Enrollment (not shown here) is very site-dependent, so you will probably have to ask your siteadministrator what settings you want to use. Enrollment in Moodle seems to have been set upfor adults, but since many of us work with kids
and kids don’t always follow directions so well –
t’s usually better to enroll students in bulk
This is where you set the default for
(but you can change this for individualactivities).8.
This is also where you set up
availability(whether students have access to it yet) andguest access.
If you want to provide guestaccess provide an enrollment key (essentially a
password) and change Guest Access. Guests can see everything students can see, but can’t
change anything. Be careful with Guest Access. Who has the right to see everything in yourcourse? Consider the privacy of your students, particularly if there are minors. What is yourschool policy? Do the parents of child A have the right to see the work of child B? Guest Accessis nice to offer to your principal, who can see the course, but
alter it by mistake.9.
At the bottom, click on
and you’re set to go.
Now you’re looking at your basic Moodle page
. This will be a little different for each installation.10.
Concentrate on the center for now.11.
The top “topic” is alw
ays News. Unlike D2L and other LMS (Learning ManagementSystems)/CMS (Content Management Systems)/ VLE (Virtual Learning Environments), the
” won’t show directly there. Students have to click on the News Forum and then on the
individual thread. My 8
graders never read what I post there, so I don’t use the News Forum.If you don’t want to use it, click on the Eye next to theNews Forum and this will minimize what’s in this“topic.”
This is a good time to describe these icons, which are associated with each activity/resource, butonly show if you have clicked on Turn Editing On.The
means to indent the item.
(Once it’s indented, you’ll have the choice to un
indicate that you want to move the item. When you click on that, you’ll see
possible places to move it, and click on the place that you want.The
means Edit. This allows you to change the name and the content of thisparticular activity/resource.The
means delete this item. You’ll be asked if you REALLY want to delete this.
means this is an item that students can see.
The eye closed
means you can see it, butstudents cannot. This is a toggle.The
indicates the group status (mouse over it and you’ll see the group status for this activity).