Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Save to My Library
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Shaiv Darshan According to Narada Purana

Shaiv Darshan According to Narada Purana

Ratings: (0)|Views: 23 |Likes:
Published by Vishnu Arya
Shaiv Darshan According to Narada Purana
Shaiv Darshan According to Narada Purana

More info:

Published by: Vishnu Arya on Mar 08, 2013
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as DOCX, PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





Shaiv DarshanAccording toNarada Purana
{edit. : Vishnu Arya }
Shaiv Darshan
is also known as "Shivaagam", "Shaiv Mahaatantra", "PaashupatDarshan". Its principles are described in Naarad Puraan, 1/26.
According to Shaiv Darshan, there are three materials (Pashu - which is bound,Paash - with which to bind, and Pashupati - Shiv); and four means (Vidyaa,Kriyaa, Yog, and Charyaa - activities which are regularly done).
When one takes a Mantra methodically from Guru, is called Deekshaa. ThisDeekshaa cannot be completed without the knowledge of Mantra, Mantreshwarand Vidyeshwar etc animals. One can identify Pashu, Paash and Pashupati onlyfrom this knowledge. Therefore to get Deekshaa, the cause of Paramaarth, thefirst step is "Vidyaa". According to various learned people, Deekshaa is ofvarious types. Thus all the activities performed involved in taking Deekshaa, thesecond step, are called "Kriyaa". But without Ashtaang Yog one cannot achieve
his goal, that is why "Yog" as the third step, is necessary. And Yog is completedonly when people do Shaastra prescribed Karm, and abandon Shaastraprohibited Karm. Thus all these Karm (prescribed and prohibited ones) arecalled "Charyaa" - the fourth step.
Pati or Pashupati
Only Shiv is Pati or Pashupati. Maheshwar has five jobs to do - creation,maintenance, destruction, deterioration, and to bestow Var. AlthoughVidyeshwar etc become like Shiv, but still they are not independent, they aresubordinate to Parameshwar. Where Shiv is described with attributes forworship, there also he is not shown in physical body. Because he is pure that iswhy his form is Shakti (Power). Maheshwar's form is described in Mantra formin Upanishad.
Pashu is the name of Jeevaatmaa or Kshetragya. Pashu is called whatever isbound by Paash (by which something is tied). This Jeev is bound by Paash, thatis why he is called Pashu. In fact Jeev is not an atom, but is widespread andimmortal - this is clearly stated in Shaiv Darshan. But this Jeev, in this state -in Pashu (bound) state, is equipped with limited powers, still he is not non-doerlike the Purush of Gyaan Yog, because after he is freed from Paash, he alsobecomes equipped with unlimited Gyaan and action powers.
Pashu is of three types -(1) Vigyaanaakal - Who destroys the fruits of his Karm by Jap, meditation andSanyaas or by enjoying after knowing Paramaatmaa's form; and because of
destruction of Karm, who has no binding of body or Indriyaan, he is calledVigyaanaakal. He is bound only with Mal (A-Gyaan, or ignorance, or Maayaa)Paash. Dirt Paash is of three types - Aanav Mal, Karmaj Mal, and Maayeya mal.Only Aanav Mal remains in Vigyaanaakal. Because he frees himself by Vigyaanthat is why he is called Vigyaanaakal.(2) Pralayaakal - Whichever Jeevaatmaa's body and Indriyaan are absorbed inPralaya Kaal (time), he does not have Maayeya Mal, but remain only Aanav andKarmaj Mal. Because he is destroyed in Pralaya Kaal that is why he is calledPralayaakal.(3) Sa-Kal - Whichever Jeevaatmaa is bound with all the three Paash - Aanav,Maayeya and Karmaj; he is called Sa-Kal (Sa means "with", and Kal means"aspects", so Sa-Kal means "with all aspects", means completely)
According to Naarad Puraan, Paash are said to be of five types - Malaj (bornfrom Mal), Karmaj (born from Karm), Maayeya (born from Maayaa), Tirodhaan -Shaktij, and Binduj. Modern Shaiv Darshan mentions four types - Mal, Rodh,Karm, and Maayaa. Rodh power and Tirodhaan power are the same. Bindu is aform of Maayaa and can be known as Shiv Tattwa.(1) Mal Paash - Whatever covers the natural knowledge and action power ofAatmaa is called mal (A-Gyaan, or ignorance, or Maayaa). This Mal not onlycovers him but also leads him to do bad Karm.(2) Rodh Paash - Whatever capacity a material has in it, is called Shiv's power,for example, burning power in fire. In whatever kind of material it resides, ittakes the same form - good or bad. Therefore when this power of Paash coversthe real form of Aatmaa, it is called "Rodh power" or "Tirodhaan power". In thisstate, Jeev considers his body as Aatmaa (soul), and is busy in nourishing hisbody, not in uplifting his Aatmaa.(3) Karm Paash - All Karm done with the desire of fruits are called Karm Paash.(4) Maayaa Paash - All becomes absorbed in whichever power at the timePralaya; and is created at the time of creation, is called Maayaa Paash. [Thispoints out towards the Ultimate Power, because He is the only Power in which allbecomes absorbed at the time of Pralaya and is created at the time Creation.]
Therefore the Pashu (this body), bound with these Paash, cuts them by Tattwaknowledge, then only he attains Shiv or Pashupati status.
Deekshaa is the means to attain Shiv. Parameshwar, living in the body of Guru,helps Jeev to attain Shiv by giving him Deekshaa. Whatever body is taken by

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->