Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Zambia - APRM Country Self Assessment

Zambia - APRM Country Self Assessment

Ratings: (0)|Views: 1,289|Likes:
Published by Zambian-Economist

More info:

Published by: Zambian-Economist on Mar 24, 2011
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





 Members of the re-constituted Zambia NGC comprise the following:
Ms. Lucy M. Muyoyeta, NGO Coordinating Council;
Mr. Philip Chilomo, Economic Association of Zambia;
Vice Chairperson and Spokesperson
Dr. Francis Chigunta, Political Advisor to the President;4.
Mr. Arthur M. Choobe, Ministry of Labour and Social Security;5.
Mr. Stephen S. Mulonda, Ministry of Commerce, Trade and Industry;6.
Mrs. Matondo Monde C. S. Yeta, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Lands;7.
Mr. Walubita Imakando, Ministry of Foreign Affairs;8.
Mr. Amukusana C. Katundu, Ministry of Education;9.
Brig. Gen. Timothy Jim Kazembe, Eminent Person;10.
Ms. Rose Chumpuka, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting Services;11.
Mrs. Justice Florence Mumba, Judiciary;12.
Mrs. Rosemary C. Musenge, Cabinet Office (PAC);13.
Mrs. Annette C. Nhekairo, Zambia Law Development Commission;14.
Mr. Reuben Lifuka, Transparency International Zambia;15.
Mr. Hanson Sindowe, Zambia Association of Chambers of Commerce and Industry;16.
Mr. Eddie Nason Mumba, Local Government Association of Zambia;17.
Dr. Ben U. Chirwa, National HIV/AIDS/STI/TB Council;18.
Mr. Guess Nyirenda, Operation Young Vote;19.
Mr. Steve M. Kateule, National Assembly;20.
Mr. Mumba Kapumpa, Institute of Directors;21.
Mr. Wamuyuwa Sitibekiso, Federation of Free Trade Unions Zambia;22.
Prof. Oliver S. Saasa, Eminent Person;23.
His Royal Highness Chief Nondo (Mr. Herbert Chibwe Nondo), Traditional LeadersRepresentative;24.
Dr. Mabel Mandela, Private Universities Representative;25.
Mr. Chibeza Mfuni, Eminent Person;26.
Ms Anna Mufaya Imasiku, Eminent Person;27.
Mr. Bruce Munyama, Eminent Person;28.
Mr. Lawrence Hansingo, Anti Corruption Commission29.
Mr. Stephen Lungu, Law Association of Zambia; and,
Brig. Gen. Gilbert C. Chileshe, Eminent Person
 During the Country Self-Assessment process, the people of Zambia expressed enthusiasm to participate in theoverall African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM) objective of promoting good governance in their country. Withthe support of the Government of Zambia (GRZ), technically, administratively and financially, the NationalGoverning Council (NGC) provided leadership and actively mobilised Zambians to participate in the APRMprocess. Through the Governance Secretariat in the Ministry of Justice (MoJ), which is also serving as theAPRM National Secretariat, the Council succeeded in bringing various key stakeholders on board toparticipate in the APRM process.The National Governing Council would like to unreservedly extend appreciation to all those persons who gaveassistance in one way or another to the successful completion of the country assessment process in Zambia.In particular, the Council would like to sincerely thank His Excellency, Mr. Rupiah Bwezani Banda, thePresident of the Republic of Zambia, for his commitment and goodwill towards the APRM process in Zambia.His support made work easy for the Council and the National Secretariat. The Council pays tribute to the latePresident Levy Patrick Mwanawasa for ensuring that Zambia acceded to the APRM.Special appreciation goes to His Honour, the Vice President of the Republic of Zambia and Minister of Justice,Hon. George Kunda, SC, MP, for his support and encouragement as Focal Point for the APRM in Zambia.Special thanks also go to Mrs. Gertrude M. Imbwae, the Permanent Secretary (Administration), Ministry of Justice, for her paramount role as the Controlling Officer and liaison person between the Focal Point, theNational Governing Council and the Secretariat.
The APRM National Governing Council acknowledges the support provided by the APR Panel of EminentPersons, especially Mrs. Graca Machel, who led the Country Support Mission (CSM) to Zambia with diligenceand dedication. The Council also acknowledges the invaluable contribution made by the Continental APRMSecretariat in South Africa towards the implementation of Zambia’s peer review.Appreciation is also extended to the various institutions and organisations for participating in the preparation of the country self-assessment process in Zambia. Special thanks go to members of the civil service, Judiciary,Parliament, Zambia Defence Forces, the media, and civil society organizations, to mention but a few, and thegeneral public, for participating in the sensitisation campaign, surveys and the validation of the CSAR.The NGC also acknowledges the input of the technical research institutions, including the Central StatisticalOffice staff, that were engaged in the review process and successfully completed their assignments. Their involvement determined the course of the process and put it on the path of success as far as achieving theCouncil’s key outputs, namely, Country Self Assessment Report (CSAR) and Plan of Action (POA). Specialthanks also go to Dr. Francis Chigunta for compiling and consolidating the CSAR.Accolades are further extended to members of the Governance Secretariat within the Ministry of Justice for their unrivalled support and professionalism accorded to the Council. The Secretariat comprises Mrs. Maria M.Kawimbe (Coordinator); Mr. Vanny Hampondela (Monitoring and Evaluation/Information Specialist); Mr.Morgan Mukwasa (Acting Senior State Advocate); Mrs. Sindiso N. Sichone (Human Rights, Democratisationand Constitutionalism Specialist); Mr. Ernest Mwape (Accountability and Transparency Specialist); Mr. Davies

Activity (7)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 hundred reads
1 thousand reads
Mirriam Mwiinga liked this
Wayaya2009 liked this

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->