Welcome to Scribd. Sign in or start your free trial to enjoy unlimited e-books, audiobooks & documents.Find out more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Events; Appointments; Etc.: June 2009

Events; Appointments; Etc.: June 2009

|Views: 24|Likes:
Published by Abhijit Jadhav

More info:

Published by: Abhijit Jadhav on Sep 23, 2009
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





Hans Raj Bhardwaj:
He has been appointed as the Governor of Karnataka.
Rameshwar Thakur:
He has been appointed as the Governor of Madhya Pradesh.
Devanand Konwar:
He has been appointed as the Governor of Bihar.
Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank:
He has been elected as the Chief Minister of Uttarkhand.
Meira Kumar (Mrs):
She has been elected as the first woman
who also happensto be a Dalit
as the Speaker of Lok Sabha. Her deputy would be BJP leader
Pawan Kumar Bansal:
Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister, he has been givenadditional charge of Water Resources Ministry.
Air Chief Marshal Pradeep Vasant Naik:
He has taken over as the Chief of IndianAir Force.
Goolam E. Vahanvati:
He has been appointed as the Attorney-General of India.He is the first Muslim to hold the top
law officer’s post.
Gopal Subramaniam:
Former additional Solicitor-General, he has been appointedas the Solicitor-General, the second most important law officer of the centralgovernment.
Montek Singh Ahluwalia:
He has become the first deputy chairman of PlanningCommission to retain the post after the government reconstituted the plan panel,which will also have three new members. The new entrants to the Commissionare:
Saumitra Chaudhuri,
former member of the PM's Economic AdvisoryCouncil,
Narendra Jadhav,
honorary vice-chancellor of Pune University, and
Mihir Shah,
Secretary of Samaj Pragati Sahayog.
Kamlesh Chandra Chakrabarty:
He has taken charge as Deputy Governor of theReserve Bank of India (RBI).
Nandan Nilekani:
Co-chairman of Infosys, he has been appointed as thechairperson of the Unique Identification Authority of India, constituted to providenational identity cards to Indian citizens.
G.K. Pillai:
He has been appointed as the Home Secretary of India.
Peter Varghese:
He has been appointed as Australia’s High Commissioner to
Bhuvan Chand Khanduri:
Chief Minister of Uttarkhand.
General Bismilah Khan Mohammadi:
Army Chief of Afghanistan.
Hillary Clinton:
Secretary of State of USA.
Samuel Aba:
Minister of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Immigration of Papua NewGuinea.
Corazon Aquino:
Former President of Philippines who had led millions of Filipinosin protests against Dictator Ferdinand Marcos, in a popular revolt in 1986, beforetaking over as the President. She was 76.
Gangubai Hangal:
Doyen of Hindustani vocal music. She was 97.
Devendra Dwivedi:
Governor-designate of Gujarat. He was 73.
Gayatri Devi:
Erstwhile Rajmata fo Jaipur. She was 90. She was once listed among
the world’s ten most beautiful women by Vogue magazine.
Leela Naidu:
Hindi film actress, who mesmerised audiences with her classicbeauty in films like "Anuradha" and "Yeh Raaste Hain Pyaa
r Ke”. She was 69.
Tyeb Mehta:
Noted Indian painter. He was 84.
Walter Cronkite:
America’s legendary broadcast journalist, best known as
anchorman Walter Cronkite. He was 92.

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->