South Dakota Motorcycle Manual
This manual gives you information on safe driving rules and practices to help you become a safe driver. Be sure to readthe manual carefully. Unless you know the informationcontained in this manual, you cannot pass the written test.
Anyone who operates a motor vehicle or motor-drivencycle on public roadways in South Dakota is required tohave a driver license. You are required to have a SouthDakota driver license if you live here for more than 90 days.If you are a commercial driver license holder, you mustapply for a South Dakota license within 30 days. SouthDakota law states that every licensee shall have their driver license in their immediate possession at all times whenoperating a motor vehicle.The following people can drive on a valid license fromtheir home state, provided that they are at least 16 years old.
- Members of the Armed Forces on active duty or members of foreign military on temporary duty with theArmed Forces, as well as their spouse and children.
- Students who are here to further their educationand who are considered a non-resident for tuition purposes.
You may obtain a driver license if you:
•Are at least 14 years of age and have met theinstruction permit requirement outlined in the SouthDakota Graduated Licensing Laws.•Are able to submit proof of name, age and address.If you have never held a South Dakota or out-of-state driver license, your Social Security number will be requested, and you must establish your identity by presenting a certified birth certificate, avalid passport or Tribal Identification Cardapproved by the Department of Public Safety andone other primary or secondary document