Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
USHLI Honorees Announced

USHLI Honorees Announced

Ratings: (0)|Views: 8|Likes:
Published by Editor

More info:

Published by: Editor on Feb 07, 2014
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





Having trouble viewing this email? click here
USHLI Honorees Announced
Two outstanding Hispanic Americans will be honored at the 32nd USHLI National Conference. Dr. Anita Perez Ferguson, universally known for her achievements in and out of government, and Antonio Tijerino, one of the most respected thought-leaders and cutting-edge innovators, will be honored for their service to the community and the nation. Dr. Perez Ferguson will receive the
Henry L. (Hank) Lacayo Award 
 for Lifetime Achievement. A distinguished scholar and activist, she has served as Chair of the Women's Political Leaders and as the White House Liaison to the U.S. Department of Transportation in the Clinton Administration and has authored and co-authored numerous works on public policy, women, youth, and politics. Dr. Perez Ferguson has done extensive research on social innovation, strategic planning for community organizations, Latinas at work, and evidence of social change in youth program evaluations.
Antonio Tijerino will receive the C
esar Chavez Community Service Award 
. He is president and CEO of the award-winning Hispanic Heritage Foundation (HHF), which inspires, connects and positions Latino leaders in the classroom, community and workforce to meet America's priorities. His work with Latino youth has been featured at the White House and recognized by Congress and Forbes. He serves on the boards of non-profit community based organizations and as an advisor to national and major university groups, for which he has also been recognized. Dr. Juan Andrade, USHLI president said "We are proud to present the Hank Lacayo Award to Dr. Anita Perez Ferguson. Hank has been recognized at all levels of government and society as one of the most influential leaders in America and Anita is most deserving of this award that bears his name. It is our privilege to present the Cesar E. Chavez Award to Antonio Tijerino. Cesar Chavez is universally regarded as the most respected and admired Latino leader in the history of the United States and the award that bears his name is reserved for individuals, like Antonio, who live their life and do their work with the same sense of servant leadership, grace and humility for which Cesar Chavez is remembered." The 32nd USHLI National Conference will be held February 13-16 at the Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers. For travel, registration and lodging arrangements, click on the links below.

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->