Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Save to My Library
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Kundalini Yoga to Channel Energy Up The

Kundalini Yoga to Channel Energy Up The

Ratings: (0)|Views: 252 |Likes:
Published by singhkd

More info:

Categories:Topics, Art & Design
Published by: singhkd on Feb 24, 2010
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as DOC, PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





 Kundalini Yoga to channel energy up the spine
Sat Kriya
(From SadhanaGuidelines)
 1. Sit on the heels and stretch the arms over the head so thatthe elbows hug the ears (A).2. Interlock all the fingers except the first ones (index) which point straight up (B). After a lot of practice you can hold your hands in prayer mudra.3. Begin to chant "Sat Nam" emphatically in a constant rhythm about eight times per 10seconds. Chant the sound "Sat" from the navel point and solar plexus, and pull theumbilicus all the way in toward the spine. On "Nam" relax the belly. Continue at least 3minutes, then inhale and squeeze the muscles tightly from the buttocks all the way up the back, past the shoulders. Mentally allow the energy to flow through the top of the skull.Ideally, you should relax for twice the length of time that the kriya was practiced.COMMENTS:Sat Kriya is fundamental to Kundalini yoga and should be practiced every day for at least3 minutes. Its effects are numerous. Sat Kriya strengthens the entire sexual system andstimulates its natural flow of energy. This relaxes phobias about sexuality. It allows youto control the insistent sexual impulse by rechannelizing sexual energy to creative andhealing activities in the body. People who are severely maladjusted or who have mental problems benefit from this kriya since these disturbances are always connected with an
imbalance in the energies of the lower three chakras. General physical health is im-provedsince all the internal organs receive a gentle rhythmic massage from this exercise. Theheart gets stronger from the rhythmic up-and-down of blood pressure you generate fromthe pumping motion of the navel point. This exercise works directly on stimulating andchannelizing the kundalini energy, so it must always be practiced with the mantra "Sat Nam. "You may build the time of the kriya to 31 minutes, but remember to have a long, deeprelaxation immediately afterwards. A good way to build the time up is to do the kriya for 3 minutes, then rest 2 minutes. Repeat this cycle until you have completed 15 minutes of Sat Kriya and 10 minutes of rest. Finish the required relaxation by resting an additional15 -20 minutes. Do not try to jump to 31 minutes because you feel you are strong, virileor happen to be a yoga teacher. Respect the inherent power of the technique. Let the kriya prepare the ground of your body properly to plant the seed of higher experience. It is not just an exercise, it is a kriya that works on all levels of your being - known and unknown.You might block the more subtle experiences of higher energies by pushing the physical body too much. You could have a huge rush of energy. You may have an experience of higher consciousness, but not be able to integrate the experience into your psyche. So prepare yourself with constancy, patience and moderation. The end result is assured. Notice that you emphasize pulling the navel point in. Don't try to apply mul bhand. Mul bhand happens automatically if the navel is pulled. Consequently, the hips and lumbar spine do not rotate or flex. Your spine stays straight and the only motion your arms makeis a slight up-and-down stretch with each "Sat Nam " as your chest lifts.If you have time for nothing else, make this kriya part of your every day exercise.
According to East Indian philosophy, man possesses seven major *chakras* or psychiccenters on his body. Each of these forms a bridge, link, or energy transformer; changing pure (higher) energy into various forms, and connecting the four bodies (ie. spiritual,mental, astral, and physical) together. The chakras are located along the nadies (anetwork of psychic nerves or channels) and follow the autonomic nervous system alongthe spinal cord.Chakras correlate with major acupuncture points along the 'governing vessel meridian'(acupuncture term). The seven major chakras are connected together by three major nadies which are parallel and near each other. The middle nadi is called *sushumna* andit has neutral characteristics. The nadi on the left (ie. nearest your left hand) is the *ida*nadi which has yin characteristics. On the other side of sushumna (nearest your righthand) is the *pingala* nadi, having yang qualities.Chakras are visible to clairvoyant sight as varously colored rotating circles or funnels. Inthe East they are described as petaled flowers or lotuses. Sources disagree on the colors.The first chakra, located at the base of the spine at the perineum is the *root chakra*,muladhara. It primarily relates to the element of earth and to psychic smell.The second chakra, known as the *sacral center*, svadhisthana, is located above and behind the genitals. Its dominant element is water, and it is related to psychic taste.Third of the chakras is the *solar plexus*, manipura, located at the navel andcorresponding with the emotions and with the element of fire; also with psychic sight(clairvoyance).The *heart chakra*, anahata, is the fourth chakra, located over the heart andcorresponding with the element of air, and also with psychic touch.The fifth chakra is the *throat chakra*, vishuddha, located at the base of the throat(thyroid) and corresponding with psychic hearing (clairaudience).The remaining two chakras are very important. They relate mostly to elevated states of consciousness. The *frontal chakra*, (or 'third eye') ajna, the sixth chakra, is located between, and slightly above, the eyebrows. Ajna is the center of psychic powers and can produce many psychic effects. Meditation on ajna is said to cure nervousness.Finally, the *crown chakra*, sahasrara, located atop the head, (pineal gland) is theseventh chakra. It is referred to as the thousand-petaled lotus and corresponds with astral projection and enlightenment.There are also many minor chakras throughout the body. Each chakra has a sound (letter)

Activity (21)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 hundred reads
1 thousand reads
Yuri liked this
skyslack liked this
bavinraj liked this
prince1900 liked this
in678 liked this
in678 liked this
Ivan Roca liked this

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->