Welcome to Scribd. Sign in or start your free trial to enjoy unlimited e-books, audiobooks & documents.Find out more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Transitway Diversion to Albert Street - Your Voice Will Make a Difference

Transitway Diversion to Albert Street - Your Voice Will Make a Difference

Ratings: (0)|Views: 3,969|Likes:
Published by An Michael Powell
The City wants to move the transitway to Albert St. for the duration of the LRT construction.

We have to tell them that we won't accept that.

Email the transit commission to let them know your opinion on this.

Remember: Your voice will make a difference!
The City wants to move the transitway to Albert St. for the duration of the LRT construction.

We have to tell them that we won't accept that.

Email the transit commission to let them know your opinion on this.

Remember: Your voice will make a difference!

More info:

Published by: An Michael Powell on Dec 07, 2013
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

07/06/2014

pdf

text

original

 
TRANSITWAY DIVERSION TO ALBERT STREET HOW YOU CAN HELP. PLEASE EMAIL TODAY AND
ATTEND MONDAY’S MEETING
 
On December 9, the City’s Transit Commission
will hear a plan for bus detours during light rail construction. This is a critical meeting. The detour plan will divert nearly 300 buses per hour at peak and well over 2000 per day to Albert and Scott Streets,
directly in front of people’
s homes. This will make Albert and Scott a disaster for local users, especially pedestrians and cyclists, for two years.
The plan was devised two years ago behind closed doors with no community input, and only last week revealed. The diversion of many of these buses will continue for 10 more years
 –
 the latest available information is that it will be several per minute once construction of light rail from 2015-2018 is over. The plan takes no account of the quality of life issues that arise from noise, air pollution, community-wide traffic congestion, or pedestrian/cyclist safety. Your views on this issue are critical. It is extremely important that members of the Transit Commission hear you
. We are asking you to write to them, and to copy us. We’ll make
anonymous use of your comments in our campaign to stop this unacceptable and undemocratic plan. Tell them what you think about:
 
The noise impact of hundreds of braking and accelerating buses per hour in extremely close proximity to
peoples’ homes
 
 
The impact to cyclists, pedestrians and drivers crossing or using Albert and Scott Streets
 
The effects of air pollution on our neighbourhood and health
There ARE alternatives that the city REFUSES to consider including using the Queensway and Sir John A. Macdonald Parkway. Your voice matters: Help YOUR neighbours get this changed. Write or email TODAY to:
Mayor Jim Watson (jim.watson@ottawa.ca) Marianne Wilkinson (marianne.wilkinson@ottawa.ca)
 Councillors: Public members
 Katherine Hobbs (katherine.hobbs@ottawa.ca) Blair Crew (blair.crew@ottawa.ca) Diane Holmes (diane.holmes@ottawa.ca) Justin Ferrabee (Justin.ferrabee@ottawa.ca) Diane Deans (diane.deans@ottawa.ca) Mark Johnson (mark.johnson3@ottawa.ca) Shad Qadri (shad.qadri@ottawa.ca) Emily Rahn (emily.rahn@ottawa.ca) Stephen Blais (stephen.blais@ottawa.ca) Rainer Bloess (rainer.bloess@ottawa.ca)
Dalhousie Community Association
 Keith Egli (ward9@ottawa.ca) president@ottawadalhousie.com Tim Tierney (tim.tierney@ottawa.ca)
Please also attend the Transit Commission meeting Monday, December 9
th
 at 1:30 pm
Need more info? bit.ly/thrownunderthebus

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->