Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Captain Phillips Review & Oscar Preview - FuTurXTV & HHBMedia.com - 1-17-2014

Captain Phillips Review & Oscar Preview - FuTurXTV & HHBMedia.com - 1-17-2014

Ratings: (0)|Views: 0|Likes:
Published by Funk Gumbo Radio
Captain Phillips Review & Oscar Preview - FuTurXTV & HHBMedia.com - 1-17-2014

Muse: Look at me.

Captain Richard Phillips: Sure.

Muse: Look at me.

Captain Richard Phillips: Sure.

Muse: I'm the captain now.

Captain Richard Phillips: There's got to be something other than being a fisherman or kidnapping people.

Muse: Maybe in America, Irish, maybe in America.
Captain Phillips Review & Oscar Preview - FuTurXTV & HHBMedia.com - 1-17-2014

Muse: Look at me.

Captain Richard Phillips: Sure.

Muse: Look at me.

Captain Richard Phillips: Sure.

Muse: I'm the captain now.

Captain Richard Phillips: There's got to be something other than being a fisherman or kidnapping people.

Muse: Maybe in America, Irish, maybe in America.

More info:

Published by: Funk Gumbo Radio on May 16, 2014
Copyright:Traditional Copyright: All rights reserved

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

05/16/2014

pdf

text

original

 
1
Muse Look at me. Captain Richard Phillips Sure. Muse Look at me. Captain Richard Phillips Sure. Muse I'm the captain now. Captain Richard Phillips There's got to be something other than being a fisherman or kidnapping people. Muse Maybe in America, Irish, maybe in America.
Captain Phillips is a multi-layered examination of the 2009 hijacking of the U.S. container ship Maersk Alabama by a crew of Somali pirates. It is - through director Paul Greengrass's distinctive lens - simultaneously a pulse-pounding thriller, and a complex portrait of the myriad effects of globalization. The film focuses on the relationship between the Alabama's commanding officer, Captain Richard Phillips (two time Academy Award®-winner Tom Hanks), and the Somali pirate captain, Muse (Barkhad Abdi), who takes him hostage. Phillips and Muse are set on an unstoppable collision course when Muse and his crew target Phillips' unarmed ship; in the ensuing standoff, 145 miles off the Somali coast, both men will find themselves at the mercy of forces beyond their control.
CAPTAIN PHILLIPS FILM REVIEW & OSCAR PREVIEW
 –
 1-17-2014
1-17-2014 - Written By: David L. $Money Train$ Watts
 –
 Journalist/Film Reviewer FuTurXTV & HHBMedia.com - David Velo Stewart
 –
 Editor
 –
 HHBMedia.com
 
David L. $Money Train$ Watts • FuTurXTV • HHBMedia.com •
David Velo Stewart
 
 
2
When I went to see
Captain Phillips 
 I really had no idea or any true confidence that the Somali pirates would be treated as well as they were in the film. To me the social and historic relevance of the saga that happened between the crew of the Maserk Alabama and the crew of the Somali pirates was this was one of the first major international and military crises for President Barack Obama. I had vaguely hoped that the film would show some background scenes of our first African-American president weighing the options of ordering lethal force against some minor African fisherman by day turned bad ass pirates by night. No such luck in
Captain Phillips 
 for what I wanted to see. What I got instead was a very well-constructed high sea thriller between two captains who were doing the best they could to salvage a bad situation. For Tom Hanks he gave his typical brilliant acting portrayal. He immersed himself deeply into the role of Maserk
 Alabama’s
 real life Captain Richard Phillips. I know from press accounts that Hanks took careful preparation to accurately portray Phillips and wanted to get his small details and routine mannerisms right. But what really and only makes
Captain Phillips 
 works as one of the true gems of dramatic films and a de facto great Black lead starring film that came out in 2013 was the impressive performance of Barkhad Abdi as the lead Somali pirate Muse. What I learned from watching of Somali pirates attacking large Western cargo ships
seemed like trying to rob a bank with gun drawn on a napkin. Yeah, it’s possible you
 
could rob that bank, but what’s most plausible is that the bank tellers would just laugh at
you. So you have to imagine that hundreds of Somalis are willing or are forced to venture out into the deep waters of the open sea on small metal skiffs to hijack ships a
hundred times their skiff’s s
ize. I never assumed that a captain like Muse had to follow a ship like Maserk Alabama for days and nights to get a chance to board it. I thought they would be within an hour of two of land at least. It seems highly illogical and impractical when you see that Muse and his three loyal, brave and naïve crew members are not some advance trained bunch of mercenaries that you typically see in a Jason Bourne or James Bond flick. Muse and his Khat chewing crew were actually relying on a Somali pirate mother ship and another pirate crew to have their back. But in the end they were left alone to fend for themselves against the full might of the U.S. Navy and Navy Seals.
David L. $Money Train$ Watts • FuTurXTV • HHBMedia.com •
David Velo Stewart
 

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->