Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Save to My Library
Look up keyword
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
King Complaint 1

King Complaint 1

Ratings: (0)|Views: 19 |Likes:
Published by SHIFrankel
2 N.J. Mayors, Several Rabbis Arrested: Feds arrest mayors of 2 NJ cities, lawmaker in broad corruption
2 N.J. Mayors, Several Rabbis Arrested: Feds arrest mayors of 2 NJ cities, lawmaker in broad corruption

More info:

Published by: SHIFrankel on Jul 23, 2009
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

07/23/2009

pdf

text

original

 
 
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURTDISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY
 UNITED STATES OF AMERICA:
CRIMINAL COMPLAINT
:v.::JAMES P. JIMMYKING:Mag. No. 09-8137 (MCA)I, Robert J. Cooke, being duly sworn, state the following is true and correct to the best of myknowledge and belief.From in or about March 2009 to in or about April 2009, in Hudson County, in the District of New Jersey and elsewhere, defendantJAMES P. “JIMMY” KINGand others, to include JC Official 1 and the Consultant, did knowingly and willfully conspire to obstruct,delay, and affect interstate commerce by extortion under color of official right, by accepting andagreeing to accept corrupt payments that were paid and to be paid by another, with that person’sconsent, in exchange for defendant JAMES P. “JIMMY” KING’s future official assistance in JerseyCity Government matters.In violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section 1951(a) and Section 2.I further state that I am a Special Agent with the Federal Bureau of Investigation, and that thiscomplaint is based on the following facts:SEE ATTACHMENT Acontinued on the attached page and made a part hereof. Robert J, Cooke, Special AgentFederal Bureau of InvestigationSworn to before me and subscribed in my presence,July ___, 2009, at Newark, New JerseyH
ONORABLE
M
ADELINE
C
OX
A
RLEO
U
NITED
S
TATES
M
AGISTRATE
J
UDGE
Signature of Judicial Officer
 
2
ATTACHMENT AI, Robert J. Cooke, am a Special Agent with the FederalBureau of Investigation (“FBI”). I have personally participatedin this investigation and am aware of the facts contained herein,based upon my own investigation, as well as information providedto me by other law enforcement officers. Because this AttachmentA is submitted for the limited purpose of establishing probablecause, I have not included herein the details of every aspect ofthe investigation. Statements attributable to individualscontained in this Attachment are related in substance and inpart, except where otherwise indicated. All contacts discussedherein were recorded, except where otherwise indicated.1. Defendant James P. “Jimmy” King (“defendant King”) wasa candidate seeking the City Council seat for Ward C in JerseyCity on or about May 12, 2009, a bid that was not successful.Defendant King, who heads the Jimmy King Civic Association, isthe former executive director of the Jersey City ParkingAuthority, the former chairman of the Jersey City IncineratorAuthority and also served as a Hudson County undersheriff. 2.At all times relevant to this Complaint:a. There was an individual who represented himself tobe in high-level positions at the Jersey City Board ofEducation (“BOE”), and the Jersey City HousingAuthority (the “JCHA”)(hereinafter, “JC Official 1").b. There was an individual who represented himself tobe the owner of a consulting firm based in New Jersey(the “Consultant”). The Consultant further representedthat the Consultant was an advisor and confidant to theCandidate, among others.c. There was a cooperating witness (the “CW”) who hadbeen charged with bank fraud in a federal criminalcomplaint in May 2006. Thereafter, for the purposes ofthis investigation conducted by the FBI, the CW posedas a real estate developer interested in development inthe greater Jersey City area. The CW represented thatthe CW did business in numerous states, including NewYork and New Jersey, and that the CW paid for goods andservices in interstate commerce.3. On or about March 23, 2009, at approximately 10:20a.m., FBI agents intercepted an outgoing call from theConsultant’s cell phone
 
to defendant King. During this call, the
 
3
Consultant reminded defendant King that he would be meeting theCW at a restaurant in North Bergen, New Jersey the following day.Defendant King told the Consultant that “I’d rather just have[the CW] do something, uh, with the, uh, Jimmy–-Friends of JimmyKing with a check or something, and, uh, and I’ll talk to youabout that,” to which the Consultant responded, referring tocash, “[h]ow ‘bout green?” Defendant King told the Consultant:“No, I don’t think so . . . I think I got to talk to you aboutthat pri–-, privately.” The Consultant explained to defendantKing, “[w]ell, whatever you do, if he asks you what you need, youneed $2,500 – that’s the max that [the CW] can give you.”Defendant King responded, “[o]kay, I will do that. I have noproblem with that.” The Consultant concluded by tellingdefendant King that “then we’ll work out how we’re going to getit to you.” Defendant King said, “[s]ounds good,” and agreed tomeet the Consultant and the CW the following day at a NorthBergen restaurant.4. On or about March 24, 2009, JC Official 1, theConsultant and the CW met at the restaurant in North Bergen.During this meeting, JC Official 1 and the Consultant introducedthe CW to defendant King, who explained that he was a candidatefor the Jersey City Council for Ward C. JC Official 1 describedthe CW to defendant King as a “developer” who was looking forhelp and support in “every city [the CW] goes in.” JC Official 1also informed defendant King that the CW had a property onGarfield Avenue in Jersey City. Defendant King was informed bythe CW that the CW would need “zone changes” for the GarfieldAvenue project. Later during the conversation, defendant Kingdescribed his close relationship with the Consultant and JCOfficial 1, and the CW suggested that “[h]opefully, I canreciprocate in a small way,” prompting defendant King to reply,while referring to the Consultant and JC Official 1, “[y]ou canalways work that out with them guys.” As the four exited therestaurant, the CW informed defendant King that “what I wanna dois, maybe, I’ll give you five thousand to start,” and indicatedthat as the campaign progressed that the CW would give defendantKing “more and more.” After defendant King had agreed to thisproposal, defendant King was informed by the CW that the CWwanted “a friend on council that will help me when it comes for,uh, votes, zone changes and junk like that.” After defendantKing departed, JC Official 1 and the Consultant were informed bythe CW what the CW had stated to defendant King about this $5,000payment. JC Official 1 explained that while defendant King andother council candidates to whom the CW would be introduced wouldaccept cash, “you have to give it to us and we have to give it tothem ‘cause they won’t touch anything.”

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->