Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
P. 1




|Views: 37,455 |Likes:
Published by SSPARDESHI

More info:

Categories:Types, Research
Published by: SSPARDESHI on Aug 27, 2008
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as DOC, PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





The Ministry of Railways (Railway Board) is functioning under Railway Minister asCabinet rank and he is associated with two Deputy Minister of Railway and Minister of States of Railway.The Railway Board is the Chief Administrative and Executive Body assisting theMinister of Railways.
Que.:- When was the Railway Board formed and who are the main body?Ans.:
The railway Board was formed on
18 / 02 /1905
The Main Body :-
1. Chairman of Railway Board.2 Financial Commissioner Railways.3 Railway Board Members:a) Traffic. b)Staff .c)Mechanical Engineering.d)Civil Engineering.e)Electrical Engineering.
Que.:- What are the Attached offices of Railway Board?
1.The Research Design and Standard Organization(RDSO).2.Office of the Railway Liaison Officer with Directorate General of Supplies and Disposal.3.Railway Recruitment Board.4.Railway Staff College, Varodara.5. Indian Railway Institute of Civil Engineering, Pune.6.The Institution of Railway Signal & Telecommunication Engineers, Secunderabad.7. Indian Railway Institute of Electrical Engineering, Nasik.
The Railway Recruitment Boards are located in
Mumbai, Kolkata ,Chennai, Allahabad, Muzaffarpur , Gauhati, Danapur,Bhopal andChandigarh.
RDSO is located in Lucknow..Que.:- How many zones are working under Railway Board?
Ans: - There are 15 zones are working under Railway Board. The particular are as follows.
Sr. No.Name of Zones HQ.
1. Southern Railways Chennai2.Central Railway Mumbai.CSTM3.Western Railway Mumbai(Charchgate)4. Eastern Railway Kolkata
5Northern Railway New Delhi
 Sr. No.Name of Zones HQ.
6 North Eastern Railway Gorakhpur 7North East Frontier Rly Maligaon (Gauhati)8South Eastern Railway Kolkata9South Central Railway Secunderabad10North Central Railway Alahabad
11North Western Railway Jaipu12 South Western Railway Bangalore13West Central Railway Jabalpu14East Central Railway Hajipu15 East Cost Railway Bhubaneshwar. In order to discharge the Administrative function, each Zone up to Sr. no.9 is having aGeneral Manager. Two additional General Managers, Senior Dy. General Managers, Dy.General Managers , Chief Public Relations Officer, Chief Planning Officer and Heads of Department for the following functions:
a) Operating
-- Chief Operating Manager..
-- Chief Engineer.
 —Chief Electrical Engineer.
d) S & T— 
Chief Signal & Telecommunication Engineer.
 —Chief Mechanical Engineer.
 —Financial Adviser and Chief Account Officer.
-- Chief Personnel Officer.
h) Stores
--Controller of Stores.
--Chief Medical Officer.
--Chief Security Commissioner.
 Que.:-What are the productive units and other organization working directly underrailway board?Ans
Production Units:
Chittaranjan Locomotive works
for manufacturing of Electric Locomotives. (CLW-Kolkata)
Diesel locomotive works
, Varanasi, manufacturingDiesel locomotives. (DLW)
Integral Coach Factory
at Perambur (Chennai) for manufacturing of Coaches, Electric multiple Units and goods stock.
Wheel and Axle Plant
at Banglore for manufacturingaxles.
5.Diesel Component Works
at Ptiala. (DCW)
6.Rail Coach Factory
at Kapurthala. (RCF)
7. Railway Electrification
, Allahabad. (CORE)
Other Organization:
1.Metro Railway at Calcutta.2.Metropolitan Transport Projects, Mumbai Mass Rapid Transport System (MRTS)Delhi, Madras3Indian Railway Construction Company (IRCOM)
4.Rail India Technical and Economic Services.
Commissioner of Railway Safety:
It is an independent organization known as
‘Commissioner of Railway Safety
functioning under the control of Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation.
Commissioners of Railway Safety.
1 CCRS-Lucknow.2 CRS -Central Circle Mumbai.3 CRS- Western Circle Mumbai.4.CRS - Eastern Circle Kolkata.5 CRS -Northen Circle ,Delhi.6 CRS - Southern Circle,Banglore.
Duties of Commissioner of Railway Safety:
1.Inspection of New Railway lines.2.Periodical inspection of Open Lines3.Approval of New Work for commissioning.4.Investigation into accidents.5.General Advice on matters connects train operation.
Chapter 2. LEAVE RULES
Que. What are the types of leave rules.Ans
:- 1.
Company Leave Rules.
.Fundamental Leave Rules.
.State Railway Leave Rule
.Liberalised leave Rules,1949 Or Central Pay Commission Leave Rules.
Presently Liberalized leave Rules are only applicable.
 Leave cannot be clamed as of right and leave of any kind may be refused or revoked by the authority component to grant it.
Que.6 What are the kinds of leave?
. Kinds of Leaves.1.Leave on average pay .2.Leave on half average pay.3.Commuted Leave.4.Leave not due.5.Extraordinary Leaves.6.Maternity Leave.7.Paternity Leave8.Study Leave.9Hospital Leave10Special Disability Leave11.Leave Preparatory to Retirement.12.Leave Enacashment.13.Casual Leave14.Spl.Casual Leave15.Compensatory Casual Leave16.Leave to Special Class Apprentices.17.Leave to Apprentice Mechanics.18.Leave to Trade Apprentices.

Activity (165)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 thousand reads
1 hundred reads
mukeshh liked this
Sri Chandu liked this
pandabear_003 liked this
Swapnil Sharma added this note
Do railway provide provinces to railway employees for their student study on gradutation level?
Dinesh Roy added this note
This Is a very useful for Railway Employee nd Their Dependents
Bhagwant Singh Gill added this note
A useful link for all railway employees

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->