Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
(64) the Puranas, The Itihas and the Avataras (Descensions) of God.

(64) the Puranas, The Itihas and the Avataras (Descensions) of God.

Ratings: (0)|Views: 3|Likes:
Published by Bharavi Kothapalli

More info:

Published by: Bharavi Kothapalli on Mar 10, 2013
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





(64) The Puranas, the Itihas and the avataras (descensions) of God.
(64) The Puranas, the Itihasand the
(descensions) of God.
There are 18 Puranas: Brahm Puran, Padm Puran, Vishnu Puran, Vayu Puran, Bhagwat Maha Puran, Narad Puran,Markandeya Puran, Agni Puran, Bhavishya Puran, Brahm Vaivart Puran, Ling Puran, Varah Puran, Skand Puran,Vaman Puran, Kurm Puran, Matsya Puran, Garud Puran and Brahmand Puran.Ramayan and Mahabharat are called the
(history) books because, along with the regular description of their own topic, they also tell a lot about the general history of that period.
The ten
Varah, Matsya, Kachchap, Nrasingh, Vaman, Parashuram, Ram, Krishn, Buddh and Kalki.
The twenty-four
Sankadik, Narad, Varah, Nar Narain, Kapil, Dattatreya, Yagya Purush, Rishabhdev, King Prithu, Matsya,Kachchap, Mohini, Dhanvantari, Nrasingh, Vaman, Hans, Haigreev, Parashuram, Ram, Ved Vyas, Balram,Krishn, Buddh and Kalki.
 Allegorizing a Divine event is a grave transgression.
It is a common saying that all the descensions of God are absolute and Their forms are eternal.It means that the same Divine descensions always keep on happening inevery
, and some of them may happen quite a few times during a
and all those forms of descensionsalways exist.Out of all the descensions the descensions of Bhagwan Ram and Krishn are the most important from thedevotional point of view. Bhagwan Ram established the form of true selfless
and Bhagwan Krishn revealedthe ultimate magnificence of the selfless
, which binds even Krishn with its sweet loving string.Other descensions are occasional descensions meant for a particular purpose. For example: The descension of Ved Vyas was for the reproduction of all the scriptures, and of Kapil was to reveal the Sankhya Darshan; still allthese forms are eternal.Some ignorant materialistic writers have tried to allegorize and compare the descensions of Kachchap, Matsya,Varah and Nrasingh etc. on the lines of the modern evolution theory. (How illogical and unscientific the evolutiontheory is, has already been discussed inarticle 44.)
You should know that allegorizing a Divine event ormisrepresenting the Divine theme of the scriptures that have been produced by our
, is such agrave transgression that could never be redeemed by any amount of good deeds. It directly pollutes themind of the doer and blocks the spiritual receptivity of his mind.
Divine events are Divine by all means and have Divine purpose behind them. For example: The unimaginablyhuge Kachchap (tortoise) descension happened when there was a need to hold and to keep the celestial mountainSumeru floating on the celestial ocean,
cheer sagar 
, during the famous ocean churning event (
 samudra manthan
)of the celestial world. Similarly there are certain Divine reasons for other descensions. Thus, all of these eventsand descensions are the actual Divine happenings and they must be taken in the same light. One should not try tothrow his materiality into the Divine matters.
(64) ThePuranas, theItihas and the
(descensions) of God.
http://www.encyclopediaofauthentichinduism.org/articles/64_the_avatars_descensions.htm (1 of 2) [9/16/2009 8:05:14 AM]

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->