Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Centennial Review December 2013

Centennial Review December 2013

Ratings: (0)|Views: 139|Likes:
Centennial Review December 2013
Centennial Review December 2013

More info:

Published by: Colorado Christian University on Nov 27, 2013
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

11/15/2014

pdf

text

original

 
LET’S FIGHT FOR FREEDOM,GROWTH, AND OPPORTUNITY 
By Ted Cruz
 We need to champion growth and opportunity. Growth is foundational to every other challenge we’ve got—whether it’s turning around unemployment, reining in our national debt, or maintaining the strongest military in the world to protect our national security.  Without growth, we can’t accomplish any of that. But  with growth, each of those will be accomplished. Three priorities are critical to restoring growth. Number one, reining in the out-of-control spending and unsustainable debt in Washington. My little daughter
Caroline is ve; in her short life our national
debt has grown over 60%.  What we are doing right now is fundamentally
immoral. Our parents didn’t do that to us;
their parents didn’t do that to them.
 Why not Abolish the IRS?
 We are giving our kids and grandkids a debt burden for  which they will have to work their entire life, not to meet the challenges of the future, but simply to pay off the debt that their parents and grandparents incurred because we  were too irresponsible to live within our means. That’s just  wrong.  The second critical element for restoring growth is fundamental tax reform. Every year we spend roughly
$500 billion on tax compliance; all of that is dead-weight
Continued on Page 2
 TELL THEM WHAT WE VALUE AND START WINNING AGAIN
By Mike Huckabee
 What an honor to be at this gathering of leaders. I love this country because it has afforded people like me the opportunity to live way beyond the dreams I had as a kid. There are not many places on this earth where you can even dream it, much less do it. In  America you can.  That’s why I’m passionate about getting our government back in the control of people, so we can revive that  American dream—and not let it become the American nightmare of an all-powerful government.
Ballpark Vendors as Stars?
 While in Boston for a recent speaking engagement, I caught a ballgame at Fenway Park with the Red Sox. I took some pictures, but it wasn’t of the players. It was of the  vendors who were hauling hot dogs and peanuts up and down those stairs.  Why? Because here they were, carrying these heavy loads on a hot day, making a little money, hoping that some day instead of running conceessions, they’ll be the ones in the seats.  That’s America. It’s about understanding that where we start isn’t where we have to stop. But unless this country gets back on track, all those opportunities are going to be crushed. People say that Republicans lost in 2012 because America rejected our message. That’s wrong. We lost because  America didn’t know what our message was. We did not translate it down to the average person, like those vendors in Boston, so people could understand what we were going to do differently than this current administration.  As conservatives, we need to communicate that we value the work Americans do, rather than just talking about our tax policy. If the government takes a bigger and bigger
Continued on Page 3
Editor, John AndrewsPrincipled Ideas from the Centennial InstituteVolume 9, Number 11 • December 2013Publisher, William L. Armstrong
 
Ted Cruz
was elected to the U.S. Senate as a Republican from Texas in 2012.
Mike Huckabee
was the Republican governor of Arkansas, 1996-2007. These essays are abridged from their remarks at the Western Conservative Summit on July 27, 2013, in Denver.
Centennial Institute
sponsors research, events, and publications to enhance public understanding of the most important issues facing our state and nation. By proclaiming Truth, we aim to foster faith, family, and freedom, teach citizenship, and renew the spirit of 1776.
As Americans, we can dream it and do it.
B  r  e  n  t    B  o  z  e  l   l    ,  D  e  c   9   ,  7    p  m   R   e   g  i   s  t   e  r   a  t    C  e  n  t   e  n  n  i   a  l   c  c  u  o  r   g  
W   H    A  T    Y   O  U    C   A  N    D  O    A  B  O  U   T    M   E   D  I    A   B  I    A  S  
 
CRUZ: FIGHT FOR FREEDOMContinued
losses. We need to dramatically simplify the tax code. For the best solution, though,  we need to abolish the IRS. But that’s not going to be easy, because in Washington there’s an army of lobbyists on K Street who make their living getting exemptions from the IRS tax code.  The only way we will succeed in abolishing the IRS is if  Americans come together in overwhelming numbers and demand of our elected
ofcials, “Enough already! Stop listening to the established powers in both parties;
start listening to the American people.”
Obamacare: Addictive Dependency
 The third critical step to restoring economic growth is fundamental regulatory reform. In
the last ve years, regulators from Washington
have descended on small business and entrepreneurs like locusts.  There is no regulatory reform that is more important than for us to repeal every single word of Obamacare. The lead author of Obamacare, Democratic Senator Max Baucus,
has described it as a “huge train wreck.”
 Teamsters Union president James Hoffa has said Obamacare is destroying the 40-hour work week that is the foundation of the American middle class. President Obama himself, in delaying the employer mandate for big companies until after the next election, made two important concessions. First, if Obamacare were working, if the wheels weren’t coming off, wouldn’t he want it to kick in before the next election? Second, why isn’t the President willing to give the same exemption for hard-working American families? Consider that very soon the exchanges will kick in, and the subsidies will kick in. Once those kick in it’s going to prove almost impossible to undo Obamacare. The administration’s plan is very simple. Get everyone addicted to the sugar so that Obamacare remains a permanent feature of our society.
Hold onto that Legacy
Growth matters because it is foundational to opportunity.  We should focus on easing the means of ascent up the economic ladder, on how the Obama economy impacts
the least well-off among us. They’re young people; they’re Hispanics; they’re African Americans; they’re single moms.
 We need to champion the people climbing the economic ladder because the greatest engine for prosperity and opportunity the world has ever seen is the free-market system in the United States of America.  We need to build a conservative army all across this
country that will stand up and ght to bring us back to our
free-market principles and our constitutional liberties.In my life, freedom is not some abstract academic concept. My dad was born in Cuba. He was imprisoned and tortured
as a kid, beaten almost to death. He ed Cuba
in 1957 and came to Texas. He was 18, couldn’t speak a word of English. He went on to start a small business to work towards the American dream. Today he’s a pastor in Dallas.
 When I was a kid my dad used to say to me, “When we faced oppression in Cuba I had a place to ee to. If we lose
our freedom here, where do we go?”
 That’s why each of you are here. You’re ghting to hold
on to that incredible legacy, and I am honored to stand shoulder to shoulder with you.
n
Centennial Review, December 2013 ▪ 2
This is freedom’s last outpost.
Scan this code with your smartphone to read this and previous issues online.
CENTENNIAL REVIEW
 is published monthly by the Centennial Institute at Colorado Christian University. The authors’ views are not necessarily those of CCU. Designer, Bethany Applegate. Illustrator, Benjamin Hummel. Subscriptions free upon request. Write to: Centennial Institute, 8787 W. Alameda Ave., Lakewood, CO 80226. Call 800.44.FAITH. Or visit us online at www.CentennialCCU.org.
Please join the Centennial Institute today.
 As a Centennial donor, you can help us restore America’s moral core and prepare tomorrow’s leaders. Your gift is tax-deductible. Please use the envelope provided. Thank you for your support. - John Andrews, Director“One riot, one Ranger.” Ted Cruz rides to the rescue of constitutional government in a Summit caricature by our illustrator, Ben Hummel.After his speech, which moved delegates to rate him tops in the 2016 straw poll, Sen. Cruz accepts the Hummel caricature from Summit chairman John Andrews. Cruz, Huckabee, and 14 other WCS13 speakers are featured on our new “Cool Kids” poster. Order at www.ccu.edu/centennial/store.
 
 We Value Health
 Another part of our message to Americans is we value their health. I’m not talking in a paternalistic Obamacare kind of way, because that is exactly the opposite. We value people’s choice to make the decisions that they believe are best for them. Not to have some bureaucratic panel from 3,000 miles away determine whether they’re going to get surgery, whether they’re going to see a doctor, and what doctor its going to be. We value that Americans ought to pick their own doctor. If they believe there’s a certain type of coverage they want, they should be able to buy that.
 We Value Life
 We should let Americans know we value your family. Some say conservatives are in trouble because we have unwaveringly stood for the sanctity of life for every human being from the moment of conception. That’s nonsense.How dare they say that what a single mother values—more than being able to feed her kids, to give them the hope of a good education and a good job some day  —is being able to access a government-paid abortion and free birth control? How demeaning.I don’t agree Republicans need to become a low-calorie  version of Democrats and be afraid to take a stand for life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness for every person.  We value every life. There is no such thing as a person  who is disposable and expendable. In our worldview, every person has value, every child.
 We Value America’s Allies
 We need to make it clear that we value America’s allies. I  worry very much about our place in the world. The few friends we have left we act like we don’t really want much to do with them.  What we have done with the one friend and the one stable government in all of the Middle East, Israel, is deplorable. We have put more pressure on Israel to stop building bedrooms for their families in the land that God gave them thousands of years ago than the pressure that  we put on Iran to stop building nuclear devices.
Centennial Review, December 2013 ▪ 3
Don’t make GOPa low-cal versionof Democrats.
HUCKABEE: WHAT WE VALUEContinued
piece of what you earn, that means it values what it does
 
above what you do. Yet very few Americans believe the
 
government’s going to spend their money better than they could.  When someone comes home bone-tired, carrying a lunch box that once had a bologna sandwich in it, so dirty from the job that they have to take a bath before they can even get to the dinner table, and politicians tell that person your  work is not that important because the government wants a bigger chunk of your paycheck—what an insult. That’s
the message of lower taxes. Your work has value!
 We Value Educational Freedom
 We need to tell the families of America that we value your freedom to send your children to whatever school you believe will undergird rather than undermine your basic moral values. So that not just the wealthiest people, but also the single mom who is struggling economically, will have the opportunity to send her kids to a school that succeeds, not a school that keeps failing every year.  Why shouldn’t that be an opportunity for every family in this country, whether they choose to home school, send their kids to a Christian school, or if they want to put them in a public school—let them have the choice.  As conservatives, we value the wisdom of a mother and father to make a better decision about their children’s education than some bureaucrat in government could ever make.
 We Value Self-Defense
 And there’s more. We want to tell American families that we value your dignity and your privacy. Nobody has a right to snoop into your personal affairs,  whether it’s your tax records, or your phone calls, or to put a hand on you just so you can board an airplane, even though you’ve never committed a crime. It’s true we live in a dangerous world, and we have to be safe. But why should it be that every time I get on a plane,
I have to rst get in the surrender position, as if I’m guilty
until I can prove that I’m innocent? Let’s also tell every American that we value your security, and you have the right to defend yourself. People should be able to have an expectation that the neighborhoods  where we live and the parks where our children play are going to be safe from predators. But if they’re not, and if a person wishes to protect themselves as guaranteed by the Second Amendment of the Constitution of the United States, then that is a fundamental American right that should not be infringed.
“Want to win? Here’s how.” Mike Huckabee conducts a clinic on political messaging in his Ben Hummel portrait for WCS13.

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->