Welcome to Scribd. Sign in or start your free trial to enjoy unlimited e-books, audiobooks & documents.Find out more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
WA State AG Complaint - New - 19

WA State AG Complaint - New - 19

Ratings: (0)|Views: 33|Likes:
These are the current complaints against Getty Images that are on file with the Washington State Attorney General office. These are complaints about Getty’s Settlement Demand letters sent out over alleged copyright infringement and are done in such a way that many call it “Legalized Extortion” as Getty refuses to provide any proof whatsoever of their claim, give unrealistic and artificial deadlines for payment, make veiled threats of an eminent impending lawsuit all of which are designed to instill fear and panic making the letter recipient pay before they can do any research and find out what is going on.
These are the current complaints against Getty Images that are on file with the Washington State Attorney General office. These are complaints about Getty’s Settlement Demand letters sent out over alleged copyright infringement and are done in such a way that many call it “Legalized Extortion” as Getty refuses to provide any proof whatsoever of their claim, give unrealistic and artificial deadlines for payment, make veiled threats of an eminent impending lawsuit all of which are designed to instill fear and panic making the letter recipient pay before they can do any research and find out what is going on.

More info:

Categories:Types, Business/Law
Published by: Copyright Anti-Bullying Act (CABA Law) on Mar 12, 2013
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

03/12/2013

pdf

text

original

 
Status
Amount DisputedActual SavingsEstimated Savings
Activities
Location NAICS
Complainant
Number
Date NameContactPhoneToll FreeEmail
Getty Images6055th Ave S Ste 400Seattle, WA98104(206) 925-6753copyright.compliance@gettyimages.com420183
11/7/2012
Respondent(s)Complaint
Bellingham - Consumer Protection DivisionDate AddedActivity TypeActivity11/8/2012Email to RespondentR First Letter to Respondent To:copyright.compliance@gettyimages.com11/8/2012Email to ComplainantC First Letter to Consumer To:im@jamescipriani.com12/6/2012Email from Respondent541920-Photographic Services
AssigneeBouwman, Jeanette
$0.00$0.00$0.00CodePractice025Refund Policies316Billing Issues
Practice(s)
Closed
Referral(s)
 NameContactPhone ContactPhoneEmail
420183
CatalystComplaint Cover Page
 NamePhone DayPhone EveningEmail
James Cipriani1120 Federal RdBrookfield, CT06804(203) 775-5128im@jamescipriani.com
1 of 2
420183
 
Date AddedActivity TypeActivity12/10/2012Phone Call to Complainantcalled C to see if this had been resolved to hissatiisfaction as I am not sure how to close the file12/13/2012Email to ComplainantCsup No Response from Complainant (C- NRCOMP) To: jim@jamescipriani.com12/13/2012Email from ComplainantAttachment is document "B."12/17/2012Email to ComplainantCsup Closing Adjusted Enclosure Included (C-ADJ) To: jim@jamescipriani.com12/17/2012Email to RespondentRsup Closing Adjusted (R-ADJ) To:copyright.compliance@gettyimages.com12/17/2012Resolution-CLOSED ADJUSTED12/18/2012Email from Complainant12/20/2012Email to ComplainantCsup Closing Adjusted Enclosure Included (C-ADJ) To: jim@jamescipriani.com2 of 2
420183
 
Description
I realize you are a very busy person. I just want to make you aware of (I'm sure you already are) of a major scam being run out of your state.Getty Images is citing copyright infringement in extortion letters. The letters are harassing in nature. And theyare a flat out scam.I have received multiple ones for the same image. The first letter scared me enough to settle out of my pocketfor$950! That was out of being naive. I have since began some investigating. Part of my investigation leadme to the US Copyright website only to find out that the image that they are trying to extort money out of meisn't even in the database.I hope with my one complaint compounded by, I'm sure, all of the other complaints you get that this can bestopped.I'm a small business owner that uses my position in my town to educate my community on health and fitness. Ididn't even use this image for monetary gain. I'm sure there are a ton like me out there.Please help!Expected resolution details: A refund of my $950 would be nice. There are a lot out there like me. Thousands.Maybe millions. Getty needs a cease order on this practice.
Complaint Description
Catalyst Report

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->