Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
2010 News & Doc Emmys

2010 News & Doc Emmys

Ratings: (0)|Views: 3,518|Likes:
Published by tvnewser

More info:

Published by: tvnewser on Sep 28, 2010
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





Documentarian Frederick Wiseman Receives Lifetime Achievement Award  PBS NewsHour Honored with Chairman’s Award 
New York, N.Y. – September 27, 2010 – Winners of the 31st Annual News and DocumentaryEmmy
Awards were announced tonight by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences(NATAS). The News & Documentary Emmy
Awards were presented at a ceremony at FrederickP. Rose Hall, Home of Jazz at Lincoln Center, located in the Time Warner Center in New YorkCity. The ceremony will be broadcast on Saturday, October 9 at 8pm ET on C-SPAN.The event was attended by more than 900 television and news media industry executives, newsand documentary producers and journalists. Emmy
Awards were presented in 41 categories,including Breaking News, Investigative Reporting, Outstanding Interview, and BestDocumentary, among others.This year’s presenters included
Diane Sawyer,
 ABC’s World News
Lester Holt
, weekendanchor,
NBC’s Nightly News
, and weekend co-anchor,
Sheila Nevins
, President,
HBODocumentary Films
Dan Rather
, anchor and managing editor,
HDNet’s Dan Rather Reports
, correspondent,
CBS’ 60 Minutes
Paula Zahn
, Executive Producer/Host,
On the Case withPaula Zahn
, Investigation Discovery Network.The Lifetime Achievement Award was given to
Frederick Wiseman
, one of the mostaccomplished documentarians in the history of the medium, presented by
Paula A. Kerger
,President and CEO, PBS.In addition, the prestigious Chairman’s Award was given to the
PBS NewsHour 
Roger Mudd
,former Washington correspondent for
CBS News, NBC News
and the
 McNeil/Lehrer NewsHour 
onPBS, presented the award to
Robert MacNeil
 Jim Lehrer
, longtime executive producer
, and current executive producer
Linda Winslow
 2Sponsors for the 31st Annual News & Documentary Emmy
Awards included Hydroxatone and VermontSpirits. Results for the News & Documentary Emmy
Awards were tabulated by the independentaccountancy firm of Lutz & Carr LLP. International Emmy Awards are tabulated by the internationalaccounting firm Ernst & Young.The numerical breakdown by award recipients, by broadcast, cable and broadband entities, as compiled bythe independent accountancy firm of Lutz & Carr LLP, follows:
CBS 7 Sundance Channel 2NBC 6 CNBC 1PBS 5 Discovery Channel 1ABC
2 Globeandmail.com 1HDNet 2 HBO 1History Channel 2 NYTimes.com 1National Geographic Channel 2 TIME.com 1Planet Green 2 VH1 1
Regional Reporting Winners
KPIX-TV (San Francisco, CA) 1 KSTP-TV(Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN)1KHOU-TV (Houston, TX) 1
A complete list of the 31st Annual News & Documentary Emmy Award recipients is also available on theAcademy's web site at
About The National Academy of Television Arts & SciencesThe National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional serviceorganization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and thepromotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within thetelevision industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Award forNews & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment,Public & Community Service, Technology & Engineering, and Business & FinancialReporting. Regional Emmy® Awards are given in 19 regions across the United States. NATASalso presents the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Global Media Awards™which recognizes excellence in the world-wide intersection of digital entertainment andtechnology. Emmy® Awards given out for primetime programming are presented by our sisterorganization, the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (ATAS). Beyond awards, NATAS hasextensive educational programs including National Student Television and its Student Award forExcellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships,publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public. Formore information, please visit the website atwww.emmyonline.tv
 3For Press information, please contact:Paul PillitteriDirector, Communication/NATAS212-586-8424ppillitteri@emmyonline.tvFor photography of Emmy Awards ceremonies, go to www.bryan-brown.com
Marc Bryan-Brown marc@bryan-brown.com 917-744-0700

Activity (6)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 thousand reads
1 hundred reads
hreisch_asst liked this
jenmrivera liked this

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->