Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1


Ratings: (0)|Views: 289|Likes:
Published by vijai daniel

More info:

Published by: vijai daniel on Sep 01, 2009
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as DOC, PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less






Roll no:

Aim: Study of ISO/OSI model and TCP/IP model

The OSI model defines internetworking in terms of a vertical
stack of seven layers. The upper layers of the OSI model represent software
that implements network services like encryption and connection
management. The lower layers of the OSI model implement more primitive,
hardware-oriented functions like routing, addressing, and flow control.

In the OSI model, data communication starts with the top layer at the sending side, travels down the OSI model stack to the bottom layer, then traveses the network connection to the bottom layer on the receiving side, and up its OSI model stack.

The OSI model was introduced in 1984. Although it
was designed to be an abstract model, the OSI model
remains a practical framework for today's key network
technologies like Ethernet and protocols like IP.

Also Known As:
Open Systems Interconnection (OSI) reference
model, OSI seven layer model
Internet Protocol (IP) corresponds to the Network
layer of the OSI model, layer three. TCP and UDP correspond

to OSI model layer four, the Transport layer. Lower layers of
the OSI model are represented by technologies like
Ethernet. Higher layers of the OSI model are represented by
application protocols like TCP and UDP.

OSI 7 Layers Reference Model For Network Communication

Open Systems Interconnection (OSI) model is a reference model developed by ISO
(International Organization for Standardization) in 1984, as a conceptual framework
of standards for communication in the network across different equipment and
applications by different vendors. It is now considered the primary architectural
model for inter-computing and internetworking communications. Most of the network
communication protocols used today have a structure based on the OSI model. The
OSI model defines the communications process into 7 layers, which divides the tasks
involved with moving information between networked computers into seven smaller,
more manageable task groups.

The OSI 7 layers model has clear characteristics. Layers 7 through 4 deal with end to
end communications between data source and destinations. Layers 3 to 1 deal with
communications between network devices.

On the other hand, the seven layers of the OSI model can be divided into two
groups: upper layers (layers 7, 6 & 5) and lower layers (layers 4, 3, 2, 1). The upper
layers of the OSI model deal with application issues and generally are implemented
only in software. The highest layer, the application layer, is closest to the end user.
The lower layers of the OSI model handle data transport issues. The physical layer
and the data link layer are implemented in hardware and software. The lowest layer,
the physical layer, is closest to the physical network medium (the wires, for example)
and is responsible for placing data on the medium.

Activity (8)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 thousand reads
1 hundred reads
ssnokki liked this
Manoj Kumar liked this
narsireddys liked this
tjslick liked this
prajwals liked this
pradeepmanral liked this

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->