Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Official NASA Communication 02-061

Official NASA Communication 02-061

Ratings: (0)|Views: 11|Likes:
Published by NASAdocuments

More info:

Published by: NASAdocuments on Oct 05, 2007
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





Dwayne BrownHeadquarters, Washington March 29, 2002(Phone: 202/358-1726)RELEASE: 02-61NASA ADMNISTRATOR NAMES TASK FORCE TO REVIEWBIOLOGICAL AND PHYSICAL RESEARCH PROGRAMSNASA Administrator Sean O'Keefe has selected anindependent task force to provide recommendations regardingthe research priorities of the agency's Office of Biological and Physical Research (OBPR).Designated the Research Maximization and PrioritizationTask Force, REMAP will serve as a follow on to theInternational Space Station Management and Cost Evaluation(IMCE) Task Force, which last year evaluated the budget andmanagement challenges facing the International SpaceStation program.REMAP is chartered to perform an independent review andassessment of research productivity and priorities for theentire scientific, technological and commercial portfolioof OBPR and to provide recommendations on how best toachieve its research goals within the President's budgetrequest.Chaired by Dr. Rae Silver, an original member of the IMCEpanel and professor of Natural and Physical Sciences atColumbia University, the REMAP task force will provideimportant guidance on how to maximize the scientificreturns on many NASA programs, including the space station."The space station project should be driven by specificresearch objectives and will be as integral a part of NASA's future as any of our research centers here onEarth," Administrator O'Keefe said. "When people look backand ask what was important about the International SpaceStation, it will be the scientific achievements that willbe remembered."Dr. David Shirley, Director Emeritus of the LawrenceBerkeley National Laboratory at the University of California, will serve as REMAP Vice Chair. He was a
protege of Dr. Glenn Theodore Seaborg, who worked on theManhattan Project and was awarded the Nobel Prize inChemistry in 1951.Along with Dr. Silver, fellow IMCE task force members Dr.Richard Roberts, 1993 Nobel Laureate and Research Directorof New England Biolabs in Massachusetts and Dr. AnthonyAcrivos, Einstein Professor of Science and Engineering,City University of New York will be among the distinguishedmembers that make up the REMAP Task Force."The charter of this task force is important and willliterally help set the bar for NASA's future science andresearch efforts on the International Space Station," saidMary Kicza, newly appointed Associate Administrator of OBPR. "Its contributions will have a profound impact andwill help the agency and our international partners realizethe full potential of this unique space laboratory."The REMAP Task Force will convene its first session inApril. By June, the panel is expected to provide its reportto the NASA Advisory Council, which will review thefindings and formally present its recommendations toAdministrator O'Keefe.The complete list of members follows. Detailed biographiesare available on the Internet at: http://spaceresearch.nasa.gov-end-REMAP TASK FORCE MEMBERSHIPRae Silver Behavioral Endocrinology Helene L. and Mark N.(Chair) Kaplan Professor of Natural and PhysicalSciences, ColumbiaUniversity, N.Y.David Shirley Nuclear Physics Director Emeritus of (Vice Chair) Lawrence BerkeleyNational Laboratoryand
Professor Emeritus,Univ. of California atBerkeleyAndreas Acrivos Fluid Dynamics Einstein Professor of Science andEngineering,City Univ. of New YorkRoger Beachy Plant Genomics President, DonaldDanforth Plant ScienceCenter, St. Louis, Mo.Raymond Bula Plant Physiology Former Director, WisconsinCenter for SpaceAutomation andRobotics,Univ. of Wisconsin atMadisonNoel Jones Structural Biology Formerly Eli Lilly andCompanyHarold Metcalf Atomic Physics DistinguishedTeachingProfessor, StateUniversityof New York AtStony BrookPatricia Morris Materials Science Chemical SensorTechnology Manager,DuPont Company,Wilmington, Del.Elaine Oran Combustion Science Sr. Scientist,Reactive FlowPhysics NavalResearch LaboratoryWashington, D.C.Mary Jane Osborn Microbial Biology Professor and Head,Univ. of Connecticut

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->