P. 1
Asteroid Final Report

Asteroid Final Report

Ratings: (0)|Views: 2,192 |Likes:
Published by masslive
NASA is planning for a robotic spaceship to lasso a small asteroid and park it near the moon for astronauts to explore. The ship would capture the 500-ton, 25-foot asteroid in 2019. Then using an Orion space capsule, a crew of about four astronauts would nuzzle up next to the rock in 2021 for spacewalking exploration, according to a government document.
NASA is planning for a robotic spaceship to lasso a small asteroid and park it near the moon for astronauts to explore. The ship would capture the 500-ton, 25-foot asteroid in 2019. Then using an Orion space capsule, a crew of about four astronauts would nuzzle up next to the rock in 2021 for spacewalking exploration, according to a government document.

More info:

Published by: masslive on Apr 05, 2013
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

04/05/2013

pdf

text

original

 
 
1
 
 Asteroid Retrieval Feasibility Study
 
2 April 2012
 
Prepared for the:
Keck Institute for Space StudiesCalifornia Institute of TechnologyJet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, California
 
 
2
 
 
 
3
 Authors and Study Participants
NAME Organization E-Mail Signature
John Brophy Co-Leader / NASA JPL / Caltech john.r.brophy@jpl.nasa.govFred Culick Co-Leader / Caltechfecfly@caltech.eduLouis FriedmanCo-Leader / The PlanetarySocietylouis.friedman@planetary.org
 
Carlton Allen NASA JSCCarlton.C.Allen@nasa.gov
 
David Baughman Naval Postgraduate Schooldavidcbaughman@me.comJulie BelleroseNASA ARC/Carnegie MellonUniversity julie.bellerose@nasa.gov
 
Bruce Betts The Planetary Societybruce.betts@planetary.org
 
Mike Brown Caltechmbrown@caltech.eduMichael Busch UCLAmbusch@ess.ucla.edu
 
John Casani NASA JPLJohn.R.Casani@jpl.nasa.govMarcello Coradini ESAMarcello.Coradini@jpl.nasa.govJohn Dankanich NASA GRCJohn.Dankanich@nasa.gov
 
Paul Dimotakis CaltechPaul.E.Dimotakis@jpl.nasa.gov
 
Martin ElvisHarvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysicselvis@cfa.harvard.edu
 
Ian Garrick-Bethel UCSCigarrick@ucsc.edu
 
Bob Gershman NASA JPLRobert.Gershman@jpl.nasa.gov
 
Tom JonesFlorida Institute for Human andMachine Cognitionskywalking@comcast.netDamon Landau NASA JPLDamon.Landau@jpl.nasa.gov
 
Chris Lewicki Arkyd Astronauticschris@arkyd.com
 
John Lewis University of Arizona jsl@U.Arizona.edu
 
Pedro Llanos USCllanos@usc.edu
 
Mark Lupisella NASA GSFCmark.l.lupisella@nasa.gov
 
Dan Mazanek NASA LaRCDaniel.D.Mazanek@nasa.gov
 
Prakhar Mehrotra Caltechprakhar@caltech.edu
 
Joe Nuth NASA GSFC joseph.a.nuth@nasa.gov
 
Kevin ParkinNASA ARC/Carnegie MellonUniversityKevin.L.Parkin@nasa.gov
 
Rusty Schweickart B612 Foundationrs@well.com
 
Guru Singh NASA JPLgurkirpal.singh@jpl.nasa.gov
 
Nathan Strange NASA JPLNathan.J.Strange@jpl.nasa.gov
 
Marco Tantardini The Planetary Societymarco.tantardini@gmail.comBrian Wilcox NASA JPLBrian.H.Wilcox@jpl.nasa.gov
 
Colin Williams NASA JPLColin.P.Williams@jpl.nasa.gov
 
Willie Williams NASA JSCWillie.B.Williams@nasa.gov
 
Don Yeomans NASA JPLDonald.K.Yeomans@jpl.nasa.gov

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->