Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
The WAY to NIBBANA - A Collection of Articles by Various Venerable

The WAY to NIBBANA - A Collection of Articles by Various Venerable

Ratings: (0)|Views: 1,719 |Likes:
Published by dhamadarna

More info:

Published by: dhamadarna on Nov 23, 2007
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





A Collection of Articles on Ultimate Peace
Venerable U Thittila:
The Way to Nibbana
Venerable Mingun Sayadaw
Venerable Mahasi Sayadaw:
What is Nibbana?
Sayadaw U Panna Dipa
Sayadaw U Panna Dipa
 Nibbana: The Supreme Goal of Buddhism
Sayadaw U Panna Dipa
Buddhist Way of Emancipation
Venerable Pyinnyathiha:
What is Nibbana?
Venerable Dhammasami:
 Nibbana (Nirvana)
Dr. Mehm Tin Mon:
U Han Htay:
 Nibbana for All
U Khin Moung: Two Stages of Nibbana
U Shwe Zan Aung: A Dialouge on Nibbana
U Htay Hlaing:
The Buddha Country or Universe
(Multiple Sources)
Vipassana Nanas
Venerable U Thitilla 
( Aggamahapandita )
 Lecture to the High Court Buddhist Association, Rangoon
Part One
 The title of our talk this afternoon is 'The Way to Nibbana the way tothe highest happiness'.To sum up all the teachings of the Buddha. we have a stanza:To refrain from all evilTo do what is good.To purify the mindThis is the teaching of (all) Buddhas.(Dhammapada 183; -
 Khuddakanikaya Dhammapadatthakatha.
14Buddhavagga. 4-Anandatherapanha vatthu; Verse 183.)It is a very short stanza; yet it covers all the teachings of the Buddha.It embodies three stages on the Highway to the Highest Happiness
I think most of you know that stanza in Pali and therefore I neednot repeat it. There are three stages of developing ourselves towards thisHighest Happiness. The order of development of ourselves in accordancewith the Noble Eightfold Path
(Attha Magganga-Majjhima Patipada)
isclassified into three groups, namely.
(Concentration) and
(Wisdom). The first two steps of the NobleEightfold Path, Right Understanding. i.e. understanding of the nature of self, and the nature of the universe, and Right Thought are grouped under 
Wisdom; the next three, Right Speech, Right Action and RightLivelihood are grouped under 
Morality. Right Effort. RightMindfulness and Right Concentration are grouped under 
You may ask, as it has frequently been asked - Why three stages -why not one stage only as a basis? The reason is, we have three stages of defilements -
(impurities) such as
 Lobha, Dosa
etc.Each of the 10
(defilements) has three stages. For instance, greedor anger has three stages. The first stage, the root, is called in
 Pali, Anusaya.
At this stage the defilements such as craving, anger, etc. are lyinglatent in each of us. They do not become manifest up to the level of thoughts. feelings and emotions, yet they lie latent in each of us. We can prove it. The fact that we can be made excited and angry shows that wehave certain tendencies like anger, hatred - though for ordinary purposeswe may be called 'good' people. We are good only when other people aregood; otherwise we can be made angry and emotional. This proves that wehave certain tendencies.If one's actions are according to the law of Morality, then that is RightAction. When your action not only is harmless but also helpful - of greatservice to you as well as to others, then you can say your action is right.There are many things which we think to be good but they are only good tous, good only from our own standpoint.In order to do right your mind must be free from selfishness, ill-will,hatred, jealousy. etc. When your mind is pure you can see and know thingsas they really are. Take for instance the case of a pot which is filled withwater. It is filled in three stages - the bottom, the middle and the topmost parts.
is the first or the root stage where the evil tendencies arelying latent. The fact that you can provoke a person into anger clearlyshows that there is anger, or the root of anger, lying latent within him. Thisfirst stage is very quiet - so quiet that we seem to be sacrosant.Even at the second stage -
we are still in the realm of thoughts. feelings. The English saying 'Silence is Golden' is not alwaysright. We may say that mere silence is sometimes far more dangerous thana big noise.Then in the final stage we become fierce, dreadful. uncontroll able both in words as well as in actions.
That is the top part of our defilements. So
 Anusava. Pariyutthana
- these are the threestages of defilements.Buddhism teaches a method of how to control, how to overcome theseevil tendencies lying latent in us. To exercise this control we need threestages of training towards development -
Sila, Samadhi,
-Morality. Concentration, Insight.First comes
Morality, the observance of precepts. Theobservance of precepts would enable one to overcome only the last stage -

Activity (22)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 hundred reads
1 thousand reads
LalitaJangra liked this
hoixngo liked this
Phạm Doãn liked this
liftsum liked this
Shweta Kulkarni liked this
Ayya Ālokā liked this

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->