Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
2010 State Department Awards | FSOs

2010 State Department Awards | FSOs

Views: 757|Likes:
Published by Diplopundit
2010 List of Awardees | State Department FSOs | extracted from State Magazine February 2011
2010 List of Awardees | State Department FSOs | extracted from State Magazine February 2011

More info:

Published by: Diplopundit on Mar 09, 2011
Copyright:Public Domain


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF or read online from Scribd
See more
See less


February 2011State Magazine 
Super Stars
Department Honors Award Winners for‘Groundbreaking Work’ ///
By Bill Palmer 
 State MagazineFebruary 2011
Wave ater wave o warm applause rolled through Main State’sBenjamin Franklin Room in November as the Departmenthonored its own at its annual awards day. With more employeesserving in war zones and hardship posts, the respect or what they have managed to achieve, despite the obstacles, was palpable inthe words o their leaders and the reaction o their peers.As Deputy Secretary James Steinberg said in his remarks, theawardees “are doing groundbreaking work, oten under very di cult circumstances.”Director General Nancy J. Powell thanked the private donorswho have made many o the most prestigious awards possible. Shealso thanked the Cox Foundation or unding two new memorialplaques that will be placed near the C Street entrance o theHarry S ruman Building. Steinberg then unveiled the plaques.One honors Locally Employed Sta members who died in theline o duty, and the other honors Eligible Family Members.T e LE Sta plaque contains the ollowing names: 2004:Mohammed Basheeruddin, Romeo Delarosa, Ali Bin alib andImad Musa Ali, all o Saudi Arabia; 2005: Ryadh Hamad andAli Al-Hili o Iraq and Raida Aghaveva o Azerbaijan; 2006:Ahmed I khar and Hussein Ibraheem Abdullah o Iraq andBijnan Ajarya o Nepal; 2007: Ali Mohammed Hashim o Iraq;2008: Abdel Rahman Rahama o Sudan and Moktar Al-Faqih o Yemen; 2010: Jean-Daniel Laontant, Olriche Jean, Jacques JosueDesamours, Laica Casseus, Joseph Fontal and Racan Domond, allo Haiti.T e EFM plaque contains the ollowing names: 2002: KristenWormsley, Pakistan; 2007: Zelda White, Kenya; 2010: EvanJames Yves Wyllie, Baptiste T omas Michel Wyllie and LaurencePignarre Wyllie, Haiti.Under Secretary or Political A airs William Burns thanked allamily members, saying the Department is “acutely aware o thesacrices we ask o our amilies.”Beore presenting the awards, Burns said the honoreesdistinguished themselves “by the depth o their commitment,the level o their expertise and the ull measure o their bravery asthey promote American interests and values in a very complicatedworld.” He cited the “newer, grittier realities” that require a new brand o diplomacy and diplomats who are as comortable withthe tenets o counter-insurgency as with the world o demarches.“I thank each o you or a job extraordinarily well done,” hesaid. “I know you will continue to make all o us very proud.”
Deputy Secretary James Steinbergspeaks at the awards day ceremony andthen (above right) unveils one of the newmemorial plaques.
The ArmedForces Color Guard presents the colors.
Civil Service Secretaryof the Year
Tucker RichmondStewart
Stewart, lead secretary orransportation A airs in the Bureauo Economic, Energy and BusinessA airs, was cited or her hard work anddevotion to mission during historicaviation negotiations that contributedsigni cantly to global economic growthand international understanding.
Charles E. Cobb Jr.Award for Initiativeand Success in TradeDevelopment
John R. Beyrle
Beyrle, U.S. ambassador to Russia, wascited or extraordinary e orts workingwith American business and Russiangovernment o cials to successully promote U.S.-Russia trade.
Sue M. Cobb Awardfor ExemplaryDiplomatic Service
Donald H. Gips
Gips, U.S. ambassador to SouthArica, was cited or his exceptionaland visionary leadership indirecting the mission and settingthe bilateral relationship on a new and improved course.
Award for Excellencein Labor Diplomacy
Kurt W. Aufderheide
Auderheide, a political-military o cerin Baghdad, was cited or outstandingreporting on labor issues throughoutSouth China in the atermath o theglobal nancial crisis and China’seconomic recovery.
James A. Baker III C. Howard Wilkins Jr.Award for OutstandingDeputy Chief ofMission
David E. Lindwall
Lindwall, DCM in Port-au-Prince,was cited or saving lives throughhis personal courage, extraordinary service and outstanding initiative inmanaging the embassy’s immediateresponse to the devastating earthquakeo Jan. 12, 2010.
Warren ChristopherAward for OutstandingAchievement inGlobal Aff airs
Eleanor J. Nagy
Nagy, ormer director o the O ceo Europe, Central Asia and theAmericas in the Bureau o Population,Reugees and Migration, was citedor her humanitarian initiativesin Europe, Central Asia and theAmericas, including lie-savingresponse and human rights advocacy or reugees, victims o conf ict andother vulnerable populations.

Activity (5)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 hundred reads
Diplopundit liked this
Diplopundit liked this
Diplopundit liked this

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->