a baby animal whetherit be a calf, pony, or puppy. Thecuteness tends to win your heart.From there, critters continue togrow into adults when they hope-fully will become more useful, butprobably not as attractive. Afterthe midpoint of their lives, just likethe moon, things start to go down-hill until that particular life isover. The last part can even be sad.Humans aren’t much different.If a new baby appears in the com-munity, the ladies are stronglydrawn to it. (Men, not so much.)The gals, though, admire it, hold it,and thoroughly enjoy it. Seeingthat baby grow and prosper ispleasant as well. People in theirprime are fine too, but decline hasto eventually set in if life goes onlong enough. The final days of a lifecan be hard indeed and difficult tosee or deal with.Then we come to marriages.They usually start out with a greatdeal of joy and happiness. Unfortu-nately, in this day and age, it fre-quently doesn’t last very long.When I used to do wedding photog-raphy, a few times I barely got thewedding albums delivered beforethings fell apart. I shouldn’t com-plain because that meant incomefrom another wedding in a fewyears, but the collapse is not fun towatch. I have even had a part insomeone’s third wedding a fewtimes, but quite often the thirdtime is the charm and things actu-ally hold together.Some marriages, though, don’tgo into decline, even right up to thepoint where one of the partnersdies. They may even continue tostrengthen. That’s nice to see.Faith in God can strengthen andgrow right to the end of life as wellso not everything goes into decline,I’m happy to say.Years, however, follow the more-normal cycle of good beginning andstrong midpoint, followed by disin-tegration. I am always very glad tostart a new year with all the possi-bilities of interesting happeningsahead. Sure, it can be chilly in Jan-uary, but at least the days are get-ting longer and the temperaturesare getting warmer as the dayspass. By March and April we’re aptto have some really nice days.Spring, as I have probably men-tioned many times before, is myabsolute favorite with green grass,flowers, baby animals and so on. Ithink I could live in perpetualspring.From there we go to the mostproductive part of the year withgrowing crops and all that until weget to fall. Although fall can be re-ally pretty with the leaves chang-ing color and putting on a show, italso signals the closing of the year.November and December are thepits as far as I’m concerned withshort days, snow and cold. I some-times think I really deserve to havea few days of good old deep depres-sion about then, but luckily I usu-ally don’t have time for it whatwith Thanksgiving and thenChristmas. By the time I recoverfrom those events, here it is thefirst of the year and off we goagain.Right now, as you know, we areperched right at the beginning of afresh year with all the promise of better days to come, neat new stuff to try out, and old pursuits to enjoyagain. I’m ready for it. Let’s go.Here’s wishing us all the greatestof new years complete with exces-sive productivity, joy and happi-ness. May it be so. Have a veryhappy New Year.
PRIVATE APPLICATOR CERTIFICATION
training will beheld Friday, January 4, at 1:00 p.m. at the Bad River Senior Citi-zen’s Center in Philip. Please bring a photo identification with youwhen you attend the training.
To have your NON-PROFIT meeting listed here, please sub-mit them by calling: 859-2516, or e-mailing to: ads@pioneer-review. com. We will run your event notice the twoissuespriortoyoureventat no charge.
 
By example
... by Del Bartels 
One school morning, I headed out early to attend a Fellowship of Christian Athletes start-up meeting. My eighth grade son had said hewanted to go, but that morning mumbled from his pillow that heneeded a little more sleep. I was upset, but mostly disappointed. I toldhim that some things had to be wanted, not a forced attendance. Iwalked to the school through a fresh half inch of snow, going probablya bit faster than normal, and muttering to myself.That first meeting went okay; this year’s FCA will probably grow.As I left the school, the first class warning bell rang. Lost in thoughton if my son had made it to school on time, I somehow noticed my ear-lier footprints in the snow. It humored me that someone had walkedbeside them, seemingly on purpose, rather than in them or wander-ingly over them. The second prints were nearly my size, and hadmatched me step by step, inch per inch. Then, because of the directionof their origin and lack of too many other prints, I wondered if theycould be my son’s. If so, when had he grown to be almost my shoe size?Since when could he match my stride, especially when I had been upsetand in a hurry?As I neared my house, yes, the second set of footprints were his.Well before reaching my door, I stopped dead. When I wasn’t withhim, he had matched me step by step! What other things was he match-ing me in? I had been upset, had he? Walking may be trivial, but otherthings, such as being upset, are not. I grew fearful of those other things.Had I given the impression that I had to, rather than wanted to, goto that FCA meeting? When was the last time I raised my voice? HaveI spoken or even implied complaints about others? Do I grumble aboutchores and other responsibilities? Do I start my days with a smile or afrown, thus showing my attitude for the rest of the day? Are my si-lences because of brooding, or something more pleasant? Do I prefer totalk about friends and events around me, or some sitcom on television?Who is at fault; the writer of the traffic ticket or the person who causedit to have to be written?He matches me! Is that really a good thing? That was a very sober-ing, and unsettling, thought. Will he continue to match me? Will hesomeday improve upon my stride? Some people say that they don’twant to be role models, but their footprints are left in the snow for allto see. I would think every father wants his children to be like him, butis that a blessing or a curse? Some kids turn out great because of theirparents, while some turn out great despite their parents.A new year will soon begin. New snows will fall, and I will put newfootprints in that snow. I pray that their direction and pace are worthyof others, be it with others walking beside me at the time, or in laterfollowing my lead.
The offices ofRaveette Pubicationswi be cosedMONDAY & TUESDAYDecember 31 & January 1.Deadine for the newspapernext week isFRIDAY AT NOON!Deadine for the Profit isTHURSDAY AT NOON!
The members of the Philip Garden Club celebrated its third year during their Christmas party this year at Rock'n Roll Lanes,Saturday, December 15. After a meal and desserts, there was a gift exchange. “The club's membership continues to keepgrowing and local folks are always invited to join in at any meeting or outing,” said Elke Baxter. Shown, back row, from left:Betty Smith, Tina Staben, Donna Staben, Barb Kroetch, Lori Quinn, Becky Brech, Betty LaBeau and Elke Baxter. Front: San-dra O'Connor, Marion Nelson, Barbara Wentz, Virginia Wolden and Charmaine Stewart.
Courtesy photo
Philip Garden Club three years
Kennedy Implement & Auto Co.
The United States Departmentof Agriculture announced recentlythat they will be lifting the previ-ously imposed limits on how muchprotein and grains could be servedto students in one week.The latest modifications will beset in place for the rest of the 2012-2013 school year, explained AnnSchwader, South Dakota StateUniversity Extension nutritionfield specialist.“These changes are positive andshow that the USDA is willing towork with nutrition officials andothers who have concerns relatedto the new standards,” Schwadersaid.The original changes to theschool lunch standards were an-nounced January 2012, due to thenational Healthy, Hunger FreeKids Act (Public Law 111-296) thatdetermined how much of certainfood groups could be served, setlimits on calories and salt andphased in whole grains.Schwader said the move to cre-ate stricter guidelines was moti-vated by the fact that the obesityrates among school children aregrowing and steps were needed toreverse the trend.“These guidelines aligned schoolmeals with the latest nutrition sci-ence, based on recommendations of nutrition experts and the 2010 Di-etary Guidelines for Americans nu-trition recommendations,” she said.The new school meal patterns meetspecific calorie ranges for childrenin grades kindergarten throughfive (650 calories), sixth througheigth (700 calories), and ninethrough 12th (850 calories).“The intention of the new schoollunch guidelines is to ensure thatalmost all children receive at leastone-third of their daily nutritionaland energy needs,” Schwader said.The latest modifications arebeing provided to allow schoolsmore weekly planning options toensure that children receive a nu-tritious meal every day of the week. According to the revisions, the stu-dents can eat as many grains andproteins as they want, as long asthey are eating the allotted amountof calories put forth by the USDA.SDSU Extension recommendsthat parents assist their childrenwith the changes to the schoollunch standards.“Parents can make sure theiryouth eats a nutritious breakfastand encourage them to take andeat the fruits, vegetables, wholegrains, lean proteins and low-fatmilk offered in school meals," shesaid.
 School meals add more grains/proteins
The inherent and dynamic qual-ities of soil were in the spotlight atthe Soil Health Information Dayheld December 11 in Mitchell. Theevent attracted over 230 people tohear regional and national agricul-ture and natural resources speak-ers.Ruth Beck, South Dakota StateUniversity Extension agronomyfield specialist, Pierre, said “Onegoal with the event was to helppeople learn ways to manage soilthat improve the soil function. Al-though we can’t change the inher-ent qualities of the soil in ouryards, fields and pastures, we canmake management choices that af-fect the amount of organic matter,structure, depth, water and nutri-ent-holding capacity –the indica-tors of the health of a soil.”“While the physical and chemicalproperties of soil have long been amain factor for land use planning,we are now getting an understand-ing of the biology happening be-neath our feet,” said ColetteKessler, public affairs specialistwith the USDA Natural ResourcesConservation Service, Pierre.“Thanks to technology advances inmicroscopes and other equipment,our understanding of the science of soil, biology in particular, hasgrown more in the last three yearsthan the last 30,” she explained.Two Alpena area farmers wereenlisted to kick off the day demon-strating water infiltration withRay Archuleta, conservation agron-omist, from the NRCS East Na-tional Technical Center, Greens-boro, NC. “Look at this ... it isn’t aproblem of run-off; we have an in-filtration problem,” said Archuletaas the audience watched him workthrough the soil experiment. “Raythe Soil Guy” got to the root of everyone’s questions with his pres-entation “Healthy Soils MakeHealthy Profits.” Archuleta is pas-sionate about soil health and hispassion is infectious. He special-izes in soil biology/ecology and di-versity approaches for agro- ecosys-tem sustainability. “Understand-ing the biology –the microbes –inthe soil is the ‘next step’ for farmersand ranchers,” said Archuleta.Every operation is unique. He out-lined how to use above-groundmanagement, such as crop rota-tions, cover crops, and reducingtillage as tools to manipulate thesoil biology for a more sustainablesystem.“A healthy soil is not compacted.It has structure with macro poresthat allow water to infiltrate downinto the profile,” Archuleta ex-plained earlier. “When I pick up ashovelful of soil, it should look likecottage cheese.” Jim Hoorman,Ohio State University, outlinedtheir university research findingsand the economics of using mixes of cover crops to improve the problemof compacted soils. Mixtures arebetter for addressing compactionthan using a single cover cropspecies. Hoorman explained thatdisturbances, like tillage, can de-stroy pore structure in a soil.“Healthy soil regulates waterwell,” explained Paul Jasa, Exten-sion Engineer, University of Ne-braska-Lincoln. Soil and residuemanagement helps control whererain, snowmelt and irrigationwater goes. “Field after field,” hesays, “Residue drives the crop.Buffers are good, but are a ‘band-aid;’ fix the soil in the field withresidue and keep your water,” saysJasa. “Go out with a spade and seefor yourself how your soil is han-dling water.”Internationally known Dr.Dwayne Beck, Manager, SDSUDakota Lakes Research Farm nearPierre, encourages producers tomimic nature, “I’ve learned morefrom observing nature than tryingto change it.” Crop residue helpsimprove the soils balance of nutri-ents like nitrogen and phosphorus.Beck’s presentation outlined ‘Catchand Release Nutrients’ and work-ing with natural cycles to maxi-mize crop production. “Plant rootsare ‘hot spots’ for biological activi-ties like nutrient cycling and soilaggregate stability,” said Beck.A common theme recommendedthroughout the day was for peopleto get out with a shovel. “If we diga little, we can learn a lot,” saysKessler, “We can better understandhow healthy soil should look andsmell, and how healthy soil shouldfeel in our hands.” By the year2050, Earth’s population is ex-pected to reach 9 billion. Keepingevery inch of our soil healthy willbe essential as farmers and ranch-ers work to produce as much foodand fiber in the next 40 years asthey have in the last 500.
Ag future: soil biology as new frontier
 
Thursday, December 27, 2012 The Pioneer Review •
Page 3
Community
June 28 Done our buying inPierre and crossed the river to Ft.Pierre at 3 p.m. Old Missouri Riveron a tare. Rose 2 feet in 1 1/2 daysfrom the June floods and it was fullof drift wood. Dibble bought a Mc-Cormick mowing machine in Ft.Pierre for $45 and at 7 in the evewe struck out for Skieview with our3,000 pound load with three horsesand camped a mile out of Ft.Pierre. Heavy thunderstorm dur-ing the night. Eaten up by mosqui-toes near the river.June 29 –Resumed trip at 6 a.m.Camped for dinner 14 miles out.Camped for night one mile west of O’Gearys and about 30 miles fromFt. Pierre. Shook up by heavythunderstorm during the night butdidn’t have much rain. PassedHarry Hopkins Road Ranch in af-ternoon and got a cool bottle of beer. Water places far apart andscarce.Sun. June 30 –Continued ontrip. Nice and cool day. Camped fordinner 5 miles west of Hayes –gota cool quart bottle of beer at Hayes.Camped for night within 25 milesof Skieview. Disturbed by a violentthunderstorm at 10:30 p.m. Rainedall night–got soaked–didn’t get tosleep. We went over to a settlers at4:30 a.m. and got a dry bed andslept to 8:15 a.m. Broke a couplingpole crossing Plum Creek(Cheyenne Plum).July 1 –Resumed the trip at 4:30a.m. Road heavy. Comped for din-ner 20 miles from Skieview.Reached home about 9 p.m. tiredout –no more trips to Pierre forBenny.July 2 –Day opened clear andwarm. Rested up all day after thetrip to Pierre. Temperature at noon92.July 3 –Day opened clear andhot. Went to the Cheyenne Riverfor a load of wood –like to havedied with the heat in the breaks.Temperature 98 in the shade. 100Indians camped in their tents 1/2mile from us getting ready for thecelebration at Marietta.July 4 –Clear and hot. Viola andI started to Kertzmans at 9 a.m.Large crowd there. Big ball games,roping contests and dance. Ropingcontest was a fake, steers got away.Bronco busting very good. Plentyice cream and lemonade. Plenty of beer in the breaks a mile away.Procession of the sports out thereall day long. Very hot. Furiousstorm came up in the eve. Had tobreak into shack to escape it (Mr.McKeown’s shack).July 5 –Done odd jobs in a.m. Inafternoon hitched up and distrib-uted telephone poles and went andguyed down a couple of cornerposts on the wire fence. And thenwe went over the the Indian campa mile west of Skieview. About 100Indians in camp. All kinds andages. Saw war dance. Talked toRosa Red Horse and saw EagleBear in paint and feathers.July 6 –Day opened with hugeblack clouds everywhere. At 1:30p.m. a terrific storm came up fromthe northwest and for 15 minutes aperfect avalanche of hail stones thesize of bullets fell driven by a 60mile per hour gale. Corn, potatoesand garden truck badly cut up.Went over to Dibbles in p.m. andset a few posts around cornfield.Sun. July 7 –Nice clear warmday. Big ball game at Marietta be-tween the Indians and the Mari-etta Club. Buster chased the ballsand got some. Big crowd in atten-dance.July 8 –Fierce rain and electri-cal storm broke over Skieview at 2a.m. Rained incessantly until day-light and then hailed and rainedhard until 9 a.m. All creeks run-ning full. Put in a few telephonepoles. In p.m. helped Dibble lowerhis ceiling and put a floor in attic.Mail today but didn’t go after it.July 9 –Dibble went to Leslieand I took the mare Kate to Tad-dikens stud supposed to be in foal.Fearful thunderstorm broke at 6p.m. with heavy rain.July 10 –Day opened sullen andthreatening. At one p.m. anotherfearful rain storm with hail fell. Nodamage. Ground is soaked.Streams running over. Good forcrops which are recovering nicelyfrom first hail storm.July 11 –Awful fog at dawn. Dugholes for telephone poles and setsome poles. Dug post holes aroundmy corn. In p.m. went to Dibblesand helped him with a new hayrack.July 12 –Corn and potatoes com-ing out fine since the hail storm.Helped Dibble with his hay rackand did odd jobs around Skieview.July 13 –Fixed the dropping de-vice on mowing machine and con-tinued work on hay rack. Gentlerain around midnight.Sun. July 14 –Day opened cooland threatening –later turned torain for 2 hrs. Good for all kinds of vegetation. Mosquitoes coming onagain. Cool in evening a little firewas comfortable.July 15 –Worked pulling up tele-phone wires from Skieview to Dib-bles and doing odd jobs. Muchcooler weather in evening.July 16 –New herd of mosqui-toes on deck and as voracious asever. Bert began cutting hay in af-ternoon and I worked all afternoonconnecting telephone. Got it so wecould talk over it some by evening.July 17 –Connected up tele-phone in morning. Viola atSkieview end of the line and me atDibbles. She got her phone workingto perfection and I could hear herplain. System now works to perfec-tion. Finished tamping in someposts before noon and in afternoonwent haying and hauled in threemonster loads –almost 3 tons. Newcrop of mosquitoes on as bad nearlyas they were in June.July 18 –Four months on ourclaim to day. Stacked some hay inforenoon and cut hay in the after-noon. Mosquitoes around by themillions. Very annoying.July 19 –Nice day but very hot.Began shocking hay at 9 a.m. andshocked until 6 p.m. Got mail todayand a letter from John. Mosquitoespositively a fright. Telephone upand working fine. Met Mr. GilbertDurston.
(to be continued …)
Here’s to a New Year!May it bring you andyours health, happiness& prosperity …
Happy NewYear 2013!!
Gibson ConcreteConstruction
 Ray & Karen Gibson& employees859-3100 • Philip

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->