Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Save to My Library
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
The Main Lebanese Political Parties

The Main Lebanese Political Parties



|Views: 11,138|Likes:
Published by Deen Sharp
A basic guide to the main Lebanese political parties in Lebanon; a list of the main factions; the Lebanese government and cabinet.
A basic guide to the main Lebanese political parties in Lebanon; a list of the main factions; the Lebanese government and cabinet.

More info:

Published by: Deen Sharp on Mar 20, 2009
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





A Basic Guide:Lebanon’s Main Political Groups
By Deen Shariff SharpResearcher and Freelance JournalistContact: deensharp@gmail.comJanuary, 20091
The Lebanese Government Post-Doha Agreement
President:Michel SleimanAssumed office: May, 2008Prime Minister:
Fouad SinioraAffiliated (with Future Movement)Assumed office: July, 2005Speaker of the House: Nabhi Berri(Party Head of Amal)Assumed office: November, 1992
Due to the National Pact, an unwritten agreement created in 1943, the President must beMaronite Christian, the Prime Minister Sunni Muslim and the Speaker of the House Shia’Muslim.
This agreement was made after the clashes in May 2008 and ended an 18 month long political crisis. Theagreement resulted in the election of General Sleiman to the Presidency; the formation of a national unitygovernment that consisted of 16 ministers from the majority, 11 ministers from the opposition and threeministers selected by the President. Importantly this agreement gave the opposition members a veto in thenational unity government.
Deputy Prime Minister
InteriorZiad Baroud (President Quota)
Issam Abu Jamra (FPM)
Foreign Affairs
DefenseElias Murr (President Quota)
Fawzi SalloukhAmal*Finance TelecommunicationsMohammed Chattah FMGebran Bassil FPMEducation HealthBahia Hariri FM
Mohammad Jawad Khalifeh (Amal)
Agriculture LaborElias Skaff C&R Mohammad Fneich HezbollahPower, Energy and Water Public WorksAlain Tabourian C&RGhaziAridi PSPYouth and Sport CultureTalal Arslan LDP Tammam SalamDisplaced Persons InformationRamond AudiTarek MitriEconomy & Trade IndustryMohammad Safadi FMGhazi Zeaiter AmalJustice Social AffairsIbrahim Naar LFMario Aoun FPMTourism
Development AffairsIbrahim Shamssedine
Elias Marouni KataebEnvironmentAntoine Karam LF
Ministers without portfolio: Wael Abu Faour (PSP), Nassib Lahoud (DRP), JeanOgaspian (FM), Khalid Qabbani (FM), Ali Qanso (SSNP), Youssef Taqla (PresidentQuota)
* = Independent but affiliated with party listed

Activity (25)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 hundred reads
1 thousand reads
Tamara Bst liked this
Tamara Bst liked this
k.ghazzi3580 liked this
Youssef Moukhtar liked this
klaraskovlund liked this
Joe Namy liked this

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->