South Carolina Boating Laws - Get Onboard With Safety
Boating in South Carolina - Know the Boating Laws ThatKeep You Safe On The Water
South Carolina Boating Laws and Rules weredesigned to keep our Boaters safe and out of trouble.
In order to keep South Carolina's waters safe and funfor everyone, SC has developed some rules mandatedrules for Boaters. Since these regulations areenforced, it is important that you are familiar withthem! The South Carolina Department of Natural Resources (DNR) is the State Division that handlesBoating Laws and Rules. Before you head out to open water or Boat our Lakes and Rivers, findout what the DNR requires of all SC Boaters:
SC State Law requires boating safety training for anyone younger than 16
who wants tooperate a boat or personal watercraft with an engine 15-horsepower or greater without beingaccompanied by an adult.
For questions concerning this requirement or Boater Education courses contact,
DNR’s BoatingEducation Offices:
at 1-800-277-4301, 803-734-3995 in Columbia or 843-953-9302 in Charleston. You can also inquires at your Marina.
It is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED to always wear your life jacket while boating.
More than 90percent of all boating fatalities could be prevented with the proper use of life jackets.
Any person younger than 12 years old, in a boat less than 16 feet long, must wear apersonal flotation device.
Anyone on a personal watercraft, which includes Jet Skis, Sea-Doos,WaveRunners and others, must wear a Coast Guard-approved flotation device.
Personal Watercraft, (like your Jet Ski), cannot be operated after sunset or before sunrise. Thewatercraft must be equipped with self-circling or lanyard-type engine cutoffs.
The "NO WAKE ZONE" - What Does That Mean?
No vessel may operate in excess of idle speed within 50 feet of an anchored vessel, dock, pier orperson in the water, or within 100 yards of the Atlantic Ocean coastline. No watercraft may jump thewake of another vessel within 200 feet of the vessel creating the wake.
DID YOU KNOW:
If you are pulling a Water Skier or person on a floating device, you, the boatoperator, must have an observer on-board or the vessel must be equipped with wide-angled mirrors.
A sound-producing device, such as a horn or whistle, is required on all boats.
Fire extinguishers are required on most boats. Let common sense prevail. You don't need a Fireextinguisher on your Jon Boat or a small vessel that you paddle with oars.