Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
2Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
22 July 2011 Complaint of Refugees in Larnaca, Cyprus

22 July 2011 Complaint of Refugees in Larnaca, Cyprus

Ratings: (0)|Views: 895 |Likes:
Published by Maria Rohaly
Complaint submitted on 22 July 2011 by Iranian and other detained refugees in Larnaca, Cyprus detention center, regarding brutal Cypriot police attacks against detained refugees on 12 July 2011. English translation follows. Letter provided by the Cyprus Refugee Rights Movement; translation to English by Mission Free Iran.
Complaint submitted on 22 July 2011 by Iranian and other detained refugees in Larnaca, Cyprus detention center, regarding brutal Cypriot police attacks against detained refugees on 12 July 2011. English translation follows. Letter provided by the Cyprus Refugee Rights Movement; translation to English by Mission Free Iran.

More info:

Published by: Maria Rohaly on Jul 27, 2011
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

07/27/2011

pdf

text

original

 
Complaint submitted on 22 July 2011 by Iranian and other detained refugees in Larnaca, Cyprusdetention center, regarding brutal Cypriot police attacks against detained refugees on 12 July 2011.English translation follows. Letter provided by the Cyprus Refugee Rights Movement; translation toEnglish by Mission Free Iran.
 
 
 
English translation of the complaint submitted on 22 July 2011 by Iranian and other detained refugeesin Larnaca, Cyprus detention center, regarding brutal Cypriot police attacks against detained refugeeson 12 July 2011.
Subject: To file a complaint against the Deputy of Famagusta Detention in Larnaca City of CyprusWe kindly inform you that on 12th July 2011, the police visited the detention and forcibly and bybeatings removed one of the detainees who has been held for the past 12 months in relation to his visa[with the intention of deporting him]. The other detainees protested against this act by the policethroughout the whole detention center. The reason [for the protest] was that the person was notwarned about the deportation, and his case was not attended to.After the protest by the detainees, who shouted and banged on the doors and the windows against theact of the police, the deputy of the detention center, accompanied by a large number of agents, all of them from the police, came to the entrance, threatened the detainees with firearms, and ordered themto stop the protest. Then, armed with batons and tasers and brass knuckles, the forcefully entered thedetention center and beat on all the detainees. They did not even show mercy to a 72-year-old man bythe name of Mr. B., who was a Baha'i and had complained to the European Court; he was also inside thedetention for visa-related reasons. While beating on him, they shouted, "Why have you complainedagainst the government of Cyprus!?"While beating on the others, the police continuously accused the detainees - Iranians and Arabs - forbeing involved in the explosion
[editor’s note: this refers to the recent disastrous explosion of theIslamic Republic’s munitions on Cyprus]
. They said, "Iranians and Arabs are not going to be helped inCyprus. Either you leave our country or you will die in prison." As a result of the beatings by the police, anumber of asylum-seekers had injured hands and legs. They were not taken to hospital.Later, the police collected all amenities, like food, sanitary items, and communications devices. Thedeputy of the detention center threatened that if anyone were to complain to organizations about whathad happened,
I, with the power invested in me, and the influence that I have in the government, willmake legal problems for that person. I will plant falsified documents in your files and cause problems foryou to get a visa - all of which is under my control."Now, 10 days has passed that date, and Mr. B and his son and wife, who had spent 4 months in thedetention center waiting for their visa, were forcibly deported. None of the injured has been taken tohospital. They have told us, "Nobody is going to be taken to hospital unless they are dying." And thepolice have been ordered not to give anything in the way of amenities or communications devices to thedetainees. We have been threatened that if we protest, we will be removed to detention centers withworse conditions. We have been threatened with having our files tampered with.We, the signatories of this letter, complain against this inhuman behavior of the police to thehumanitarian organizations. We request that you provide oversight for our cases, and we inform youabout the risks of us being dispersed to different facilities. We ask your honorable organizations topersonally supervise our cases.

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->