Welcome to Scribd. Sign in or start your free trial to enjoy unlimited e-books, audiobooks & documents.Find out more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword or section
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Shukracharya Niti

Shukracharya Niti

Ratings: (0)|Views: 291|Likes:
Published by api-26073219

More info:

Published by: api-26073219 on Feb 22, 2009
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as DOC or read online from Scribd
See more
See less


Let us Start ReadingPuranas.Puranas are also a Treasure to Sanathana Dharma.
Let us start read one by one.We start withAGNIPURANAsame likebefore I will post Each Purana as part by part.
I Know while reading Manusmriti to readOther puranas may be difficult , but as you knowatleast to taste our great values inSananthana Dharma One Human life is not enough,so I try my level best to spread this valuesto my respected friends.
If anyone miss to read or interest to read my
previous postings ChanakyaNeetisastra, KautiliyaArthasastra,Vidura nitior TiruvallursTirukkural,andUddhavagitaor any part of Manusmritipls mail to me , I will send again to you.
 I humbly request you to forward this values to your family, friends and to your groups. Allow all people from different religion to understand the value of our Sanathana Dharma. At least let them learn and then let them criticize.
Here we start the translation of the text of the AGNIPURAN in Short atthe currently available form :I am not a scholar to modify any of this laws or puranas or its languagessuitable for modern life .I Humbly request you to read it and think in amodern scientific way. Like in Bhagavadgita Chapter 18 text 63 it is saidby lord Krishna
Thus I have explained to you knowledge still more confidential.Deliberate on this fully,and then do what you wish to do.
Agni Purana
 part… 1
The Agni Purana is a mahapurana. It usually figures eighth in the list of eighteen. There are about fifteen and a half thousand shlokas in the AgniPurana.
The Agni Purana is a tamasika purana. The others in this group are theMatsya, Kurma, Linga, Shiva and Skanda Puranas.The narrator of the Agni Purana is the fire-god Agni. Agni related thesubject matter of the Purana to the sage Vashishtha, who in turn, passedon the knowledge to Vyasadeva. Vyasadeva’s disciple Suta learnt thePurana from his teacher.Many sages had assembled in the forest naimisharanya. The mostimportant of these sages was Shounaka. All these holy men wished tohear what the Agni Purana had to say. And that is how Suta came torelate the Purana.The Agni Purana has no separate sections as such. It is simply split upinto three hundred and eighty-three adhyayas (chapters). One of thesechapters, chapter number 380, is rather interesting. It gives in capsuleform the essence of advaita brahmajnana. The brahman is the divinespirit and brahmajnana means the knowledge of the brahman. Advaitameans one. Advaita brahmajnana teaches of the union of the individualhuman soul (atman) with the brahman. The sections in the Agni Puranaare nothing but a summary of the teachings of the Vedas and theUpanishadas. These holy texts were difficult to understand, there wererestrictions on who might read them and who might not. The Puranaswere available to everyone. Anyone could read them or listen to theirrecitations. Thus, this supreme knowledge of brahmajnana wassummarised for the general population through the Puranas.The Agni Purana is full of rituals. Its chapters are generally not long,they are very brief. And even when the stories are given, they are ingreatly summarized form. They can be obtained in far more fascinatingdetail in the other Puranas. For example, you will wonder why so muchhas been missed out about Rama. But that is because you are familiarwith the story of the Ramayana. And you will also wonder why so muchhas been missed out about the Kauravas and the Pandavas. But thatagain is because you are familiar with the story of the Mahabharata.This is no doubt partly due to the fact that the Agni Purana was writtenmuch after many of the other Puranas. It was a supplement to the otherPuranas. The stories were already there in the other Puranas, what wasmissing in them were the rituals. And the rituals are very much part andparcel of the Vedic tradition. The Agni Purana was also written at a timewhen the brahmana religion had become much more ritualistic. Thesupremacy of the brahmana as a caste is much more pronounced in theAgni Purana than in the other Puranas.Tradition too says that the Puranas differ in character because they werewritten in different kalpas (cycles). The Agni Purana itself with tell youlater what a kalpa is.PreliminariesIn the forest that is known as naimisharanya, Shounaka and the otherrishis (sages) were performing a yajna (sacrifice) dedicated to the LordVishnu. Suta had also come there, on his way to a pilgrimage.The sages told Suta, "We have welcomed you. Now describe to us that
which makes men all-knowning. Describe to us that which is the mostsacred in the whole world."Suta replied, "Vishnu is the essence of everything. I went to a hermitagenamed vadrika with Shuka, Paila and other sages and met Vyasadevathere. Vyasadeva described to me that which he had learnt from thegreat sage Vashishtha, Vashishtha having learnt it from the god Agnihimself. The Agni Purana is sacred because it tells us about the essenceof the brahman (the divine essence). I learnt all this from Vyasadeva andI will now tell you all that I have learnt."Avataras Do you know what an avatara is? An avatara is an incarnation and meansthat a god adopts a human form to be born on earth. Why do gods dothis? This purpose is to destroy evil on earth and establish righteousness.Vishnu is regarded as the preserver of the universe and it is thereforeVishnu’s incarnations that one encounters most often. Vishnu hasalready had nine such incarnations and the tenth and final incarnation isdue in the future. These ten incarnations of Vishnu are as follows.(1) Matsya avatara or fish incarnation(2) Kurma avatara or turtle incarnation(3) Varaha avatara or boar incarnation(4) Narasimha avatara - an incarnation in the form of a being who washalf-man and half-lion(5) Vamana avatara or dwarf incarnation(6) Parashurama(7) Sri Rama(8) Sri Krishna(9) Buddha(10) Kalki ¾ this is the incarnation that is yet to come.The Agni Purana now describes these ten incarnations.Matsya avatara or fish incarnationAgni told Vashishtha the story of the fish incarnation.Many years ago, the whole world was destroyed. The destruction in factextended to all the three lokas (worlds) of bhuloka, bhuvarloka andsvarloka. Bhuloka is the earth, svarloka or svarga is heaven andbhuvarloka is a region between the earth and heaven. All three worldswere flooded with water.Vaivasvata Manu was the son of the sun-god. He had spent ten thousand

Activity (3)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 hundred reads
1 thousand reads
Chandan G Naik liked this

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->