Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
P. 1
Horasara of Prithuyasas Son of Varahamihira

Horasara of Prithuyasas Son of Varahamihira

Ratings: (0)|Views: 389 |Likes:
Published by pramodc22

More info:

Published by: pramodc22 on Sep 03, 2010
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





Horāsāra of Prithuyasas, son of VarahMihira
Ch. 1. Rāśi VibhagaCh. 2. Grah LakshanasCh. 3. Evaluation of Strengths of GrahasCh. 4. Nisheka JanmadhyayaCh. 5. ArishtasCh. 6. Arishta YogCh. 7. AyurdayadhyaCh. 8. Dasha Phal NirupanaCh. 9. Sūrya's DashaCh. 10. Candr's Dasha and its EffectsCh. 11. Mangal's Dasha and its EffectsCh. 12. The Effects of Budh DashaCh. 13. The Effects of Guru DashaCh. 14. The Effects of Śukr DashaCh. 15. The Effects of Śani DashaCh. 16. Miscellaneous Dasha EffectsCh. 17. The Effects of Ashtak VargCh. 18. Effects of Dashas and Antar Dashas of the GrahasCh. 19. Candr and Nabhash YogasCh. 20. Raj YogasCh. 21. Results of Grahas in the Several BhavasCh. 22. {Implications of Karm Bhava}Ch. 23. Conjunctions of Two, or More Grahas and their EffectsCh. 24. Adverse Combinations for a Janm KundaliCh. 25. Strī JatakCh. 26. On DeathCh. 27. Lost HoroscopyCh. 28. Qualities of ConstellationsCh. 29. Results of Candr Rāśis at BirthCh. 30. Effects of Birth in the Several AmshasCh. 31. Nakshatr JatakaCh. 32. Jataka Lakshanas
Horāsāra of Prithuyasas, son of Varah Mihirafile:///C:/Documents and Settings/Pramod/Desktop/Horasara_of_Prithu...1 of 1179/3/2010 2:01 PM
Ch. 1. Rāśi Vibhaga
There flourishes the divine Sūrya, the lord of the day, who is the sole cause andthe soul of the Universe, who illumines all the worlds, and who daily bringsCreation, Destruction and Protection.The time measured from a second (required for winking the eye once) up to a year and the duration of each (zodiacal) śi have been explained along withastronomical calculations and characteristics of the Grahas.In the section of Horoscopy the various Dasha divisions have been dealt with. Butthose with lesser understanding capacity need more scientific explanation, as theycannot grasp all (from Brihat Jataka).Notes. This implies, that the present work has simplified explanations based onBrihat Jataka. Further additions are made by the author so an average student cangrasp more.In order, that the effects, which were declared by the old masters, who were able topredict the future accurately, are clarified lucidly, I shall state the gist of the oceanof Horary Science.The names of the twelve Rāśis are Mesh, Vrishabh, Mithun, Kark, Simh, Kanya,Tula, Vrischik, Dhanu, Makar, Kumbh and Meen in their order.The Rāśi Kanya is described, as a virgin seated in a boat with fire and corn in her hands. Tula is represented by a man holding scales (balance), while Meenresembles a pair of fish. The Rāśi Makar is a deer-faced crocodile, while Dhanulooks like a man holding a bow and having a hip, like that of a horse. The RāśisMesh, Vrishabh, Simh, Kark and Vrischik, respectively, have the forms of a ram,ox, lion, crab and scorpion, true to their (Sanskrit) names. Mithun is imagined tobe a combination of a male and a female (a couple) holding a staff and lute,respectively.Vrischik, Meen, Makar and Kark are watery Rāśis. Tula, Kumbh, Vrishabh andKanya are water resorter Rāśis. Remaining Rāśis are land resorters. Simh’s abodeis mountain’s caves. The habitations for Mesh, Tula, Mithun and Dhanu are in their order plateau, city, village and warfield.The Rāśis Kark, Vrischik and Meen are reptile Rāśis, especially Vrischik, thescorpion Rāśi. Quadruped Rāśis are the second half of Dhanu, the first half of Makar, the whole portions of Mesh, Vrishabh and Simh. Biped, or human Rāśisare Kumbh, Mithun, Tula, Kanya and the first 15 degrees of Dhanu.The biped Rāśis are strong, when they house Lagn. Similarly strong are thequadruped Rāśis holding Karm Bhava, the reptile Rāśis having Yuvati and thewatery Rāśis, if resided by Bandhu.
Horāsāra of Prithuyasas, son of Varah Mihirafile:///C:/Documents and Settings/Pramod/Desktop/Horasara_of_Prithu...2 of 1179/3/2010 2:01 PM
Two and a quarter of Nakshatras make one Rasi. Each of the 12 Rāśis isconstituted by two and quarter of Nakshatras, or nine quarters with Ashvini in thestart in Mesh and Revati at the end in Meen.One Ghatik each at the junctions of Revati-Ashvini, Aslesha-Magha andJyeshtha-Mul is called Gandantha. This evil period rules for four years; some sayfor six years.Notes: According to Kasinatha’s Lagnacandrika the first three Ghatis of Mul,Magha and Ashvini are cal]ed Ganda Nadika. Simi]ar]y the ending five Ghatis of each of Jyeshtha, Aslesha and Revati. Donation of ghee filled bronze vessel, blackcow and gold are suggested to overcome the evil of this Gandanadika. (SeeSlokas 89-92 of Ch. I of Lagnacandrika) Saravali simply says, that the endingportions of Kark, Meen and Vrischik are called Gandantha. Also see PhalaDeepika Ch. I, Sloka 4, which calls such portion, as Bhasandhi. For moreinformation, please see Balabhadra’sHoraRatna, Ch.II. The effects of Gandanthamay be seen in Ch. V. of the present work.The first Navamshas of the 12 Rasis from Mesh onwards are, respectively, Mesh,Makar, Tula and Kark, repeating again twice. The rulers of the Navamshas are thesame, as the Rāśi lords. The Dwadashamshas begin from the same Rāśi. Thelords of Dreshkanas for each Rāśi are in their respective order: the lord of thesame Rāśi, the 5
lord there of and the 9
lord there of.The Trimshamsh degrees allotted to Mangal, Śani, Guru, Budh and Śukr are 5, 5,8, 7 and 5, respectively, in odd Rāśis. The reverse is true in even Rāśis, (i.e. 5, 7,8, 5 and 5, respectively).Notes. The division of Trimshamsh will be more useful to assess the disposition of a female, her luck etc. These have been elaborately dealt with in Ch. 25.The Rāśis Mesh, Vrishabh, Dhanu, Makar and Kark ascend with hinder part andare known to be strong between sunset and sunrise. The Rāśi Meen rises with itsface in opposite direction (in both ways) and is strong in twilight and the restwithout Mithun rise with their heads and are strong during the day. All the Rāśisare strong, if they recveive a drsihti from their own lords, or from Budh, or fromGuru.Notes: Brihat Jataka says, that Kark is a day Rāśi and Mithun is a night Rāśi. Alsosee Sloka 14 of Ch. I of Jataka Parijata and Sloka 13, Ch. 7 of Sanketa Nidhi for details of night Rāśis and day Rāśis.The 12 Rāśis follow classified, as male and female one after the other. These arealso known, as movable, fixed and dual Rāśis in their respective order, thusrepeated four times from Mesh onward.Notes: The Rāśis Mesh, Mithun, Simh, Tula, Dhanu and Kumbh are male. The
Horāsāra of Prithuyasas, son of Varah Mihirafile:///C:/Documents and Settings/Pramod/Desktop/Horasara_of_Prithu...3 of 1179/3/2010 2:01 PM

Activity (8)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 hundred reads
1 thousand reads
Radhesh Bhoot liked this
Shakthi Varma liked this
d280299 liked this
Sabari Nathan liked this
Marcia Castle liked this
Ravi Kasibhatla liked this

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->