used by other companies offering the same or similar goods and services as the Complainant.The Respondent submits that he has a right and legitimate interests in respect of the Domain Name. He notes that the Complainantdoes not have an exclusive right to the trademark “midland heart” except in the area for which it is registered and argues that he has alegal right to use it in other areas. He points out that tenants of the Complainant are entitled to call themselves “Midland Heart Tenants”.He records that use of the Domain Name began before he was notified of the Complaint.The Respondent further maintains that genuine, fair and non-commercial use of the Domain Name has been made since it wasregistered, in that the Domain Name and website to which it is directed serve as a medium through which tenants can express critical or appreciative comments about the Complainant, and advice, educate and support each other. He adds that it gives the Complainant achance to hear the opinions of tenants who are usually underneath its radar.As regards the Complainant’s allegation of bad faith registration and use, the Respondent submits that the reason why the Complainantdid not renew its registration of the Domain Name is irrelevant and points out that it was available for at least three months before heregistered it. He states that the Domain Name was registered and has been used for non-commercial purposes, and that it was notregistered to stop the Complainant from registering or using it, nor for the purpose of resale. He maintains that the comments posted onthe website about the Complainant are true and fair and notes that the Complainant has not instituted proceedings for defamation.In relation to his email referred to in the Complaint, the Respondent stated that he was replying to an email from a tenant of theComplainant which was itself a copy of a complaint previously sent by that tenant to the Complainant. According to the Respondent, thetenant was not confused and was merely acting on the suggestion made on the Respondent’s website to send him copies of complaintswhich had already been made to the Complainant. In the view of the Respondent, his reply to the tenant also made it clear that hisgroup was not the Complainant.
6. Discussion and Findings
In accordance with paragraph 4(a) of the Policy, in order to succeed in this proceeding, the Complainant must prove (i) that the DomainName is identical or confusingly similar to a mark in which it has rights; (ii) that the Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests inrespect of the Domain Name; and (iii) that the Domain Name has been registered and is being used in bad faith. These requirementswill be considered in turn.
A. Identical or Confusingly Similar
The Panel finds that the Complainant has registered and unregistered rights in its logo containing the words “midland heart”. The Panelfurther finds that the Complainant has unregistered rights in the word mark MIDLAND HEART. Although this combination of words hassome descriptive connotation, it is far from being generic and has evidently been used by the Complainant on a substantial scale. ThePanel considers that many tenants, suppliers and others dealing with the Complainant would understand MIDLAND HEART to identifythe Complainant, such that the Complainant has rights in this mark.The Panel finds that the Domain Name is confusingly similar to the Complainant’s logo and identical to the word mark MIDLAND HEARTfor the purposes of the first element of the UDRP, paragraph 4(a)(i). It is well established that this requires a comparison between thedisputed domain name and the complainant’s mark irrespective of the content of any website at the disputed domain name: seeparagraph 1.2 of the WIPO Overview of WIPO Panel Views on Selected UDRP Questions. The content of a respondent’s website maybe relevant to the second and third requirements of the Policy but does not affect the assessment of the first.As noted above, although the words “Midland Heart” have some descriptive connotation, they are not wholly generic. Even if, as theRespondent asserts, other entities also use the same or similar names, the Panel considers that for many people who deal with theComplainant, “Midland Heart” identifies the Complainant rather than other organizations. In the circumstances the Panel finds that manypeople would suppose that a website url or email address using the Domain Name is operated by the Complainant.The first requirement of the Policy is satisfied.
B. Rights or Legitimate Interests
There has been a diversity of decisions under the UDRP as to the application of its second requirement in relation to the use of adomain name identical to a complainant’s mark for a website providing genuine criticism of the Complainant. This Panel adheres to theview expressed in
Fundación Calvin Ayre Foundation v. Erik Deutsch
,WIPO Case No. D2007-1947, and other cases, that such use isneither inherently incompatible with the UDRP, nor always permitted by the UDRP, and that its compatibility with the UDRP depends onthe circumstances.In particular, this Panel has identified the following criteria considered in the
Fundación Calvin Ayre Foundation
case,
supra
, as relevantin assessing whether a respondent had a right or legitimate interest for the purpose of the UDRP in a domain name identical to acomplainant’s mark:(a) Has the domain name been registered and is it being used genuinely for the purpose of criticising the owner of the mark?
IPO Domain Name Decision: D2009-0076http://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/decisions/html/2009/d2009-0076.html3 of 54/28/2009 4:15 PM
Leave a Comment