Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Save to My Library
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Literature Review on Performance Management

Literature Review on Performance Management

Ratings: (0)|Views: 670 |Likes:
Published by eismintukey
Literature review on performance management
Literature review on performance management

More info:

Published by: eismintukey on Mar 04, 2011
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as DOC, PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





Literature review on performance management
The Deming Prize was established in 1951 to recognize quality achievement in Japaneseorganizations. The award was named to honor Deming, the leading thinker and innovator who helped Japan to overcome the economic crisis after World War II. The Union of Japanese Scientists and Engineers manages the award and it may be given in four categories: individual, companies and other operating organizations, factories, andcompanies located outside Japan. Some of the criteria used for the award: topmanagement; human resource management; organization structure and its operation;daily management; policy management; relationships to ISO 9000 and ISO 14000;quality assurance; new product and technological development; process control; qualityevaluation and audit; activities covering the whole cycle; supplier management; cross-functional management; environment and safety management; education and training;relationship with customers, suppliers, and shareholders; and continuously securingprofit.The European Quality Award was established in 1992 to promote quality in Europeancompanies. This award evaluates organizations on nine criteria: leadership, policy andstrategy, people (employee) management, resources, processes, customer satisfaction,people (employee) satisfaction, impact on society, and business.Similar to the Deming Prize and the European Quality Award, the U.S. governmentestablished the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award (MBNQA) in 1987 to promoteawareness of quality excellence, to recognize quality achievements of U.S. companies,and to publicize successful quality strategies. The dual goals of the Baldrige criteria areto improve value to customers, which results in marketplace success, and to improveoverall financial and company performance to meet the needs of shareholders, owners,and other stakeholders. The National Institute of Standards and Technology(NIST)manages the award and it may be given each year in six categories such asmanufacturing, service, small business, health care, education, and nonprofitorganizations. The MBNQA criteria are built upon the following set of core values andconcepts:(1) visionary leadership,(2) customer-driven excellence,(3) organizational and personal learning,(4) valuing employees and partners,(5) agility,(6) focus on the future,(7) managing for innovation,(8) management by fact,(9) social responsibility,(10) focus on results and creating value, and(11) systems perspective.

Activity (8)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 hundred reads
1 thousand reads
dineey liked this
Arslan Bukhari liked this
Michelean Waite liked this
Doaa Mustafa liked this
Farooq Khan liked this

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->