Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
4Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Lucas D. Smith's 06.17.10 (revised 12.06.10) book review of George Hussein Obama's 'Homeland: An Extraordinary Story of Hope and Survival'

Lucas D. Smith's 06.17.10 (revised 12.06.10) book review of George Hussein Obama's 'Homeland: An Extraordinary Story of Hope and Survival'

Ratings: (0)|Views: 218|Likes:
Published by Lucas Daniel Smith
Lucas D. Smith's 06.17.10 (revised 12.06.10) book review of George Hussein Obama's 'Homeland: An Extraordinary Story of Hope and Survival'.
Lucas D. Smith's 06.17.10 (revised 12.06.10) book review of George Hussein Obama's 'Homeland: An Extraordinary Story of Hope and Survival'.

More info:

Categories:Types, Research, Law
Published by: Lucas Daniel Smith on Dec 06, 2010
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as DOCX, PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

09/05/2013

pdf

text

original

 
Lucas D. Smith's 06.17.10 (revised 12.06.10) book review of George HusseinObama's 'Homeland: An Extraordinary Story of Hope and Survival'.
I have recently completed my reading of the book Homeland: An Extraordinary Story of Hopeand Survival, by George Hussein Obama (President Barack Obama's youngest brother in Kenya).George Hussein Obama, in his book, which was published in January of 2010, depicts Kenya justas I saw Kenya in February of 2009.There are several segments of the book that aid in depicting Kenya as I saw Kenya in 2009.Many critics (and Obots) have made claims that my depicting of Kenya in 2009 wastremendously inaccurate and downright impossible.Let¶s compare what de facto president Obama's brother (George) has to say in his new book towhat I have said earlier.
Plantains...
1. (a).
 Lucas Smith, Kenya, 2009
: "I had lunch at a small eatery and noticed that theclub sandwich with fried plantains was now known as "Obama's plate of the day."1. (b).
Critics and Obamanuts
: Plantains are a common and tasty treat served in theCaribbean and specifically in the Dominican Republic. Lucas Smith has confused, in his lies, thetraditional food of the Caribbean for that of Africa and specifically Kenya. Kenyans do not eat plantains and plantains are not common to East Africa.1. (c).
George Obama at page 217 
: ""If you had cash and freedom, what would you buyto eat?" I'd ask Ramjo and the others. "Anything. You can go anywhere and afford anything.What would it be?"....."Pilau," Ramjo would answer....."Nah, matoke," I'd counter. "Has to bematoke. Nothing fills your belly like matoke." Matoke was a TRADITIONAL, thick KENYANstew made of cooked PLANTIANS, potatoes, and meat."1. (d).
George Obama at page 234
: "And then I took my first step into freedom and ontothe teaming streets of the city. The four of us, along with the rest of the Huruma gang, headeddirectly for the nearest CAFE. Rambjo ordered pilau and I ordered matoke (i.e., PLANTAINS).That was our first, delicious taste of freedom, precious freedom."Conclusion: It appears that Lucas Smith wasn't the only eating plantains at a cafe in Nairobi,Kenya. Note: The country of Uganda (Kenya's next door neighbor) is one of the biggest producers of  plantains in the world.
 
 
Obama's face was on everything and everywhere in Nairobi, Kenya in 2009...
2. (a).
 Lucas Smith, Kenya, 2009
: "As an American I was bombarded with questions inEnglish (English is the official language of Kenya) on my feelings and opinions of a Kenyangoverning the United States of America. The first several times I responded in saying that notenough time had elapsed since Barack Obama's appointment as President of the USA, and thatI'd have to hold my official opinion until at least January 2010, a year in office might besufficient for me to judge his ability to govern the USA. Naturally I thought that by "Kenyan"they were referring to Barack Obama's blood, being that his father Barack Cbama sr was a nativeof Kenya. After a day and a half of my being in Nairobi I learned that they were literallyreferring to president Barack Obama jr as being born in Kenya, a native of Kenya. Now I startedasking questions, did his father's Kenyan blood somehow entitle Barack jr to the equivalent of anative Kenyan? no, not all, I was to find out. They were referring to Barack Obama jr's physical birth on Kenyan soil."2. (b).
Critics and Obamanuts
: President Obama's face and his name wasn¶t really plastered around that much in Nairobi or anywhere in Kenya. A person would not see Obama'sface and name on everything and in Nairobi, e.g., not on T-shirts, not on signs nor posters in thestreet, not on all the TV stations and news broadcasts.2. (c).
George Obama at page 275 thru 276 
: "Most of the restaurants and bars around Nairobi have a TV set, and many show international news channels like CNN. Via the TV newsthe Kenyan people followed the unfolding battle in America for the Democratic nomination for  president. Kenya celebrated the rise of Barack Obama, it's "lost" African son and the possibilitythat the first Lou president was going to elected -- in America! The reggae hit, Barack Obama" by Cocoa Tea boomed out from the matatus (city buses in Kenya are called "matatus"); bars setup wide screen TVs so customers could watch Barack Obama action. Like everyone else, I foundmyself gripped by the powerful rhetoric of this man. As my American brother went fromunderdog to odds-on-favorite, the interest in his Kenyan roots and heritage mushroomed. Hisface peered out of every Kenyan newspaper and magazine: T shirts sported his most popular slogans, like Change You Can Believe In. He seemed to be EVERYWHERE, and I suppose itwas hardly surprising when the world's press came looking for me (George Obama)."Conclusion: It appears that Lucas Smith wasn't the only one that noticed Barack Obama's faceand name on EVERYTHING and EVERYWHERE in Nairobi, Kenya. There was even a reggaesong called "Barack Obama" by Cocoa Tea which blarred from public city buses in Nairobi allday long. Did you know that?
English is spoken in Kenya (and is the official, though not national, language of Kenya) , but most Kenyans speak terribly poor quality English«
3
. (a)
 Lucas Smith
: This is in response to the many critics and Obamanuts and their claims of having called on the telephone to the Coast Province General Hospital and their claimsto have spoken with staff there. Communicating with the hospital staff via telephone may not be
 
 possible over the phone because many Kenyans speak very poor grade English. I, Lucas Smith,and other serious investigators have even attempted to place calls to the hospitals telephonenumber that is listed on the CPGH birth certificate of Obama. I, and other serious investigators,found that a female receptionist would invariably answer with "Coast General Hospital". After that nothing could be understood, and they certainly DIDN'T understand a word that we spoke tothem in English. Within 10 or so seconds the confused receptionist would hand up the telephone.Speaking face to face, in person, is always much less complicated then over the telephone whenone party doesn¶t speak the language fluently or when accents are heavy. Yet critics claimed(lied) that they had no problems at all with communicating telephonically with the hospital.
3
. (b).
Critics and Obamanuts
make the claims that all Kenyans speak fine English, Imean they make it sound as if we Americans might take a lesson or two from Kenyans and their fine English.
3
. (c).
George Obama at page 226-230
: ""Obama is it?" You wish to make a point?" "Ido Your Honor," I replied. "Am I permitted to speak in English? I find it a more suitablelanguage to express what can be complex arguments"."In Kenya, English is the language of the ruling classes. Only those with a fine education canspeak it fluently, and no one in that court had been speaking anything other than Swahili. Myquestion was a ruse to unsettle the prosecutor, and perhaps even the judge. Of course, the judgehad to accede to my request, for the language of the elite had to be his language too."""Permission to speak in granted," the judge replied. He switched to English. "And please, of course you may argue your case in English, if you so wish"....."Objection!" the prosecutor announced, jumping to his feet and fixing me with a glare. "Accused has no right--"""Overruled!" the judge growled. "Sit down, prosecutor. I trust that you are following Mr Obama's arguments? A fine thing to see such a command of English, don't you agree?""He turned back to me. "Continue Obama."....."Ramjo, Stevo, and Mandeka added a few wordsin Swahili, backing up what I had said. As they did so, I was aware that just about everyone inthe courtroom was staring at me. My three buddies were equally bemused. I hadn't told them thatI intended to argue the case in English. In fact, it was something that had to come to me on thespur of the moment.....I'd noted that the prosecutor was struggling to conduct his argument inEnglish. It was an effort not to crack up laughing.....Ramjo, Mandeka, and Stevo wereflabbergasted by my performance. None of them had known that I was fluent in English, for all Ihad ever spoken with them was Swahili or Sheng. They'd managed to get the drift of what I wassaying, but more importantly they'd seen the effect that my English had had on the judge and thecourt. It was clear what everyone had been thinking: How can this guy have emerged from theIndustrial Area Prison and be here on robbery charges, and yet he speaks English as well as any judge? How on earth can he do that? Who is that guy?"
 
Conclusion: Speculative.

Activity (4)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 thousand reads
1 thousand reads
1 hundred reads
silverbull8 liked this

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->