Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Pioneer Review, Febuary 14, 2013

Pioneer Review, Febuary 14, 2013

Ratings: (0)|Views: 118 |Likes:
Published by surfnewmedia

More info:

Published by: surfnewmedia on Feb 13, 2013
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

02/13/2013

pdf

text

original

 
Market Report
Winter Wheat, 12 Pro...........$7.48Any Pro WW.....................$6.88Spring Wheat, 14 Pro...........$7.56Milo.......................................$6.32Corn.......................................$6.70Sunflower Seeds................$22.00
P
ioneer 
eview 
P
ioneer 
eview 
$
1
00
Includes Tax
A Publication of Ravellette Publications, Inc., Philip, South Dakota 57567. The Official Newspaper of Haakon County, South Dakota. Copyright 1981.
Number 25Volume 107
February 14, 2013
Boys’ andGirls’Basketball
12
Wrestling 
11
by Nancy Haigh
The county highway departmentwas given approval to purchase athird motor grader at the HaakonCounty Board of Commissioner’smeeting February 5.When discussions were first heldregarding the purchase of one-yearold graders leased by the city of Sioux Falls, the county signed upfor two new graders. The thoughtat that time was to surplus twoCaterpillar H models. As talkshave continued the county has de-cided it would be best to surplusthe two newest Caterpillar M mod-els that have often been on the re-pair list, along with an H model. Alex Kulesza, Butler Machineryrepresentative, discussed variousoptions with the board. The two Mmodels have new rippers on them.Kulesza noted that that would be adraw for some contractors andmight drive up the bid price. Thecost of new rippers, which wouldnot have to be modified to fit thenew machines, would not increasethe final dollar line that much, saidKulesza.The final purchase for threeblades with two rippers would costalmost $177,000, financed overfour years. The board also ap-proved the purchase of a third rip-per and a wing unit.The board will formally surplusthree graders after Butler Machin-ery has looked the machines overand completed an estimate on theirvalue. At that time Kulesza willhelp the county with advertisingthe machines for sale. The countydoes have a guaranteed buy backamount through Butler Machineryfor the two M models, per the orig-inal purchase agreement, whichthe county can exercise if the bidscome in lower.Kenny Neville noted that thecounty no longer needs to advertiseculvert bids since there is only onedealer in South Dakota. He notedthat prices are three to four percentlower than last year. The board ap-proved, per Neville’s request, to re-move a bridge from the county’sbridge system. The bridge had beenreplaced last summer with a largeculvert.The board voted to not finan-cially support the Capital AreaCounseling service. HaakonCounty Auditor Patricia (Pat) Free-man noted that some of the coun-ties the agency works in provide fi-nancial assistance while others donot.Quarterly reports were given byEmergency Manager Lola Roseth,county health nurse Heidi Burnsand Director of Equalization ToniRhodes. Rhodes noted that resi-dents can now file for tax appeals.The city of Philip will hold theirequalization hearing March 18 andthe county’s will be April 9. Free-man reported that the county cantake the South Dakota State De-partment of Revenue determinedConsumer Price Index tax increaseof just over two percent. She alsonoted new growth to be taxed on in2014 is $3,521,333.State’s Attorney Gay Tollefsonupdated the board regarding Sun-day liquor licenses. She said thecounty does not have to have an or-dinance if they choose to followstate law. No decision was made onwhether to approve a Sunday li-cense.The board approved to amendResolution 2013-03 from the Janu-ary meeting to reflect wages forpermanent part-time deputies andpermanent full-time deputies.They approved the Januarymeeting minutes as well as war-rants for the past month. Discus-sion was held regarding a bill forunemployment benefits. The boardquestioned if the individual was el-igible for the benefits. Freemannoted that she had asked for ap-proval prior to the meeting to paythe bill as it was due before the endof the month. She noted the fundshad already been sent to the billingparty for the unemployment bene-fits.Travel requests were approvedfor 4-H advisor Carrie Weller andNeville. Elke Baxter was approvedto be a member of the Haakon/Jackson Fair Board.
Commission commits to third blade
Farmers and ranchers across thecountry are heeding the call tohave their voices heard and theirfarms represented in the 2012 Cen-sus of Agriculture.About 1.4 million census formshave been returned. For those whomissed the deadline, USDA re-minds producers that their farm isimportant and needs to be counted. As a result, census forms are stillbeing accepted.According to Sandee Gittings, if help is required, the South DakotaNational Agricultural StatisticsService office in Sioux Falls canhave a local representative come tothe landowner to help with the cen-sus forms; call 1-(605)-323-6500.“Information from the Census of  Agriculture helps USDA monitortrends and better understand theneeds in agriculture,” said Agricul-ture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “Pro-viding industry stakeholders, com-munity leaders, lawmakers and in-dividual farm operators with themost comprehensive and accurateUnited States agricultural reports,we all help ensure the tools areavailable to make informed, sounddecisions to protect the future of  American agriculture.”Conducted every five years byUSDA’s NASS, the census providesdetailed data covering nearly everyfacet of United States agriculture.It looks at land use and ownership,production practices, expendituresand other factors that affect theway farmers and ranchers do busi-ness. The deadline for submittingCensus forms was February 4, andmany farmers and ranchers haveresponded. However, those who didnot respond by the original duedate will receive another copy of the form in the mail to give themanother opportunity.“Accurate and comprehensive in-formation from all farmers andranchers is important so that theCensus can provide a true pictureof U.S. agriculture today and helpeveryone plan appropriately for fu-ture,” said Vilsack. “This level of information is only gathered andreleased once every five years, sowe need the participation of everyproducer to ensure the agriculturalindustry and rural America receivethe representation that will pro-vide them with the most benefitand value.”Farmers and ranchers can re-turn their forms by mail or onlineby visiting a secure website,www.agcensus.usda.gov. Federallaw requires all agricultural pro-ducers to participate in the Censusand requires NASS to keep all in-dividual information confidential.For more information and help-ful tips on completing your form,visit www.agcensus.usda.gov orcall 1-888-4AG-STAT (1-888-424-7828), or call USDA/NASS at 1-800-338-2557.
USDA census extended, local help
Twenty-three rural hospitals inSouth Dakota will receive a total of $278,037 in federal funding forprojects to improve patient access,reduce medication errors, reducehospital readmissions, and im-prove operations.Philip Health Services, Inc. isone of the hospitals receivingMedicare Rural Hospital Flexibil-ity Program direct awards. It willreceive $13,135.The federal funding comesthrough the South Dakota Depart-ment of Health. Over the last 12years, rural hospitals in SouthDakota have received more than$4,078,000 in direct awardsthrough the program.Hospitals must be Medicare cer-tified as critical access to be eligiblefor the funds. Critical access hospi-tals receive a higher Medicare re-imbursement rate and are eligiblefor federal funding for improve-ment projects. There are currently38 critical access hospitals in SouthDakota.The funding helps rural hospi-tals make direct, positive impactson patient care and health out-comes, noted an official from thePlatte Health Center - Avera, oneof the facilities receiving funds.“Without the additional supple-mental financial assistance we re-ceive from this program, we wouldnot have been able to implementthe programs and processes wecurrently have in place,” said JodySternberg, RN, and director of pa-tient care services at Platte. “Thisprogram makes a difference forcritical access hospitals.”
 State awards funding to Philip hospital
The Philip High School one-act cast and crew, performing the serious play “Dis-covering Rogue,” earned a superior rating at the 57th annual South Dakota HighSchool Activities Association’s State One-Act Play Festival in Brandon, January31 through February 2. Nearly 1,000 students and 66 directors represented en-tries from 14 Class “B” schools, 14 Class “A” schools and 13 Class “AA” schools.There were nine professional judges. Two Philip actors, Shelby Schofield andRachel Parsons, were among only 118 total actors who earned Outstanding In-dividual Performer awards. Kelsie Kroetch and Brad Pfeifle represented one of only four Class “B” ensembles which earned Outstanding Ensemble Groupsrecognition at the festival. Pictured are, from lower left, Schofield, Parsons, di-rector Laura O’Connor, Pfeifle and Kroetch. Other members of the Philip cast andcrew were Brooke Nelson, Jane Poss, Amanda McIlravy, Ted’Dee Buffalo, ColeRothenberger, Josh Quinn, Brock Hanson, James Fitzgerald, Tyshia Ferguson, CarlPoss, Brian Pfeifle and Sam Stangle.
Photo by Del Bartels
Philip one-act earns“superior” at state
Nearly 1,500 eligible patrons of Midwest Cooperatives will share inthe distribution of $2.86 million incash patronage and equity during2013 based on business they haveconducted with the company.The Midwest Cooperatives an-nual meetings will be Wednesday,February 20, in Pierre, and at 5:30p.m., Thursday, February 21, atthe American Legion Hall inPhilip. The meetings will include afree roast beef meal, door prizesand speakers presenting an updatefrom the company. The meetingsare open for all; because of the sup-per count, please RSVP. MidwestCooperatives has site locations inPierre, Philip, Kadoka, Highmore,Blunt, Onida nd Draper.“We’re extremely proud that wecan provide this tremendous returnto our customers and owners,” saidMilt Handcock, general manager.“One of the most important wayswe help producers grow is by deliv-ering an economic return on thebusiness they do with Midwest Co-operatives. This underscores theadded value of being a cooperativesystem owner and customer.“Through their ownership in acooperative like Midwest Coopera-tives, not only do they have accessto products and services, they alsoshare in our success and that of theintegrated CHS system. This en-ables all of us to invest in the fu-ture of our local producers, thisbusiness and our community.”Midwest Cooperatives is a locallycontrolled retail division of CHSInc., the nation’s leading producer-owned cooperative. During 2013,Midwest Cooperatives will allocatea total of $7.5 million in patronagedividends to its eligible customersbased on business done September1, 2011 through August 31, 2012, of which $2.86 million is being paidout in cash.Overall, CHS expects to returnup to a record $600 million duringits 2013 fiscal year in cash patron-age, equity redemptions and divi-dends paid on preferred stock tonearly 1,200 eligible cooperativesand nearly 50,000 individual mem-bers and others in 50 states. CHSnet income for its fiscal year ending August 31, 2012, was $1.26 billion.Patronage is based on businessdone with CHS during fiscal 2012,while equity redemptions repre-sent retirement of ownership inCHS earned in past years. Since itwas established in 1998, CHS hasreturned more than $3.1 billion incash to its owners.If they have not already done so,individuals who have reached age70 and representatives of the es-tates of deceased members are en-couraged to contact Handcock to re-quest redemption of their equity.CHS makes equity redemptions toeligible members throughout theyear, based on attaining age 70 orestate retirements, but potentiallyeligible individuals must initiatecontact.
Midwest Cooperative patrons toreceive CHS cash distribution
“The Buffalo King” airs in Philip
A free private airing of the documentary film “The Buffalo King” was presented at the Gem Theatre, Sunday, February 10.The film is about the man-caused decimation of the North American bison and a hand full of individuals who worked tosave it from extinction. One of those men was James “Scotty” Philip –immigrant, goldrusher, cowboy, wagon freighter,cattle baron, statesman and namesake for the town of Philip. The film’s producer, Justin Koehler, spoke at the airing aboutthe production of the movie and future plans for it at film festivals. He suggested that the film could be shown at localannual events, such as Philip Festival Days.
United States Senator Tim John-son released this statement on theUnited States Postal Service’s an-nouncement regarding the elimina-tion of Saturday delivery.“I have long said the eliminationof Saturday mail delivery should bea last resort option. Last spring,the Senate passed a postal reformbill that would have addressed thepostal service’s current budgetshortfalls and prohibited theagency from eliminating Saturdaydelivery for at least two years whilealternative cost savings are imple-mented. The bill was never broughtup for a vote in the House, and thisprevented postal reform from mov-ing forward.“The elimination of Saturday de-livery does not take effect until Au-gust 1, so there is still time for Con-gress to come together and passcomprehensive postal reform. I willcontinue working to preserve theuniversal service mandate that en-sures those in South Dakota andother rural areas continue havingaccess to quality and affordablemail service.”United States RepresentativeKristi Noem released the followingstatement. “I strongly believe thatthe postal service needs to focus onmaking additional internal andstructural reforms before it cutsservices. I understand that seriouschanges need to take place to makethe USPS financially viable, but Ido not support eliminating Satur-day delivery. Coming from such arural state, our postal service iscritical to the way families andbusinesses operate. Before thePostal Service makes decisionsthat affect South Dakotans and therest of rural America, I believe theUSPS should review all availableoptions in order to establish an ef-ficient and sustainable deliverysystem.”
USPS to stop Saturday deliveries
The South Dakota Farm Bureauis hosting a series of meetingacross the state this month forfarmers and ranchers to learn moreabout the Environmental Protec-tion Agency’s oil spill prevention,control and countermeasure pro-gram, which requires complianceby May 10 of this year.Two representatives from theEPA’s region eight office in Denverwill lead the meetings: RebeccaPerrin, EPA Region Eight agricul-ture advisor, and Jim Peterson,EPA Region Eight SPCC inspector.According to the U.S. EPA, farmsor ranches that store more than1,320 total U.S. gallons of oil or oilproducts in above ground contain-ers sized 55 gallons or larger, ormore than 42,000 U.S. gallons incompletely buried containers, andcould be reasonably expected todischarge oil to waters of the U.S.,are required to have an SPCC plan.EPA requires an SPCC plan to bein place by May 10, 2013.The schedule for the SPCC meet-ings is as follows: (all times arelocal)•February 25 in Sturgis, 3:00p.m. at the Meade County Exten-sion Building Community Room. 
•February 26 in Wall, 10:00a.m. at the Community Build-ing on Main Street
•February 26 in Pierre, 4:00 p.m.at the Capitol Building BasementRoom A (plus 6 DDN locations)The meeting at 4:00 p.m. CT onFebruary 26 will be broadcast overthe Digital Dakota Network fromPierre to several locations, includ-ing Rapid City, SDSM&T’s Class-room Building Room 109There is no cost to attend theseinformational meetings, no pre-reg-istration is required, and you donot need to be a member of FarmBureau to attend.
EPA meetings on oil spills
 
E-MAIL ADDRESSES:ADS: ads@pioneer-review.comNEWS: newsdesk@pioneer-review.comSUBSCRIPTIONS: subscriptions@pioneer-review.com
Ravellette Publications is happy to receive letters concerning comments on any newsstory or personal feeling on any subject. We do reserve the right to edit any offensive ma-terial and also to edit to fill the allotted space. We also reserve the right to reject any or allletters.Our deadline for insertion in the Thursday issue is the preceding Monday at 5:00 p.m.Letters intended for more than one Ravellette Publications newspaper should be mailedor hand delivered to each individual newspaper office. All letters
must
bear the originalsignature, address and telephone number of the author.
POLITICAL LETTERS TO THE EDITOR:
No political letters are to run the two weeksprior to an election.The “Letters” column is intended to offer readers the opportunity to express their opin-ions. It is not meant to replace advertising as a means of reaching people.This publication’s goal is to protect the first amendment guarantee of free speech. Your comments are welcomed and encouraged.
The Pioneer Review • P.O. Box 788 • Philip, SD 57567-0788(605) 859-2516 • FAX: (605) 859-2410
Ravellette Publications, Inc.
Letters Policy 
Opinion / Community
Thursday, February 14, 2013 • The Pioneer Review •
Page 2
P
ionee 
eview 
Philip, SD U.S.P.S. 433-780
Subscription Rates
: For Haakon, Jackson,and Jones counties, Creighton, Wall, Quinn,Marcus, Howes, Plainview, and Hayes ad-dresses: $36.00 per year (+ Tax); Elsewhere:$42.00 per year.
South Dakota residents are required to pay sales tax.
Periodicals postage paid at Philip, SD.Postmaster, send change of address noticeto:
Pioneer Review,
PO Box 788, Philip, SD57567; or FAX to: 605/859-2410.
Website Subscription Rate:
$36.
E-mail address:
subscriptions@pioneer-review.com
website: www.pioneer-review.comEstablished in 1906.
The Pioneer Review, the official newspaper of Haakon County, the towns of Philip and Mid-land, and Haakon School District 27-1 is pub-lished weekly by Ravellette Publications, Inc.
Pioneer Review 
office is located at 221 E. OakStreet in Philip, South Dakota.
Phone: (605) 859-2516;FAX: (605) 859-2410;e-mail: ads@pioneer-review.comCopyrighted 1981:
Ravellette Publications,Inc. All rights reserved. Nothing may bereprinted, photocopied, or in any way repro-duced from this publication, in whole or in part,without the written consent of the publisher.
DEADLINES:
Display & Classified
Advertising:
Tuesdays at 11:00 a.m. (MT)
Legals:
Fridays at 5:00 p.m. (MT)
Publisher:
Don Ravellette
Gen. Mgr. of Operations/Ad Design:
Kelly Penticoff 
Editor/News Reporter:
Del Bartels
Reporter/Ad Design:
Nancy Haigh
Ad Sales:
Beau Ravellette
SouthDakotaNewspaperAssociation
Thursday:Overcast in the morning,then partly cloudy. High of 36F with awindchill as low as 14F. Breezy. Windsfrom the NW at 15 to 20 mph. Thurs-day Night:Mostly cloudy in the evening, then over-cast. Low of 12F with a windchill as low as 0F.Breezy. Winds from the NW at 15 to 20 mph.Friday: Overcast in the morning,then clear. High of 36F with awindchill as low as 5F.Breezy. Winds from the NWat 10 to 20 mph. Friday Night:Clear. Lowof 19F with a windchill as low as 10F.Winds from the West at 10 to 15 mph.Sunday:Partly cloudy.High of 46F. Winds fromthe East at 10 to 15mph. Sunday Night:Partly cloudy. Low of19F. Winds from the NE at 5 to 15mph.Saturday:Partly cloudy.High of 46F. Windsfrom the NW at 10 to15 mph. SaturdayNight:Clear. Fogovernight. Low of 19F. Winds fromthe ESE at 5 to 10 mph.Get yourcomplete &up-to-the-minutelocal forecast:
pioneer-review.com
Monday:Overcast. High of 39Fwith a windchill as low as10F. Winds from theNorth at 10 to 15 mph.Monday Night: Mostlycloudy. Low of 16F. Windsfrom the NNW at 5 to 10 mph.
Lookin’ Around
by Syd Iwan
I think my electronic indoor/out-door thermometer is dyslexic.That’s one explanation, anyway,for it reading 82 degrees as thehigh temperature the other day. Ithad been a warmish day for Febru-ary and did get up to 52, but 82 inearly February in South Dakota isso improbable that it would havemade the national news had it ac-tually happened. When I went torecord the high for the day in mydiary as I usually do, I glanced atthat reading and then looked backto make sure I was actually seeingwhat I thought I was. My visionwas okay which elicited the re-sponse, “I don’t think so. Most un-likely!” All I could figure was that,when it was 28 degrees aroundsunrise, the weather-station con-traption had read it and, in a fit of dyslexia, flipped it around to 82.Either that or the batteries need tobe changed. In any event, Irecorded 52 as the day’s high andnot 82.A lot of information comes ourway these days that is highly sus-picious as to accuracy. We’ve justbeen through an election where somuch rubbish was tossed aroundthat a person might be inclined totune out the whole mess. Fairlynormal, well-intentioned candi-dates were depicted as completefools with the morals of alley catsand no redeeming value whatso-ever. I didn’t agree with the viewsof all the candidates to be sure, butit irritated me a lot when theywere unfairly depicted as the dregsof the earth. Dirt was flung rightand left. “Stick to the facts,” waswhat I wanted to advise.The same advice should apply tothe Internet as well. It gives falseinformation the opportunity to cir-cle the globe in seconds and be ac-cepted by many as gospel. Everyyear, for instance, we get an articleabout the guards at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. The articletries to depict those guards as ab-solute saints. It states that, once aperson becomes one of these elitesentries, he must never in hiswhole life swear or drink alcohol.Wife Corinne worked at the Penta-gon when she was in the Army andknew some of these guys. Theywere dedicated fellows, but theyweren’t saints. It’s ridiculous toeven consider that as a possibility.I might add that the article thatmakes the rounds does have accu-rate parts when it describes howthe patrol of the tomb is carried outand what various rituals mean.Other parts, however, are completefoolishness.Most years as well, we get an an-nouncement that the planet Marsis so close to earth in its orbit thatit will soon look as big as the moon.That will never happen. It willnever even appear as bright as Venus, much less the moon. Thissilliness started way back aftersomeone said that Mars would lookas big as the moon when viewedthrough a telescope at a certainmagnification. The telescope partwas unfortunately overlooked bythose wanting to pass on excitingnew information. What’s more,Mars was only extraordinarilyclose to earth that one time severalyears ago, but the same silly articlehas been resurrected and sentagain in following years after Marshad regressed and was not going tobe especially close or large anytimesoon.As you know, some obituariescould almost be thought of as fairytales when they apply to peopleyou know. They often depict some-one as a completely wonderful per-son when they were dishonest,undisciplined, chronically drunk,or just generally hard to deal with.I’ve read obituaries of people I’veknown and thought, “Who are theytalking about? It certainly isn’t theperson by that name that I know.”Religion is another place whereerrors can abound. It is usually ac-complished by people trying tomake the Bible say what they wantit to say instead of what it actuallysays as taken in context. Theymight also want to make God outto be how they think he should beinstead of how he is. This leads toall manner of trouble, confusionand outright error. I try to counterthis by reading the Bible throughcompletely every year as I havenow done for forty years or more. Itdoesn’t mean I can catch everywrong thought that people throwout, but I can discard a lot of them.It is rather the norm for peopleto want to tell interesting or excit-ing facts. That’s a given. As a re-sult, it’s our job to consider whatwe hear and only accept informa-tion as truth when the facts havebeen checked as much as possible.Gullibility is not a virtue. As a re-sult, when I go to record the hightemperature for today in my diary,I might look at what the ther-mometer says it was, but I won’tnecessarily accept it as gospelwithout comparing it to my experi-ence of the day. Verifying is thesensible thing to do concerning anyinformation that comes our way.We should probably try to keepthat in mind.
CANCER SUPPORT GROUP …
will meet Tuesday, February 19,at 6:30 p.m. at the Senechal Apts. lobby in Philip. Pie will be served!
PHILIP AARP/RTA …
will meet Monday, February 25, at 6:00p.m. at the senior citizen’s center in Philip with a soup supper,memory and identification of the Past & Present Rural Schools, ledby Annie Brunskill, Haakon County Public Library director.
FREE TAX PREPARATION …
 AARP TaxAide will be providingfree federal tax return preparations at the Bad River Senior Citi-zen’s Center in Philip on Thursdays from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. The serv-ice is open to all ages with emphasis on low and middle income tax-payers. Call Bob McDaniel, 859-2227, for appointment or more in-formation.
To have your NON-PROFIT meeting listed here, please sub-mit them by calling: 859-2516, or e-mailing to: ads@pioneer-review. com. We will run your event notice the twoissuespriortoyoureventat no charge.by Sen. Jim BradfordDistrict 27
We have now completed the fifthweek of legislative session and thedays get longer as we approachcross over day, which is when allbills must be out of their house of origin.In the Senate Health and Judici-ary committees, on which I serve,we have been seeing an increase of bills to review.A piece of legislation which I amproud to say was signed this weekby the Governor was the CriminalJustice Initiative. I’ve been in-volved in this from the start andworked on a task force that was atthe beginning of a process that hasled to the adoption of this law.This new way of sentencing willsignificantly reduce the number of nonviolent offenders being sen-tenced to prison and enable themto receive the treatment they needfor their addiction. This approachduplicates successful programs op-erated in other states. In fact,South Dakota was one of the laststates to adopt this type of ap-proach which puts the emphasis ontreatment and rehabilitation, not just incarceration. This legislation,while having some upfront costs formore treatment centers andtrained drug and alcohol treatmentexperts, will in the long run reducethe need for millions of dollars of investment in prisons. It will keepnon-violent criminals in their ownhomes and communities and bringmore treatment to those addictedto drugs and alcohol. This is theright approach and long overdue.I’m proud to say that I was an ad-vocate for this from the very begin-ning, testified several times as itmoved through committees and onthe floor, and this week witnessedthe Governor sign it into law. Nowit’s up to all of us to follow throughand support its implementation.A special briefing for SouthDakota legislators on Medicaid ex-pansion was presented by theCouncil of State Government onFebruary 5. The Council of StateGovernment is a nonpartisan, non-profit association which serves allthree branches of state govern-ment-judicial, legislative, and exec-utive. The speaker was Dr. VernSmith, a nationally known healthcare economist and the formerMedicaid director in Michigan. Dr.Smith was able to relate the expe-riences of other states, some of which have expanded Medicaid el-igibility years before the recent fed-eral proposal. In studies which re-viewed these expansions, peoplewere healthier, and less healthcare was obtained in emergencyrooms.The numbers change often, butto date close to half of the stateshave decided to expand Medicaidcoverage. If our state follows suit,the federal government wouldcover 100 percent of Medicaid costsfor the estimated 48,000 newly eli-gible South Dakota adults for thefirst three years (2014-2016). Thestate’s only expense would be a lit-tle over a million dollars a year foradministration. The state’s sharewould gradually rise until itreached 10 percent of total costs in2020. According to South DakotaDepartment of Social Services esti-mates, state residents would re-ceive about $2 trillion in medicalcare benefits between 2014 and2020.Certainly there are some of ourDistrict 27 folks who work hard at jobs but are offered no health in-surance through their employment.These are exactly the individualswho will benefit from Medicaid ex-pansion. I will continue to workhard to see that South Dakotadoesn’t give up on our 48,000 work-ing adults without health insur-ance.Contact me at 605-685-4241 orSen.Bradford@state.sd.us.
 
Legislative Updates
by RepresentativeElizabeth May
We are seeing considerable billscoming to the floor from the variouscommittee’s. Some bills of interest,HB1123 will appropriate one dollarto be deposited in the animal dam-age control fund and five dollarsshall be deposited in a special fundknown as the South Dakota sports-men’s access and landowner depre-dation fund. This law and fee wasalready in place and all the legisla-tors did was move one dollar to the ADC Program.HB1013 and HB1015 werebrought by the Board of Regents.HB1013 was for funds of $325,000.00 to construct multi-storage facilities at SDSU andHB1015 was for remodeling andrenovation of Medary Commons onthe campus of SDSU with a cost of $2,250,000.00. Both bills passedthe house with 58 yeas and 10 naysand I voted nay. The argument of one-time dollars should be used tofund one-time projects; not ongoingcosts evades me when our teacherpay remains 48th in the nation.HB1128 was a bill to allow cer-tain students to participate in theOpportunity Scholarship Program.This bill arises after a home-schoolstudent was denied when applyingfor the scholarship. The Depart-ment of Education has a standardcriteria in place for public schoolstudents that doesn’t apply forhome school students. We heardtestimony from a student attendingSchool of Mines in Rapid who re-ceived a 30 ACT score and was de-nied the scholarship. His firstcousin who was educated througha public school and now is attend-ing SDSU received the scholarshipwith a ACT score of 24. The Dept.of Education came out against thisbill. The committee voted to send itto the floor and it passed on to theSenate. Competition by the S.D.Board of Eduction is somethingthis agency is trying to avoid bylimiting who is eligible for thescholarship. We need to rememberthat parents of home-school stu-dents are still paying taxes to fundpublic schools. I think the least thestate can do is treat them equal re-garding the scholarship program.HB1126 was brought to repealthe massage therapy licensing re-quirements and regulatory board.This bill had been deferred fromthe 15th LD while talks were ongo-ing. This bill stems from a 2005 li-censee requirement and a misman-aged board with a high turnover. After considerable discussion andtwo lengthy amendments it passedon to the Senate. I find it amazingthat legislature’s are put in office tosettle disputes of massage therapyboards.I’d like to report that we arepassing sweeping legislation thatimprove's our daily lives, but todate we have dealt with air, water,wildlife and snowmobile tracks formotorcycles just to name a few. Thebills that I thought could make adifference, like SB125, “SharedParenting” did not make it off theSenate floor. I encourage everyoneto stay involved with what is goingon with your local, state and fed-eral governments.I enjoyed seeing the Kadoka sen-ior government class this week. Itis very important for our studentsto see the process of law makingand the impact that it has on thecitizens of South Dakota.As always you can contact me atthe House Chamber number 773-3851. Leave a phone number andI’ll call you back. The fax numberis 773-6806. If you send a fax, ad-dress it to Rep. Elizabeth May. Youcan also email me at rep.may@state.sd.us during session. You cankeep track of bills and committeemeetings at this link: http://legis.state.sd.us/ You can also use thislink to find the legislators, seewhat committees they are on, readall the bills and track the status of each bill, listen to committee hear-ings, and contact the legislators.
 Wealth?
... by Del Bartels 
There is a theory that, if all the wealth in the world was distributedevenly among all the individuals of the world, within a given numberof years most of that wealth would be back under the control of whohas it now. Agreed, some people are idiots, some have never learnedhow to handle even a little money, some have unforseen expenses suchas medical needs, while some are simply single-minded toward powerand wealth. Yet, some probably just don’t put that much importancebehind riches ... well, at least not the monetary kind of riches.A teenager who is given a new car looks at it differently than ateenager who has worked and saved for many years to buy that firstused car. Which one thinks more toward insurance? Which one, mostlikely, is also thinking of future costs such as a new set of tires?A conversation starter used to be, “What would you do with a milliondollars?” At three percent interest, you could scrape by off of the annualinterest, but most people would first buy a house, a vehicle, decentclothes, and enough food to last awhile. Others say that they would in-vest it; yeah, and how many people have “safe” 401K plans that havepainfully lost money in the last two decades? Invest in Enron! What Iwould spend my money on is not what other people believe I shouldspend my money on. One person told me he would buy a motor homeand live out of that, doling out the interest and remaining capital topay for gas and food as he spent years exploring the continent. Heagreed that the entire amount would be close to gone by the time hedied, but he wouldn’t need it then.If you ask someone enough either/or questions, you will discoverwhat they hold important. Either a lazy vacation sleeping on the beach,or an exerting time learning to parasail and snorkel? Either climbinga mountain to see forever, or playing in the backyard with grandkids?Either dining on lobster tail at a swank club or eating your mother’sapple pie? Either flying to a full two weeks of Disney World, or drivingto Florida and back, stopping at everywhere in between? New car orcollege? Homework or shoot some hoops? Television or a game of check-ers? Hug or a kiss?When hearing that the family car has been in a fender-bender, isyour knee-jerk response asking how bad the damage is or if everyoneis all right? A few dollars goes for lottery tickets or into the collectionplate? Is a quarter on the sidewalk worth you bending over and pickingit up to put it in your pocket? Would you stop to pick up a candy wrap-per to put it in a trash can? Have you ever dropped a quarter in a store, just so the little kid next to you can “find” it?Another way to learn what someone holds important is to look attheir checkbook. What do you spend your “wealth” on? I hope to livewell, but when they open my wallet at my deathbed, I hope they findthat my “wealth” was giving my money, my time, myself to others.
Members of National Mutual Benefit branch #85 presented Lola Hulce with acheck in the amount of $6,300.20 to be used toward medical expenses. Thepresentation was done February 11. The matching funds bratwurst supperfundraiser was held January 19 at the commons area at the Philip High School.The brats were donated by Grossenburg Implement and the cookies were do-nated by Scotchman Industries employees. Shown, back row from left: Doug Hauk, Bruce Kroetch, Jim Kanable and Mike Koehler. Front: Becky Brech, MattReedy, Lola Hulce, Maureen Palecek and Pennie Slovek.
Courtesy photo
Hulce fundraiser results
To the person who took out a sec-tion of my redwood fence on SuperBowl weekend,You apparently need more spacefor your driving skills than whatthe alley roadway offers. So, if youwere to haul away what remains of the fence, then my property plusthe apron on the property next doorwould give you more room to ma-neuver. However the space does geta bit tighter as one goes up thealley, but I’m certain you can finda solution for that as well.Let me or the city police knowwhat you think about this as a so-lution to your problem.Sincerely,Lary OsburnPhilip, SD* * * * *Letter to the editor,Country of Origin Labeling(COOL) provides valuable informa-tion about the origin of the food wepurchase for our families. I am gladthat Senator Johnson and SenatorThune, along with 29 UnitedStates Senators, signed onto a bi-partisan letter to USDA and theUS Trade Representative to keepCOOL requirements in place. Be-cause Congress passed COOL, wenow have a legal right to know theorigin of our food. This makes good,common sense. Unfortunately, theWorld Trade Organization (WTO)is trying to force the United Statesto weaken our COOL law. Thanksto Senator Johnson and SenatorThune for reaching across the aisleto defend COOL against the WTO'sattack./s/ Kenny FoxBelvidere, S.D.
Letters to the Editor
The office of academic affairs atBlack Hills State University,Spearfish, has released the univer-sity’s dean’s list for the fall 2012 se-mester. A total of 737 studentsmaintained a grade point averageof 3.5 or above while taking at least12 credit hours to be named to thelist this semester.Included on the BHSU dean’s listare:Kianna Knutson, PhilipColby Smith, Quinn.
CollegeBriefs
 
Thursday, February 14, 2013 The Pioneer Review •
Page 3
Rural Livin’
View & download onlineproduction sale books at:
www.RavellettePublications.com
Managing Drought Risk onthe Ranch Webinar Series
The first of a five-part webinarseries focusing on drought plan-ning was held on Wednesday, Jan-uary 30, at each of the SouthDakota Regional Extension Cen-ters. The webinar series is beingpresented in partnership with theUniversity of Nebraska, An inter-ested group of just over 30 people,mostly cattle producers, assembledat the Winner Regional ExtensionCenter for the first session, whichserved as the introduction, “Man-aging Drought Risk on the Ranch:The Planning Process”. This firstsession set the stage by reviewingthe drought status and outliningthe benefit of setting critical datesfor making decisions based on cur-rent conditions.The webinar series will con-tinue at 10:00 a.m. CST on Febru-ary 27 covering “Avoiding AnalysisParalysis: Monitoring and SettingCritical Dates for Decision Makingduring Drought” with presentersincluding an NRCS RangelandManagement Specialist and twoKansas ranchers. Subsequent ses-sions will be held March 27, April24 and May 29, all at 10:00 amCST and hosted at each of theSouth Dakota Regional ExtensionCenters at Aberdeen, Watertown,Sioux Falls, Pierre, Mitchell, Win-ner, Rapid City and Lemmon.More information can be found atthe Managing Drought Risk on theRanch website, at http://drought.unl.edu/ranchplan.
Crop & Livestock Workshop
SDSU Extension will be holdinga Crop and Livestock Workshop atthe Jones County Courthouse inMurdo, beginning at 1:00 pm, Fri-day, March 1. Presenters will in-clude Dwayne Beck, Manager of the Dakota Lakes Research Farm, Adele Harty, Extension Cow-Calf Field Specialist, and Bob Fanning,Extension Plant Pathology FieldSpecialist.Topics to be addressed include, Assessing Your Winter WheatStand, Fertilizing Grass and otherforage crops, The Benefits of CoverCrops and Potential for LivestockForage, Meeting the NutritionNeeds of the Cow Herd with Vari-ous Forage Crops, Bale Grazingand Swath Grazing.Anyone interested is invited toattend and refreshments will beserved. For more information, con-tact Bob Fanning at 842-1267 orrobert.fanning@sdstate.edu.
Sunflower Hybrid Yield Trials
Several copies of the joint Northand South Dakota sunflower hy-brid trials for 2012 were recentlyshipped to the South Dakota Re-gional Extension Centers. Thesedocuments can extremely helpfulin evaluating the various hybridsand making selections for plantingin 2013. Plant height, plant pop-ulation, lodging, harvest moisture,test weight, oil content, seed yieldare typical entries, with days toflower and sunflower midge rat-ings included for selected sites.The South Dakota trial results canalso be accessed electronically at:http://igrow.org/up/resources/03-3026-2012.pdf. All of the SDSUCrop Variety Trial results can beaccessed at: http://igrow.org/agron-omy/profit-tips/variety-trial-re-sults/.
Calendar
2/20: PAT, 1:00 p.m. MT, WallCommunity Center, Wall2/27: Managing Drought Riskon the Ranch Webinar, 10:00 a.m.,SD Regional Extension Centers3/1: Crop & Livestock Work-shop, 1:00 p.m. CT, Jones CountyCourthouse, Murdo
Extension News
by Bob FanningField Specialist, WinnerRegional Extension Center
FOR SALE:
 Yearling Hereford BullsHorned & Dehorned
“Buy them now & I will keep them
’til May 15th.”
Phone: (605) 837-2531
Buster Peterson • Kadoka, SD
Members of the
Haakon CountyFarm Bureau Federation
are invited to attend the
ANNUAL MEETINGWednesday, February 13th
at
The Steakhouse in Philip
#%"#)&&&!&""")
##""!"&"%!%#!!"%!"!""%$#""#"""#!%%!'! 
%*$'$*&&&$'$'!%'$!!#"!"$&!&$(
First NationalBank in Philip
859-2525 • Philip, SD
Since 1906www.fnbphilip.com
Member FDIC
Forget to get to the bank?
NO PROBLEM, just BANK ONLINE atwww.fnbphilip.com. 24/7/365, wemake banking EASY and SAFE.
We will be closedMONDAY, FEBRUARY 18thin observance of Presidents Day
  
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
  

MidwestCooperatives
Annual Meeting
Thrsda, Febrar 21st
5:30 p.m.Legion Hall in Philip
Please RSVP by calling 859-2501
Good morning from Kadoka.What a difference a few days canmake. In our area, a predicted win-ter storm came in Saturday nightwith freezing rain after a full dayof fog. Interstate 90 was closed forabout 160 miles early in the daySunday and that was extendedeast to the Minnesota border andnorthward from Sioux Falls laterin the day. Many travelers mayscoff at the weather and proceedon, ignoring the dire consequencesof being caught in a blizzard. Thistime, winter was kind to all of us inthis area, only leaving a skiff of snow and winds that carried thatabout making visibility bad in theopen areas.I’m reading the book “The Chil-dren’s Blizzard” that occurred Jan-uary 12, 1888, sweeping across theDakotas, Nebraska and Minnesota.There were weather stations set upthat relayed weather informationby telegraph to towns, but it wasnearly impossible to get word tosettlers, nothing like the ability of citizens to know instant weather intoday’s world. We grouse about amissed forecast, but better to beforewarned and prepared than tobe caught by a blizzard unpre-pared.Monday, Bill was still in theRochester hospital. The goodthings was he was out of ICU andin a room and able to have food andlimited water. I took friend ChrisLayfield from Columbus, Ga., andwe explored the town of Rochester.There were many historical build-ings and lots of wonderful olderstructures. We had an enjoyable af-ternoon, away from the hospital.That evening, cousin Craig and PatBuswell from Hastings came andvisited Bill and me at the hospital,then I was their supper guest.Tony Harty was out and aboutMonday, picking up his mail thenvisited at the home of Shirley Hair.Tuesday was another story, he wasnot feeling the best so returnedhome after getting the mail.We got word that Kent andCindy O’Connell’s son, Michael,had bowled a score of 880 in leaguebowling, two 300 games and a 280one. Wow, congratulations on thatscore. He set records in the Min-neapolis, Minn., bowling alley.Robin Gittings, Kristie Eden,Doug Zinnel and Natalie andKohen Gittings left Monday morn-ing for Iowa. Kinsey Gittings tookhis grandpa, George Gittings, toPierre for a doctor's appointmentMonday. George and Kinsey took abed to Jessica Gittings thatevening in Philip. Sandee Gittingswent to Ft. Pierre Monday after-noon for three days of schooling forher job. She returned home Thurs-day afternoon.Tuesday morning as I peeked outof the window at my room inRochester, it was snowing and vis-ibility was not good. It was a goodtime to get the news done and notget too excited to get out on thestreets. About 10:30 I showed up atthe hospital to find that Bill wasdischarged! He got dressed and wehustled over to the motel to gatherup everything and were on the roadtoward Sioux Falls by noon. Theroads had improved, but snowdrifted across in different areas, soit meant pay attention to driving.We made Sioux Falls about 4:30and settled in at granddaughter Amanda and Adam Claflin’s for thenight. Amanda fixed supper and in-vited grandson Eric Seager andfamily for supper and visiting. Thekids are growing up fast.Don and Vi Moody had corral re-pairs to take care of earlier thisweek with the help of Brian Koehn. A partial windbreak was installedto fill a gap in the south corral.They were in Philip Tuesday onbusiness.Sympathy is extended to thefamilies of Bill Lee and Ida Hunt.Kinsey Gittings left for IowaTuesday. George Gittings was ableto work the sale in Philip.Wednesday morning early, Billand I were on the road to home. After settling in at home, greetingthe cat, working through the pile of mail on the table, and making sev-eral trips to an empty mailbox, I fi-nally called the postmistress. Shewas prepared, the mail carrier toldher we didn’t have any mail in casewe called to complain! It was goodto be home, we felt like “Dorothy”from the “Wizard of Oz.” There’s noplace like home.Wednesday, Ralph and CathyFiedler took advantage of a beauti-ful day and drove to Philip to seeCathy’s mom, Katy Drageset. Theyhad lunch with her at the nursinghomes, did a couple of errands forher, and stopped by the sale barncafé to visit with Diana andRichard Stewart, stopping back atthe nursing home for one morecheck on Katy before heading forSturgis.Don and Vi Moody left the ranchlate Wednesday evening headed totheir Rapid Valley place after hav-ing lunch at the PLA café. Theykept appointments in Rapid Thurs-day and enjoyed the nice weatherby taking a drive to Deadwood forlunch and an early Mardi Gras cel-ebration. They visited with Kathy(Pearson) Willuweit and saw friendBruce Weber, who had lost hiswife, Bonnie, who was playing in atournament. The Webers wereneighbors in Rapid Valley for along time and knew Phil and KarenCarley’s folks and many others inthe Valley. Bonnie used to driveinto Philip on business from Merri-man, Neb., where they soldhaystack movers. Friday, they re-turned home by way of Philip forDon's physical at Philip HealthServices and everything checkedout in fine order. It was figuredthat his dizziness wasn't the flushot after all, but possibly a bit of interior ear infection, but all waswell.Wednesday was another nice daywith temperatures in the 50s. TonyHarty picked up Shirley Hair andtook her to get the mail and visited.Valentine’s Day is fast approach-ing. The history of Valentine's Dayand the story of its patron saint isshrouded in mystery. We do knowthat February has long been cele-brated as a month of romance, andthat St. Valentine's Day, as weknow it today, contains vestiges of both Christian and ancient Romantradition. So it’s time to get thosecards in the mail, candy in hand orwhatever. It is quite an outstand-ing day when kids enjoy the collec-tion of cards from their friends andclassmates with a special box deco-rated to receive those cards. Thisholiday is celebrated February 14,in the United States and manycountries and is a good time toshow friendship. Don and ViMoody celebrate their anniversarythat day.Thursday, Tony Harty picked uphis and the Hair’s mail and deliv-ered it to Shirley, who was a littleunder the weather. Temperatureswere in the 50s again today.Friday, Lee Vaughan surprisedus with a visit in the afternoon.Phyllis Word and Tony Harty werealso visitors in the afternoon. An-other nice warm day was enjoyed.Friday after Cathy Fiedler got off work she and Ralph went toSpearfish to do some errands. Theystopped by the Don Klumb home todrop off some treats for the girls for Valentine’s Day. Caitlin and Tessaboth were resting because theywere not feeling well. Next, theywent out to the Eric Hanson hometo give Elsie and Loman their Valentine treats and had a nicevisit with Eric and Sherry and alsosaw Elsie’s science project she haddone. They stopped for some sup-per before heading home.Friday and Saturday, TonyHarty took it pretty easy, going outto eat and visited with Shirley Hairto check on her condition Friday.Saturday he talked with his niece,Kathy Brown, who was at awrestling meet in Wall and hecalled others to check on them aswell. He did go for groceries andthe mail and got things lined up incase the weather report was accu-rate.Saturday morning, Lee Vaughancame to our place and joined me fora trip to Chamberlain to the SouthDakota Pilots Association meeting.We picked up Myra Christensen atthe Vivian/Pierre exit on the way.The up and coming commander forCivil Air Patrol of the Pierresquadron also joined us for dinnerand the meeting. It was foggy allthe way there and we encounteredfreezing rain and fog on the wayhome. Grandson Zack Seagercalled and thought he may come fora visit, but we encouraged him tostay off the roads in case theweather did turn vicious as pre-dicted. Bill got cabin fever andwent to his “second home” thePhilip card room. Good therapy forwhat ails you.A huge blizzard hit the northeastpart of the United States again – this time Connecticut really re-ceived a bunch of snow. Vi Moodycalled her friend, Nancy Gaylord,Friday night when the storm al-ready had been snowing heavilyand then Nancy returned the callSunday to say they had 40" atBranford, Conn., near New Haven.Stalled cars were being lifted off the freeways with forklifts to clearthe roads for emergency personnel.The Weather Channel really gavecoverage on this situation againwith lots of pictures.Weather in the Sturgis area wasnice all week until Sunday whenwind, snow and blizzard conditionscame howling in. Only about fourinches of snow in Sturgis, but re-ally hard to tell with it blowingaround all day.When you get up to wind beatingat the walls you peek out the win-dow oh so carefully to see whathappened while you were sleeping.Only a light snow greeted us Sun-day morning and it was swirlingaround, trying to find a place tosettle. The freezing rain had accu-mulated into black ice however, soInterstate 90 was closed from Wallto Chamberlain early in the morn-ing, but only after a number of ve-hicles were swished off the roads,churches were cancelled and it wasa good day to stay home. Welearned that the emergency whis-tles had sounded two times at leastduring the night. Bill looked at meand said we better get our earschecked because we slept throughit all.
“We hear with our ears, but listenwith our eyes.” 
DaysiesBrian Koehn stopped by in theafternoon with a project for me totackle. 
“Happiness is a thing to be prac-ticed.” 
Daysies
 
Betwixt Places News
 by Marsha Sumpter • 837-2048 • bilmar@gwtc.net

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->