Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword or section
Like this
2Activity

Table Of Contents

0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
UCLR v Herbert Complaint

UCLR v Herbert Complaint

Ratings: (0)|Views: 129 |Likes:
Published by Ben Winslow

More info:

Published by: Ben Winslow on May 03, 2011
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

05/03/2011

pdf

text

original

 
 
1234567891011121314151617181920212223242526Linton Joaquin*Karen C. Tumlin*Shiu-Ming Cheer*Melissa S. Keaney* NATIONAL IMMIGRATION LAWCENTER 3435 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 2850Los Angeles, California 90010Telephone: (213) 639-3900Facsimile: (213) 639-3911
 joaquin@nilc.org tumlin@nilc.org cheer@nilc.org keaney@nilc.org 
Omar C. Jadwat*Andre Segura*Elora Mukherjee*AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIESUNIONFOUNDATION125 Broad Street, 18th Floor  New York, New York 10004Telephone: (212) 549-2660Facsimile: (212) 549-2654
ojadwat@aclu.org asegura@aclu.org emukherjee@aclu.org 
Cecillia D. Wang*Katherine Desormeau*AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIESUNION FOUNDATIONIMMIGRANTS’ RIGHTS PROJECT39 Drumm StreetSan Francisco, California 94111Telephone: (415) 343-0775Facsimile: (415) 395-0950
cwang@aclu.org kdesormeau@aclu.org 
Darcy M. Goddard (USB No. 13426)Esperanza Granados (USB No. 11894)AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIESUNION OF UTAH FOUNDATION,INC.355 North 300 WestSalt Lake City, Utah 84103Telephone: (801) 521-9862Facsimile: (801) 532-2850
dgoddard@acluutah.org egranados@acluutah.org 
Bradley S. Phillips*+MUNGER, TOLLES & OLSON LLP355 South Grand AvenueThirty-Fifth Floor Los Angeles, CA 90071-1560Telephone: (213) 683-9100Facsimile: (213) 687-3702
 Brad.Phillips@mto.com
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURTFOR THE DISTRICT OF UTAHCENTRAL DIVISIONUtah Coalition of La Raza; ServiceEmployees International Union; Workers’United Rocky Mountain Joint Board; CentroCivico Mexicano; Coalition of UtahProgressives; Latin American Chamber of Commerce; Salt Lake City Brown Berets;Jane Doe #1; John Doe #1; Milton IvanSalazar-Gomez; Eliana Larios; AliciaCervantes; John Doe #2Plaintiffs,v. No.
COMPLAINT FOR DECLARATORY ANDINJUNCTIVE RELIEFCLASS ACTION
 
1234567891011121314151617181920212223242526-2-Gary R. Herbert, Governor of the Stateof Utah, in his official capacity; Mark Shurtleff, Attorney General of the Stateof Utah, in his official capacity,Defendants.+Attorney for all plaintiffs except Service Employees International Union and theWorkers’ United Rocky Mountain Joint Board*Application for admission
 pro hac vice
forthcoming
 
1234567891011121314151617181920212223242526-3-
PRELIMINARY STATEMENT
1.
 
This action challenges Utah’s immigration enforcement law, HouseBill (“HB”) 497. HB 497 was enacted by the State of Utah along with two other immigration laws—HB 469 and HB 116—to create a comprehensive system of immigration regulation. This Utah scheme includes: (1) a punitive immigrationenforcement system requiring state and local law enforcement officers to verify theimmigration or citizenship status of individuals they encounter in numerouscircumstances, to detain those deemed by Utah law enforcement officers to beunlawfully present in the United States, to arrest individuals on immigration-related grounds that differ from federal standards, and to enforce Utah-specificcriminal immigration laws (HB 497); (2) a state scheme to admit non-citizens fromoutside the United States to live, work, or study in Utah (HB 469); and (3) a state program to provide state
 
work authorization for non-citizens without federalemployment authorization (HB 116).2.
 
The laws were signed by Governor Gary Herbert on March 15, 2011,and HB 497 is scheduled to take effect on May 10, 2011, long before the other laws are to have any effect.3.
 
If allowed to take effect, HB 497 will significantly harm Utahans, particularly Utahans of color. According to law enforcement officials in Utah andelsewhere, HB 497 will cause widespread racial profiling and will subject many persons of color—including countless U.S. citizens and non-citizens who havefederal permission to remain in the United States—to unlawful interrogations,searches, seizures, and arrests. People of color in the state will be compelled tocarry additional paperwork on them at all times in order to prove to law

Activity (2)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 thousand reads
1 hundred reads

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->