Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
You Could Lose Your Driver's License With Just One DUI In Colorado

You Could Lose Your Driver's License With Just One DUI In Colorado

Ratings: (0)|Views: 6|Likes:
Published by bestduilawyer
While we all may be familar with laws against Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), Colorado also has a law against Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI). This law makes it illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .05%. The punishments for a DWAI are less severe than those for a DUI.
While we all may be familar with laws against Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), Colorado also has a law against Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI). This law makes it illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .05%. The punishments for a DWAI are less severe than those for a DUI.

More info:

Published by: bestduilawyer on Nov 18, 2009
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as DOC, PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

09/09/2013

pdf

text

original

 
 You Could Lose Your Driver's License With Just One DUI In ColoradoWhile we all may be familar with laws against Driving Under the Influence (DUI) andDriving While Intoxicated (DWI), Colorado also has a law against Driving WhileAbility Impaired (DWAI). This law makes it illegal to drive with a blood alcoholconcentration (BAC) of .05%. The punishments for a DWAI are less severe thanthose for a DUI. But, like the rest of the country, you will be charged with a DUI inColorado if your BAC is at least .08%. Colorado also has implied consent laws whichare similar to laws in other states. This means that, if you drive in the State of Colordo, you automatically agree to take a chemical test to determine the presenceof any alcohol. If you refuse to take a chemical test of your blood, breath, or urine,your driver's license will be revoked for one year. A second refusal will suspend yourlicense for two years, and you become eligible for an IID after one year of thesuspension. A third refusal will suspend your license for three years, but you mayrequest a restricted license with an IID after one year.Colorado also has a point system tied to a driver's license. If you accumulateenough traffic violations in a certain amount of time and collect enough points, youcould lose your license. For example, if you're over the age of 21 and collect 12points in 12 consecutive months, or 18 points in 24 consecutive months, you are indanger of losing your license. For drivers who are between 18 and 21, collectingnine points in 12 consecutive months, 12 points in 24 consecutive months, or 14 ormore points in those three years you are between 18 and 21, you could lose yourlicense. For drivers under 18, six points in 12 consecutive months or seven pointsprior to turning 18 is all it would take for you to lose your license. Bear thisinformation in mind when you read on and see how just one dui stop can take awaythe freedom your driver's license brings. Your first DWAI offense will bring you from 48 hours to 180 days in jail, a fine of from $200 to $500, public service from 24 to 48 hours, and 8 points on your license. Your first DUI offense will bring you from five days to one year in jail (jail may besuspended in lieu of an alcohol treatment program), a fine of from $600 to $1,000,license suspension of nine months, public service from 48 to 96 hours, and 12points on your license. Your second DWAI offense brings a jail term of from 90 daysto one year, a fine of from $1,000 to $1,500, license suspension of one year, 12points on your license, and public service of from 60 to 120 hours. Your second DUIin Colorado brings a jail term of from 90 days to one year, a fine of from $1,000 to$1,500, a license suspension of one year, 12 points on your license, and publicservice of from 60 to 120 hours. If your second offense is within five years of yourprevious DUI, you will have to install an ignition interlock device (IID) prior to thereinstatement of your license. Your third DWAI offense brings a jail term of from 45days to one year, a fine of from $600 to $1,000, license suspension of two years, 8points on your license, and public service from 48 to 96 hours. Your third DUIoffense will land you in jail from 70 days to one year, bring a fine of from $900 to$1,500, a license suspension of two years (with the installation of an IID prior to

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->