Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Son Volt Review

Son Volt Review

Ratings: (0)|Views: 681|Likes:
Published by Andrew Iden
Review of Son Volt's May 207 show in Atlanta, GA.
Review of Son Volt's May 207 show in Atlanta, GA.

More info:

Published by: Andrew Iden on Jun 21, 2011
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

06/21/2011

pdf

text

original

 
HomeArtistsShowsArticlesCommunityContestsForumsFestivals
 
Son Volt :: 05.11Farrar - Son V olt :: 05.11 Masterson & Farrar - Son Volt :: 05.11
SON VOLT | 05.11.07 | ATLANTA
Words by:Drew Iden:: Images by:Jeremy Jones
Son Volt :: 05.11.07 :: Variety Playhouse :: Atlanta, GA
For years,
Son Volt
has been identified primarily with the distinctivevoice and songwriting of bandleader,
Jay Farrar 
. He and his bandmates have weaved a thread in the alt-country scene that some love,and well, some don't. In their first foray into the Big Peach since lastyear, Son Volt returned in support of their latest effort,
The Search
(3/6/07 Transmit Sound/Legacy), the second album since Farrar'sreturn to the band after a hiatus that was met with disappointment bymany fans. His solo work, while critically hailed, just didn't match therock power of Son Volt.With a new lead guitarist, Farrar and company spun through a 23-song set and four-song encore that had the crowd on their feet thewhole time. For those who don't have any use for between songchatter, Son Volt is your band. Farrar spoke very little, opening with asimple "rock on" before they charged into the new album's title track.Farrar's voice, long the highlight of this band, hasn't changed one bitin almost 20 years. While personnel come and go, Farrar stays trueto his conversational style.The new single, "The Picture," may give old school Son Volt fans areason to raise an eyebrow. Its saxophone and trumpet sound gives ita ska feel, not something old Volt fans are used to hearing. Live, thehorns were a great addition and the crowd embraced them with fullenthusiasm. "Underground Dream" followed, its melancholy soundmakes it true a gem and the band was able to clearly translate it tothe stage in a way that was nothing short of beautiful.
Son Volt :: 05.11
The band's regular guitarist,
Brad Rice
, has been a no-show on this tour due to his work withKeith Urban, but hisreplacement,
Chris Masterson
, is capably filling his shoes. Masterson's style coupled with Farrar's voice proved to be anincredible combination throughout the show, like a pair of old friends finishing each other's thoughts.While heavy on new material, Son Volt peppered their set with someold classics. Once Farrar got out his weathered acoustic and struckthe opening chords to "Tear Stained Eye" the crowd was stoked andrelieved. They also brought out perhaps their best known cut,"Windfall," towards the end of the set. It's about as country as SonVolt gets. After an hour, it was clear Son Volt has a very blue-collar attitude.They played for about two hours, and managed to squeeze in 27songs, finishing one and going right into the next with no hesitation.Most bands are hard pressed to offer up more than 14 or 15 songs inconcert but Son Volt does things their way - charging hard through 20or more songs on a nightly basis, and Atlanta was no exception.While the new tunes were embraced, it was clear that the old hitswere what most in attendance wanted to hear. Farrar and companysatisfied that need with "Tear Stained Eye," "Drown" and arearranged version of "Voodoo Candle." Towards the end, they founda bluesy spot on a prairie filled with primarily rock and country on"Damn Shame," a tune from Farrar's
Sebastopol 
solo effort, where hedisplayed great harmonica rhythm and even a few short guitar soloswhich allowed Masterson to showcase his incredible slide work.Son Volt's current lineup is clearly an ensemble effort, with everyone
Search
converted by Web2PDFConvert.com
 
Son Volt :: 05.11
11 Comments‹^› ‹(•¿•)› ‹^›
Fri 5/25/2007 05:47AMShow-4 Votes
‹^› ‹(•¿•)› ‹^›
Fri 5/25/2007 06:11AMShow-3 Votes
Vega Productions
Fri 5/25/2007 06:25AM+1 Votes
21mmer 
Fri 5/25/2007 07:41AM-1 Votes
‹^› ‹(•¿•)› ‹^›
Fri 5/25/2007 09:16AM+1 Votes
SundogWill
Fri 5/25/2007 09:17AM-1 Votes
mcmanust
Fri 5/25/2007 12:11PM+1 Votes
claypool4life
Mon 5/28/2007 12:36PM-1 Votes
trustme
Mon 5/28/2007 04:12PM+1 Votes
holding his own. Masterson is more than capable of carrying thetorch lit by Brad Rice, and the rhythm section of 
Andrew Duplantis
(bass) and
Dave Bryson
(drums) are still great, as they have beenfrom day one.
Derry De Borja
showed solid range on the keyboards,melding piano and Hammond B-3 together all night long.Son Volt has crafted some great music over the years, and despite afew hiccups, they've managed to stay true to the sound they createdafter the implosion of Uncle Tupelo, a band many consider thecatalyst for the alt-country scene. A solid rock foundation with pinches of country and blues for good measure, Son Volt wasclearly up to all their old tricks.JamBase | Atlanta
Go See Live Music! 
http://www.sonvolt.net/
[Published on: 5/24/07] 
LikeSign Upto see what your friends like. 
Send to a Friend
 
Share This Article
 
Share
COMMENTS
"these kinds of music"...there is a reason bands like Wilco, Son Volt and WSP have been around for so long---because they are damn good andhave a solid following of fans. Pull your head out of your ass and learn to appreciate good musicianship, even if youdon't fancy their style.milesgone......son volt and wilco used to tour together....are you familiar w/ uncle tupelo? however, i seriously doubt if you would see tweedy and farrar on the same stage in the near future. too bad.don't feel sorry for me guys.. I would never pay to see either of these bands. this is only personal preference I have nohard feelings about it, I just rather spend money on other bands. Having LISTENED to both new albums of each, I justdo not find the music to be fantastic to my tastes. I get to hear the new albums because I work in radio and they haveboth been on our playlist. Excuse me mgehring, my head is firmly attached to my shoulders its not in my ass thankyou. peas.I was at this show, and it was great, if you like Son Volt, which I do. The new album is fantastic and the players, especially thedrummer, were top-notch. I was pleasantly surprised to see an almost-capacity crowd and it was cool to hear everyone sing thesongs back to Jay....not that he showed any reaction. God Bless him but the man is a robot. The alt-country RainMan.Cheers.If you don't care then why do you come on this thread to let everyone you don't care? doesn't make any sense. If I didn't careabout something, I wouldn't even read the article. You're just looking for a reaction.I have heard alot about this band never listened to them they sound good. Can anyone suggest me a good starting album?Last year I went to HSMF for the first time and SonVolt was to play. The HSMF website does bios on every artist. They pumpedup Son Volt pretty well so when then came through Portland before the fest I thought I should check them out. My first exposureto them was...well..not good. I think when the song writing is the strong point of a band a person should try to soak up the albumbefore a live show. For me there was just no connection at the show. Maybe the shallow side of me was waiting for some hook to
converted by Web2PDFConvert.com

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->