Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Buy Now $3.99
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword or section
Like this
8Activity

Table Of Contents

Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7
Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11
Chapter 12
Chapter 13
Chapter 14
Chapter 15
Chapter 16
Chapter 17
Chapter 18
Chapter 19
Chapter 20
Chapter 21
Chapter 22
Chapter 23
Chapter 24
Chapter 25
Chapter 26
Chapter 27
Chapter 28
Chapter 29
Chapter 30
Chapter 31
Chapter 32
Chapter 33
Chapter 34
Chapter 35
Chapter 36
Chapter 37
Chapter 39
Chapter 40
Chapter 41
Chapter 42
Chapter 43
Chapter 44
Chapter 45
Chapter 46
Chapter 47
Chapter 48
Chapter 49
Chapter 50
Chapter 51
Chapter 52
Chapter 53
Chapter 54
Chapter 55
Chapter 56
P. 1
Dangerous and Unseemly: A Concordia Wells Mystery

Dangerous and Unseemly: A Concordia Wells Mystery

Ratings: (0)|Views: 59 |Likes:

An unseemly lesson...in murder.

The year is 1896, and college professor Concordia Wells has her hands full: teaching classes, acting as live-in chaperone to a cottage of lively female students, and directing the student play, Macbeth. But mystery and murder are not confined to the stage, especially when the death of Concordia's sister, Mary, appears to be foul play. To make matters worse, the women's college is plagued by malicious pranks, arson, money troubles, and the apparent suicide of a college official. With her beloved school facing certain ruin, Concordia knows that she must act. As she struggles to seek justice for her sister and discover who is behind the college incidents, there are some closest to Concordia who do not appreciate the unseemly inquiries and bold actions of the young lady professor. Can she discover who is responsible...before she becomes the next target? Absorbing in its memorable characters, non-stop plot twists, and depiction of life in a late-nineteenth century women's college, Dangerous and Unseemly is a suspenseful and engaging contribution to the cozy historical mystery genre. Fans of Harriet Vane and Maisie Dobbs will find in Concordia Wells a new heroine to fall in love with.

"The exquisitely plotted mystery will keep you turning the pages well into the night, and the richness of the world will keep you thinking about the story long after you put it down."

~ Janice Hamrick, award-winning author of Death Makes the Cut

"What a perfectly enjoyable debut! The author seamlessly works in the finely wrought historical details that make the reader feel totally at home. ...truly a delight to read. I'll definitely be awaiting more adventures of the intrepid Miss Wells."

~ Martha Powers, award winning author of Conspiracy of Silence and Death Angel

An unseemly lesson...in murder.

The year is 1896, and college professor Concordia Wells has her hands full: teaching classes, acting as live-in chaperone to a cottage of lively female students, and directing the student play, Macbeth. But mystery and murder are not confined to the stage, especially when the death of Concordia's sister, Mary, appears to be foul play. To make matters worse, the women's college is plagued by malicious pranks, arson, money troubles, and the apparent suicide of a college official. With her beloved school facing certain ruin, Concordia knows that she must act. As she struggles to seek justice for her sister and discover who is behind the college incidents, there are some closest to Concordia who do not appreciate the unseemly inquiries and bold actions of the young lady professor. Can she discover who is responsible...before she becomes the next target? Absorbing in its memorable characters, non-stop plot twists, and depiction of life in a late-nineteenth century women's college, Dangerous and Unseemly is a suspenseful and engaging contribution to the cozy historical mystery genre. Fans of Harriet Vane and Maisie Dobbs will find in Concordia Wells a new heroine to fall in love with.

"The exquisitely plotted mystery will keep you turning the pages well into the night, and the richness of the world will keep you thinking about the story long after you put it down."

~ Janice Hamrick, award-winning author of Death Makes the Cut

"What a perfectly enjoyable debut! The author seamlessly works in the finely wrought historical details that make the reader feel totally at home. ...truly a delight to read. I'll definitely be awaiting more adventures of the intrepid Miss Wells."

~ Martha Powers, award winning author of Conspiracy of Silence and Death Angel

More info:

Published by: Dystel and Goderich Literary Management on Feb 20, 2013
Copyright:Traditional Copyright: All rights reserved
List Price: $3.99 Buy Now

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
See more
See less

01/07/2014

$3.99

USD

pdf

text

original

You're Reading a Free Preview
Pages 8 to 108 are not shown in this preview.
You're Reading a Free Preview
Pages 116 to 224 are not shown in this preview.
You're Reading a Free Preview
Pages 232 to 297 are not shown in this preview.
You're Reading a Free Preview
Pages 305 to 327 are not shown in this preview.
You're Reading a Free Preview
Pages 335 to 368 are not shown in this preview.

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->