Welcome to Scribd. Sign in or start your free trial to enjoy unlimited e-books, audiobooks & documents.Find out more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Im Project

Im Project

Ratings: (0)|Views: 1|Likes:
Published by Komal Singh

More info:

Published by: Komal Singh on Sep 25, 2013
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as DOCX, PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





Introduction to SAARC
The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is an organization of SouthAsian nations, founded in 1985 and dedicated to economic, technological, social, and culturaldevelopment emphasizing collective self-reliance. Its seven founding members areBangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Afghanistan joinedthe organization in 2007. Meetings of heads of state are usually scheduled annually; meetingsof foreign secretaries, twice annually. Headquarters are in Kathmandu, Nepal.
 The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is an economicand political organization of eight countries in Southern Asia. In terms of population, itssphere of influence is the largest of any regional organization: almost 1.5 billion people, thecombined population of its member states. In the late 1970s, Bangladesh President Ziaur Rahman proposed the creation of a trade blocconsisting of South Asian countries. TheBangladeshi proposal was accepted by India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka during a meeting held inColombo in 1981. In August 1983, the leaders adopted the Declaration on South AsianRegional Cooperation during a summit which was held in New Delhi. The seven South Asiancountries, which also included Nepal, Maldives and Bhutan, agreed on five areas of cooperation. Afghanistan was added to the regional grouping at the behest of India on November 13, 2005, With the addition of Afghanistan, the total number of member stateswere raised to eight.
IndiaBangladeshSri LankaPakistanBhutanMaldives NepalAfghanistan
To improve the quality of life and welfare of people of the SAARC member countries.2.
To develop the region economically, socially and culturally.3.
To provide the opportunity to the people of the region to live in dignity and to exploittheir potentialities.4.
To enhance the self-reliance of the member countries jointly.5.
To provide conductive climate for creating and enhancing mutual trust,understanding
and application of one another’s issues.
To enhance the cooperation with other developing economies.7.
To enhance the mutual assistance among the member countries in the areas of economic, social, cultural, scientific and technical fields.8.
To have unity among the member countries regarding the issues of common interestin the international forums.9.
To extend cooperation to other trade blocks.10.
To have unity among member countries.11.
Acceleration of economic growth,12.
Social progress and cultural development in the region,13.
Promotion of active collaboration and mutual assistance in the economic, socialcultural, technical and scientific fields and14.
Strengthening of cooperation among the Member States in international forumon matters of common interest.

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->