Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
2011 NHL Awards Summary

2011 NHL Awards Summary

Ratings: (0)|Views: 1,612 |Likes:
Published by Mike Brehm
Official release on the NHL Awards show, including voting totals.
Official release on the NHL Awards show, including voting totals.

More info:

Published by: Mike Brehm on Jun 23, 2011
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





1185 Avenue of the Americas, New York, NY 10036
Tel (212) 789-2000
Fax (212) 789-208050 Bay Street, 11th Floor, Toronto, ON M5J 2X8
Tel (416) 981-2777
Fax (416) 981-2769Media.nhl.com
Anaheim Ducks right wing Corey Perry, who ralliedduring the late stages of the 2010-11 season to reach the 50-goal mark and help the Ducksclimb to a fourth-place finish in the Western Conference, became the first player in franchisehistory to capture the Hart Trophy as the National Hockey League's Most Valuable Player atthe 2011 NHL Awards at the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas.Perry garnered 67 first-place votes among the 126 Hart Trophy ballots cast andaccumulated 1,043 points to edge left wing Daniel Sedin of the Vancouver Canucks, who wasthe top selection on 51 ballots and earned 960 points.Perry won the Maurice Richard Trophy as NHL goal-scoring leader with a late surge of 19goals in his final 16 games that raised his season total to 50. The first-time Hart Trophy finalistshared the League lead in game-winning goals with Washington's Alex Ovechkin (11), tied forfifth place in power-play goals (14), shared fifth in shorthanded tallies (four) and led all playerswith 21 third-period goals. Twenty-five of his goals tied the score or put the Ducks ahead.Perry is the first player from a Southern California-based team to win the Hart Trophysince the Los Angeles Kings' Wayne Gretzky in 1989 and the third player from Californiaclubs overall (San Jose Sharks' Joe Thornton, 2006).Detroit Red Wings captain Nicklas Lidstrom recorded an historic victory, claiming hisseventh Norris Trophy as the League's outstanding defenseman. Lidstrom edged Shea Weberof the Nashville Predators 736-727 in the closest Norris Trophy race for first place since 1996,when Chicago's Chris Chelios finished five points ahead of Boston's Ray Bourque, 408-403.The 41-year-old Vasteras, Sweden native, who yesterday announced he will return toDetroit for a 20th NHL season in 2011-12, is the third defenseman in League history with atleast seven Norris Trophy wins, joining Hockey Hall of Fame members Bobby Orr (eight) andDoug Harvey (seven).
Page 2 of 9 
One week after lifting the Stanley Cup in celebration of his club's first championshipsince 1972, Tim Thomas of the Boston Bruins captured the Vezina Trophy as the NHL's topgoaltender. Thomas posted a 35-11-9 record and .938 save percentage, eclipsing DominikHasek's .937 with Buffalo in 1998-99 as the best since the statistic was introduced in 1976-77.Thomas also led all goaltenders in goals-against average (2.00) and ranked second in shutouts(nine).Thomas is the first goaltender to win the Vezina, Stanley Cup and Conn Smythe Trophyas MVP of the Stanley Cup Playoffs in the same season since Bernie Parent of thePhiladelphia Flyers in 1974-75.The only repeat winner at this year's NHL Awards was Tampa Bay Lightning rightwing Martin St. Louis, who captured his second consecutive Lady Byng Trophy by alandslide margin. Awarded for demonstrating skill and sportsmanship, St. Louis finishedsecond in League scoring with 99 points (31 goals, 68 assists). He tied a franchise record forassists in a season and posted the second-highest point total in his 12-year NHL career. St.Louis was assessed just 12 minutes in penalties, matching his career low set last year.Detroit Red Wings center Pavel Datsyuk's bid for a fourth consecutive Frank SelkeTrophy was denied by Vancouver Canucks center Ryan Kesler, who finished second to Datsyukin 2010. Kesler helped the Canucks record the lowest team goals-against average in the NHL(2.20) for the first time in franchise history. He ranked fourth among NHL forwards in blockedshots (80), appeared in all 82 games and averaged a career-high 20:29 in ice time to lead allVancouver forwards.Joining Kesler as a winner for the Presidents' Trophy-winning Canucks tonight wasMike Gillis, who captured the NHL General Manager of the Year Award. Gillis added to analready strong team last summer by acquiring defensemen Keith Ballard and Dan Hamhuisand shutdown center Manny Malhotra. He further bolstered team depth at the trade deadlinewith the acquisition of forwards Chris Higgins and Maxim Lapierre.Canucks goaltenders Roberto Luongo and Cory Schneider received the WilliamJennings Trophy as the goaltenders on the club allowing the fewest goals during the regularseason. Luongo went 38-15-7 in 60 appearances, posting the best goals-against average inhis 11-year NHL career (2.11) and his top save percentage since joining the Canucks in2006-07 (.928). Schneider posted a 16-4-2 record in 25 appearances, highlighted by afranchise record-tying 10-game undefeated streak (8-0-2) in his first 10 decisions of theseason.
Page 3 of 9 
Carolina Hurricanes forward Jeff Skinner captured the Calder Trophy as the NHL'soutstanding rookie. Skinner led all rookies in points (63), ranked second in assists (32) andthird in goals (31) as the League's youngest player. Skinner netted his 30th goal of theseason Apr. 6 against Detroit, becoming the seventh-youngest player in NHL history to reachthe milestone (18 years, 325 days).Dan Bylsma of the Pittsburgh Penguins won the Jack Adams Award as the NHL’s topcoach in voting by members of the NHL Broadcasters' Association. The Penguins earned thesecond-most points (106) and victories (49) in franchise history, overcoming a total of 350man-games lost due to injury in the process. Most notable were the prolonged absences ofstar centers Sidney Crosby and Evgeni Malkin, who missed most of Pittsburgh's final 35games. During that stretch Pittsburgh went 20-11-4 for a .629 points percentage.Philadelphia Flyers forward Ian Laperriere received the Bill Masterton MemorialTrophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Unable to overcome hisconcussion-related symptoms to play in 2010-11, Laperriere nevertheless served the Flyersin several capacities, particularly as a mentor for young players in the organization.Captains Dustin Brown of the Los Angeles Kings, Zdeno Chara of the Boston Bruinsand Doug Weight of the New York Islanders were honored for their outstanding leadershipand community service. Brown received the NHL Foundation Player Award, Chara waspresented the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award, while Weight accepted the King ClancyMemorial Trophy.Voting for these awards was conducted at the conclusion of the regular season. TheProfessional Hockey Writers' Association (PHWA) cast ballots for the Hart, Norris, Selke,Lady Byng, Calder and Masterton Trophies. The 30 NHL General Managers voted on theVezina Trophy. The NHL Broadcasters' Association (NHLBA) submitted votes for the JackAdams Award. Voting for the NHL General Manager of the Year Award was conductedamong the 30 Club General Managers and a panel of NHL executives, print and broadcastmedia. Results were tabulated by the accounting firm Ernst & Young with the exception ofthe Masterton Trophy (PHWA) and the NHL General Manager of the Year Award (NHL).###Attached: full voting results

Activity (3)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 thousand reads
1 hundred reads

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->