Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Lesson Review of First Lesson Shimotombetsu Elementary on July 8th, 2009

Lesson Review of First Lesson Shimotombetsu Elementary on July 8th, 2009

Ratings: (0)|Views: 32 |Likes:

More info:

Published by: Charles Jeffrey Danoff on Jul 08, 2009
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as DOC, PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

07/08/2009

pdf

text

original

 
Lesson ReviewFirst LessonShimotombetsu Elementary on July 8th, 2009
First LessonShimotombetsu Elementary on July 8
th
, 200945 Minutes 11:20 – 12:05A = ALTS = Student(s)H = Home Room Teacher Tested the kids on the opening aisatsu with “how are you?” I was not surprised to findall I got back in return was “how are you?” Moved on without correcting.Did a TPR warmup with
Jump
Spin
Spin-jump
Star-jump
Run
Sleep
Eat
DiscoThe kids grasped the concept quickly, and the 3 boys under 9 years old enjoyed it. The2 older students went through the motions, smiling occasionally. Next was a self-introduction activity.
1
Thankfully I had a chance to go over the practice dialogue with the HRT before class. Kids picked it up very quickly, but to befair they all essentially knew it before class as 3 of them came up to me and said theroutine before class began. Had them walk around introducing themselves toeachother and handing out business cards. I was surprised how excited the studentsgot about the activity.Hit them next with the “How are you?” song. First step was making sure theyunderstood the meaning of “How are you?” then went slowly through all the different parts. Introduced them as possible responses to “How are you?” which was good.Again the older kids were not too amused (I know this activity isn’t good for 5
th
and6
th
graders, but it couldn’t be helped in a class that also has a 1
st
grader) so we movedquick. Only it once without the music and then twice with.To practice what we learned the students played the Hot Potato game practicing theanswers to “how are you?” Started by passing to the next person, then took a step back and threw it to whomever. Younger students recalled a decent amount of whatthey learned. Older kids showed off by saying things like “I’m hot” and “I’m so-so”
1
Got the simple dialogue of “Hello. My name is _______. Nice to meet you” and “Hello. My name is ______. Nice to meet you too” from the MEXT’s 2001 Practical Handbook for Elementary SchoolEnglish Activities. ISBN 978-4-304-04078-8Last printed Page 1 of 4
 
Lesson ReviewFirst LessonShimotombetsu Elementary on July 8th, 2009
which I had not taught them.Then we did “Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes” which all the kids were at leastsomewhat familiar with. Sang it through few times normally, then really slow, reallyfast and so on.To challenge the older kids I had them lead the younger students. They did very well.At this point the lesson plan was over, but we had 10 minutes left. Decided the bestthing was to play “Simon Says.” Thankfully the HRT’s were familiar with the game,so they were able to explain it to the students.Rule was 3 mistakes and you had to sit down. Incorporating HSKT and the TPR commands I was able to make it hard or easy enough for everyone to be involved.Closed out class with a quick review of the topics we’d covered. Not sure aboutindividual retention, but as a class they were able to give the Japanese meanings for  pretty much everything we’d learned that day.Evaluation
i
Lesson Plan
o
Were the objectives and aims clear?
Y
o
Were the activities effective?
Y
o
Were the procedures appropriate for the students?
 No, they were too easy.
Student Response
o
 Did all students achieve the aims intended?
Y
o
 Did they have a positive attitude toward communicating?
Y
o
 Did they all take an active part in communicative activities?
Y
Classroom Management
o
Was the atmosphere of the class positive?
Y
o
Were instructions and questions clear?
For everything I prepared for yes. Simon Says only worked because
o
 Did the two teachers interact effectively?
Y
o
Were AV and other aids used effectively?
YLesson Focus(es), Measurable Outcome(s) & Actual Outcomes
Last printed Page 2 of 4
 
Lesson ReviewFirst LessonShimotombetsu Elementary on July 8th, 2009
Students enjoy their first English lesson.
o
Observe and if it’s not working, don’t push too fast.
Yes, although it was too easy for some.
Students learn a basic self-introduction and “how are you?”
o
Obersvational assessments.
Yup.Thoughts
With the “How are you?” hot potato game, it’d be better to have the kids ask the succeeding student “how are you?” before tossing the ball.
o
Also, ham up the “hot potato” aspect by dropping it “because it’s soHOT!!” or something.
Conversation got cut short, but the older kids said something about learningEnglish from a program they watched on TV. Wish I could have delved moreinto that.Best Practices
With the “how are you?” song be sure to focus on “I’m cold.”
Again, especially with classes whose English level I am unfamiliar with, planextra activities in case they pick things up too quickly. Next Time
Last printed Page 3 of 4

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->