Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Save to My Library
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
In Memoriam 2011-2013

In Memoriam 2011-2013

Ratings: (0)|Views: 79 |Likes:
Published by cwaunion
As we meet in Pittsburgh, PA, for the 74th Convention of the Communications Workers of America, we remember those who are no longer with us. We honor our colleagues and their contributions to building our union.
As we meet in Pittsburgh, PA, for the 74th Convention of the Communications Workers of America, we remember those who are no longer with us. We honor our colleagues and their contributions to building our union.

More info:

Published by: cwaunion on May 20, 2013
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





In Memoriam
2011 - 2013
In Memoriam
Gloria Johnson
,CWA’s women’sactivities coordina-tor and founder of the Coalition of Labor UnionWomen, was astaunch defender of women’s and civilrights. At CLUW,she served as president from 1993 to2004 and secretary-treasurer for 17years prior. Gloria fought for equalaccess to economic opportunities andwas a prominent voice on a number of issues including women’s health, familyand medical leave, sweatshops, laborlaw reform and voter education. Gloriagot her start as an IUE bookkeeper in1954 and rose to become chair of theIUE Women’s Council, director of IUE’s Social Action Department and avice president. In 1993, she became thesecond African-American woman to beelected an AFL-CIO vice president.When IUE merged with CWA in 2000,she was named CWA’s women’s activi-ties coordinator. After stepping downfrom CLUW, she led the newly createdLabor Coalition for Community Action.She retired in 2005, and died onFebruary 13, 2013 at age 85.
Connie Knox
,a Baltimore Sunstaffer who wasactive in theNewspaper Guildfor more than threedecades, was a wittywriter, nurturingeditor and mentorto scores of journal-ists. After stints with the WaterburyRepublican-American and the
As we meet here in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania,for the 74th Convention of theCommunications Workers of America,we remember thosewho are no longer with us.We honor our colleagues and theircontributions to building our union.
coalition building. Through his leader-ship, union and progressive alliesdefeated Ohio’s Senate Bill 5, whichattacked the bargaining rights of publicworkers. He was a behind-the-scenespowerhouse who never wavered in theface of successive attacks on workers’rights across the Midwest. Seth chairedthe CWA Executive Board Committeeon Organizing and was a founding mem-ber of Jobs with Justice and Stand Upfor Ohio. Seth Rosen died on July 20,2012 at age 55, as he and the bargainingteam were successfully negotiating a ten-tative agreement for 15,000 CWA mem-bers at AT&T Midwest.
Patrick Scanlon
,former CWA gen-eral counsel,devoted his entirelegal career toworkers’ rights. Inwhat he consideredhis greatest achieve-ment, CWA won a$60 million mater-nity leave settlement at a former AT&Tsubsidiary — securing back pay andseniority credit for 13,000 workers. In1980, he was named associate generalcounsel for District 3, and in 1986, hemoved to CWA headquarters. As gen-eral counsel, Patrick advised CWA lead-ers on the legal conduct of strikes, con-tract details and grievances andsupervised all aspects of arbitration,trying more than 200 cases each year.He also served as the CWA convention’slongtime parliamentarian, as well as co-chair of the American Bar Association’sequal employment opportunity andinternational labor law committees. Heretired in 2005. Patrick Scanlon died onApril 4, 2012 at age 71.Willoughby News-Herald, Connie beganworking at The Sun in 1978. She thengot involved in the Washington-Baltimore Guild, where she served asunit chair at The Sun, local vice presi-dent and president for 12 years. In1991, she was elected an at-large vicepresident for TNG-CWA and laterserved as TNG-CWA vice president forRegion 2. In 2008, she was elected TNG-CWA International Chair. She retired inApril 2011 and died a few months lateron July 17, 2011. She was 68.
Ray Myers
, execu-tive president of theRetired Members’Council, spent hisworking and retire-ment years buildingCWA. He startedhis career in thelabor movement in1957, working forBell of Pennsylvania. He was electedpresident of Local 23 of the Federationof Telephone Workers of Pennsylvania,and he continued to serve in that posi-tion following its merger with CWA in1984. Later in life, he never missed theopportunity to join a picket line andsupport retiree efforts. He was electedexecutive president of the RMC in 2010and also served as president of RMCDistrict 13. Ray Myers was editing anemail to his retiree chapter when hedied on March 15, 2012 at age 73.
Robert “Ben”Porch
, a retiredvice president of District 3, was oneof the youngestCWA leaders everelected. Working asa lineman forSouthern Bell inAlabama, he joinedthe newly formed CommunicationsWorkers of America union at age 24.Ben went on to serve as AlabamaDirector, North Georgia Director andNorth Carolina, Tennessee andKentucky Director. In 1967, he waselected District 3 vice president. Heserved as vice president and in otherpositions within CWA, then was re-elected District 3 Vice President in 1978,serving until his retirement in 1987. In1988, the COPE Hall of Fame Awardwas named for Porch in recognition of his tremendous support for CWA’spolitical action program. He died onDecember 31, 2012 at age 88.
Seth Rosen,
District 4 vice presi-dent, fought tire-lessly for workers’rights. He joinedCWA Local 4309while working atOhio Bell andserved as an officerand chief steward.He led District 4’s organizing programand became administrative director tothen District 4 Vice President Jeff Rechenbach. Seth was elected vice pres-ident of District 4 in 2005 and was aleader in organizing, bargaining and

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->