Welcome to Scribd. Sign in or start your free trial to enjoy unlimited e-books, audiobooks & documents.Find out more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Boise Fire Chief Dennis Doan's 7/23/14 e-mail to me claiming firefighter Brent Matthews didn't perform the Heimlich maneuver on a drowning victim (who later died), and my same-day reply

Boise Fire Chief Dennis Doan's 7/23/14 e-mail to me claiming firefighter Brent Matthews didn't perform the Heimlich maneuver on a drowning victim (who later died), and my same-day reply

Ratings: (0)|Views: 49|Likes:
Published by Peter M. Heimlich
Also see my 7/2/14 inquiry to Boise Mayor David Bieter: http://tinyurl.com/mqq5s3s
Also see my 7/2/14 inquiry to Boise Mayor David Bieter: http://tinyurl.com/mqq5s3s

More info:

Published by: Peter M. Heimlich on Jul 23, 2014
Copyright:Traditional Copyright: All rights reserved

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

09/05/2014

pdf

text

original

 
Subject:
BFD Hero Brent Matthews
From:
Dennis Doan <DDoan@cityofboise.org>
Date:
7/23/2014 10:55 AM
To:
"peter.heimlich@gmail.com" <peter.heimlich@gmail.com>
CC:
Lynn Hightower <LHightower@cityofboise.org>, Adam Park <APark@cityofboise.org>, Sandi Rutland<Srutland@cityofboise.org>, "Paul Roberts" <proberts@cityofboise.org>, Brad Bolen <BBolen@cityofboise.org>, PerryOldenburg <POldenburg@cityofboise.org>, Randy Howell <RHowell@cityofboise.org>, Bob Kielty<BKielty@cityofboise.org>, Chloe Ross <CRoss@cityofboise.org>, Christi Wilcox <CWilcox@cityofboise.org>, "JacobEllis" <JDEllis@cityofboise.org>, Randy Barnack <RBarnack@cityofboise.org>, Steve Rutherford<SRutherford@cityofboise.org>, Greg Womack <president149@gmail.com>, "Jim Walker (sectreas149@gmail.com)(sectreas149@gmail.com)" <sectreas149@gmail.com>
Mr. Heimlich,I am responding to your most recent communica
on with Boise City Mayor Bieter in which you wanted the following:1.Me to ask Mr. Mahews to provide me with copies of the arcles he had “recently read…on the effecveness of performing the Heimlich maneuver on drowning vicms before starng CPR” and that I provide you with his response.2.To know if I have aempted to obtain a copy of KTVB's interview with Boise firefighter Brent Mahews? If so, pleaseprovide details. If not, do I intend to request a copy from KTVB?In answer to queson number 1. I do not intend to ask Firefighter Mahews to provide me with copies of the arcle he read. Youhave been advised mulplemes that the Boise Fire Department does not teach or train the Heimlich maneuver on drowningvicms. You have also been informed mulplemes that the Heimlich maneuver was not performed on this rescue. There are noofficial Boise Fire teaching materials that instruct our firefighters to use the Heimlich Maneuver on drowning vicms.In answer to queson number 2. There is no need to obtain a copy of KTVB’s interview since it can be found online at the followinglink:hp://www.ktvb.com/story/local/2014/07/22/12692049/My invesgaon into this maer is finished and the case is closed. During my invesgaon into this rescue I have determined threethings:1.The Boise Fire Department does not, and has never, instructed our dive team, EMT’s or Paramedics to perform theHeimlich Maneuver on drowning vicms, nor do we intend to do so in the future.2.The Heimlich Maneuver was not used in this rescue.3.Most importantly, Boise Firefighter Brent Mahews put his life on the line to save another person and he is a hero.
Dennis DoanChief Boise Fire Department
CITY OF BOISE
Phone: (208) 570-6560 office

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->